another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Vox Hunt: Girl Scout Cookie Time March 6, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 6:31 am
Tags: ,

Show us your favorite variety of Girl Scout cookie.

LMAO

You're kiddin' right?

I thought girl scout cookies only existed in movies!

Well there ya go. Well I myself, here in Australia, have never sighted a girl scout cookie. So you'll all have to tell me your favourite variety.

And are the girls actually at home baking them themselves?

And anyway, aren't they Girl Guides?

When I was about eight years old I was a Brownie for a very short time. About two weeks I think. I went because my best friend was a member.

I didn't do any baking in that time.

The reason I left was because they played this stupid dangerous game that scared me so much I refused to go back. They set up the skipping rope, one girl on each end turning the rope, then we had to run in and skip. As you do. And I was a great fan of skipping back then. Played it every lunch time. But this day we had to be blindfolded before we ran in.

I'm sure there'd be some sort of liability rules stopping that sort of thing these days.

Can't have any scraped knees these days.

Maybe they decided calling them Girl Guides was sexist in some way.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

45 Responses to “Vox Hunt: Girl Scout Cookie Time”

  1. We did have Girl Guide biscuits when I was in Guides (I was in it for a few years and really enjoyed it). They were very ordinary though, ie, tasted just like Marie biscuits but not as nice.
    Btw, they are still called Girl Guides and actually still quite popular (even though Scouts now let girl and boys in). The big problem they have though is in attracting volunteers to work as group leaders.

  2. cat Says:

    I see the scouts about – or maybe they're cubs. Very rarely though, a couple of times a year. I haven't seen a girl guide for years and years.

  3. No, you don't tend to see them much but they are there. Secret Guide HQ actually right near where we live in Sydney.

  4. cat Says:

    lol – it must seem fairly old fashioned to girls these days. Seems to belong to a different time.

  5. Aubrey Says:

    I believe huge GS Factories make the cookies. They're owned by the government, I believe.
    I am very partial to Samoas – a round cookie, biscuit-like, covered in a thin layer of caramel, covered with toasted cocoanut, with a drizzle of chocolate. Very sublime. Very dangerous. Dulce de Leche are nice too – shortbread with butterscotch chips and a caramel drizzle.
    The girl scouts themselves don't seem to sell the cookies themselves any longer. Relatives usually take over – it's a savage contest between the parents.

  6. cat Says:

    Samoas – nice. Do you picture an attractive, dark skinned, muscular, tattooed samoan man while you're nibbling on it?
    Well thats a shame they don't make them themselves. What sort of fundraiser is that!!

  7. Aubrey Says:

    When I am eating my favorite cookies, I am in a quiet place, occupied only with coconut-chocolate-caramel goodness, and how best to defend myself from anyone foolish enough to come near and ask if I would be willing to share.

  8. Snowy Says:

    I can remember Girl Guides bikkies. Must be twenty five years since i've seen them. You were just a teeny bopper in those days, Cat, and not interested in anything except boys.

  9. OptamissTIK Says:

    there's a blast from the past! the girl guide bikkie! That weirdo emblem they knicked off the Irish all on some biscuit that, try as hard as it might, only tasted good when dipped in milo with two sugars… ah, I did my time… I wasn't much for earning badges though – I think I realised early on that tieing a rope well wasn't really going to help me in the future – but was, and am, ready to eat the bikkies anytime… and yeah, if you don't have milo, tea will suffice.

  10. poptart Says:

    The cookies are real. Here is the thing. They are mediocre at best. They are small and the chocolate is waxy. Everyone loves the thin mints. You have to like mint. I don't. I usually by a box or two from whoever's child, niece, neighbor is peddling them in the office. This year, I bought the shortbread. Really, just a sugar cookie. I am going to send a box to my girl.

