another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

sweet dreams are made of this March 2, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 9:54 am
Tags: , ,

I often wake up in the night not knowing for sure where I am. At the time I think I know where I am. But I'm never thinking – here I am in my bed, in my bedroom. I'm thinking – here I am, a radio operator in the army, trapped in a farmhouse with gunfire raging outside. Or – here I am, floating along in my spaceship, in some kind of cocoon. Or, here I am, trapped in an underground maze thats part of a building that used to be a curtain manufacturers. (Don't ask, I have no idea where that one came from). Things like that. And they're not dreams. It's like I'm there. And last night was so real it was incredible.

I woke up with my heart pumping at a furious rate. And I thought I was laying in an enormously tall bed. When I looked down at my clock radio, it looked like it was miles away. I wasn't game to put my legs over the side and stand up because I thought I'd fall about 30 feet and break my neck. And I put my hands up in the air feeling about because I was sure I'd be able to touch the ceiling.

But of course I couldn't. So I decided to do what I always decide to do. And thats to lie there until it gets light and then work out how to get out of the situation. And its always about then that I realise that it's not real. Last night while I was waving my arms around trying to feel the ceiling I hit the cord of my bedside lamp. When I grabbed it, thats when I knew I was safe and sound in bed.

Most times this happens it's a very hairy situation. I mean I've never woken up and thought I was trapped in the Cadburys chocolate factory, or woken up in a shopping mall with a $10,000.00 gift voucher in my hand.

I'm starting to think I should tie some rope around my waist then around the door in case I ever get lost on one of these journeys.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

20 Responses to “sweet dreams are made of this”

  1. At first I was going to suggest that you had inhaled too many paint fumes but as I read on I changed my mind. Not sure what brings on night terrors. Mr FD gets them sometimes and he either has to wake me up to calm him, or go stand near an open window or door….I have no explanation. I hope they don't happen too often.

  2. Snowy Says:

    All you need now is to get leg cramps while you're trying to get out of that high bed, Cat. Between your nightmares and cramps it's a wonder both you and Daz ever get a good night's sleep.

  3. wahed Says:

    I think you must do any thing new in your live and chang any thing in your live. and you will be fine and do not forget be happy .

  4. Emjay Says:

    I was going to suggest night terrors – FD beat me. The princess gets night terrors.

  5. Jem Says:

    I have some good pills for that.

  6. Waterbaby Says:

    Yeah, as you know, I experience