  11. Paxton Says:

    YOU DIDN'T KNOW GIRL SCOUT COOKIES WERE REAL?!?!?! WHAT KIND OF AMERICAN ARE YOU?
    Oh, wait, nevermind.
    Yes, they are real. They are, as Aubrey said, made in a factory somewhere, though they are not owned by the government. According to Wikipedia, they are produced by "Little Brownie Bakers (LBB), a subsidiary of Keebler, which is owned by Kellogg's." But they can only be sold by the Girl Scouts as a fundraiser.
    Strictly speaking, it's not the Girl Scouts themselves who sell them, but their parents. They take them into work, pass out the order forms to their colleagues, and say, "If you don't buy any cookies, you will be proving to me that you are an awful person who hates cookies, children, and by extension everything pure. You're probably a pedophile." Only, they don't say this outloud; it's implied.
    Not being a pedophile, I buy the Thin Mints. T'hey're rally good refrigerated.

  12. valerie Says:

    girl scout cookies are one of those things that you always feel obligated to buy because someone you know has a kid in girl scouts and you feel like a jerk if you don't buy them – so you end up with far more boxes of cookies than you'd ever want – but they are oh so delicious.
    peanut butter patties are my favorite – a shortbread cookie with peanut butter on it and covered in chocolate!

  13. cat Says:

    lol, you're probably right

  14. cat Says:

    Well I've been deprived of this biscuit experience. By the sound of it though the american ones are much more interesting.

  15. cat Says:

    I don't like mint either. Can't stand those after dinner mints. Don't like ornage with chocolate either. Hope they make the trip ok. Customs man might eat them.

  16. cat Says:

    Well I guess they need the money to buy more rope. When kids do fundraising around here they sell boxes of chocolates or doughnuts. Much better idea.
    I don't like children or biscuits.

  17. cat Says:

    They sound ok – the peanut butter ones, although I'm not a big buiscuit fan. Good to see the Girl Scouts still going strong over there. Although calling them scouts seems funny. We have Boy Scouts and Girl Guides.

  18. Paxton Says:

    See, that's part of the problem. You keep calling them "biscuits." They're cookies!

  19. Waterbaby Says:

    Paxton – That's inaccurate; Girl Scouts *do* sell their cookies directly, door to door, markets, parks, community centers, wherever there's good traffic flow (and the venue gives approval).

  20. Waterbaby Says:

    It's been ages since I've bought Girl Scout cookies, I can't remember the variety but Thin Mints stick in my mind as a favorite. Definitely mass-produced. Some troops hold cookie drives for the military; the public buys boxes of cookies that are sent overseas to the troop for a taste of home. Very cool.

  21. cat Says:

    Thin Mint seems to be the go. Do the military use the same biscuits that the Guides do? (can't bring myself to call them scouts)

  22. Waterbaby Says:

    Not sure what you're asking but if it's what I *think* it is, no, the military cookies (in the mess halls, etc.) aren't the same as the Girl Scouts' ones. Scout cookies are bit of Americana and the organization mails lots to them fighters overseas.

  23. LeendaDLL Says:

    In the "old days" (1970s) we used to take the order forms door to door through the neighborhood. I buy about 8 boxes every year – cause I remember when I used to sell them. Just scarfed a strip of Thin Mints… from last year (forgot I had them). I also like the "peanut butter cup" cookies… a thin biscuit with pb on top, all covered in chocolates. Those are REALLY good chilled.

  24. cat Says:

    Yes, I remember reading you had a stash. We're not really big on peanut butter over here. And I don't think you can get chocolate/peanut butter combination and I don't think I've seen peanut butter type biscuits either. But I don't buy them so I could be wrong.

  25. LeendaDLL Says:

    Maybe they'd make them with Nutella over there.

  26. cat Says:

    Well we have Nutella, I've never tried it though. Funny you should mention it as I was just asking Lizzie if she liked nutella. Because we are doing this low GI diet and they have peanut butter on toast some times and Nutella sometimes and I was wondering if she'd rather have nutella both times as we don't like peanut butter. So, she said yes, and now I'll get to try nutella.

  27. LeendaDLL Says:

    Well make a post about it when you try it! I think I had a nutella & banana crepe once but it was a long time ago.

  28. Emjay Says:

    I'm telling you now that you would not like them!!! I bought some once and ended up giving them away. We have been spoilt with really nice biscuits in Australia.

  29. Paxton Says:

    That's inaccurate; Girl Scouts *do* sell their cookies directly, door to door, markets, parks, community centers, wherever there's good traffic flow (and the venue gives approval).
    Maybe in your neck of the woods. Around here, it's all the parents. A girl scout going door to door selling cookies would be likely to be invited in for a meth party.

  30. Paxton Says:

    This thread reminds me of my favorite line from the Addams Family movie. Wednesday has a lemonaid stand set up in front of her house. A girl scout selling cookies door to door stops at the lemonade stand.
    Girl Scout: Is this made from real lemons?
    Wednesday: Yes.
    Girl Scout: I only like all-natural foods and beverages, organically grown, with no preservatives. Are you sure they're real lemons?
    Pugsley: Yes.
    Girl Scout: Well, I'll tell you what. I'll buy a cup if you buy a box of my delicious Girl Scout cookies. Do we have a deal?
    Wednesday: Are they made from real Girl Scouts?

  31. cat Says:

    Thats true here as well. I'd never let my kids go door knocking looking for sponsorship or collecting money on their own – too many freaks.

  32. cat Says:

    Oh really. Good old Arnotts. They're probably not even Australian any more.

  33. cat Says:

    haha – and that reminds me of an ad they have on tv here for baby oil or baby lotion, always sounds as if it's made from freshly squeezed babies

  34. Catalina Says:

    Yup – sadly you are right and it is not really safe to send your Girl Scout (Brownie, Junior, etc) out to sell door-to-door. Plus – it is a pain to then go back and get the money when the cookies come in. Anyways…..I had friends trying to get me to order over the net until they realized the shipping would be more than the cookies! So…the first one selling at work got my order.

  35. cat Says:

    Is it just a once a year thing?

  36. T. Mama Says:

    I was in Girl Scouts when I was a kid. I abhorred it. I echo those who believe the cookie-selling to be a parental competition. I got an email from someone in my department about it this year. Plus I find that Keebler Grasshopper cookies beat the pants off of Thin Mints. (Implied pedophile, indeed.)And Nutella is wondermous. 🙂

  37. cat Says:

    You'll be pleased to hear I just had my first taste of Nutella. And it was pretty good I must say. I had it on toast. And although it did feel a bit odd to be having chocolate on bread for breakfast I think I can cope.
    Keebler Grasshopper! Sounds interesting.

  38. homebody Says:

    Though I can't refuse any variety of Girl Scout Cookie if offered, Thin Mints are the only ones I actually can't resist purchasing if confronted by a soliciting Girl Scout. I foolishly bought a box recently that I'm trying very hard not to open because of their addictive properties. (If you are in crankypants's neighborhood, she summed up their secret most excellently in this list of ingredients.) If you would like to try them for yourself, it would be a welcome relief to remove the temptation from my home and mail the box to you.

  39. cat Says:

    lol, no thanks I'm not a fan of the mint/chocolate combination!!

  40. Waterbaby Says:

    @Paxton – for sure. there, here and elsewhere, the Scout would be dodging bullets, if she's lucky, before she even gets to the door. Obviously the organization's attentive about where the girls can go. It was misleading to say that strictly speaking, it's not the girls but the parents who do the selling and instead accurate to say that this is true in some areas.

  41. cat Says:

    Well, a girl scout should be well skilled in bullet dodging in this day and age. Give up tying knots and skipping rope. Bullet dodging is in.

  42. Waterbaby Says:

    Yes, it's right up there with the Camping and Outdoor Survival Badges.

  43. They do a lot of outdoor stuff like camping and hiking etc which never seems to go out of style with kids. The other thing I like it is that it is still so cheap compared to lots of kids activities these days.

  44. Cost probably offset by all those biscuit sales!


Leave a Reply

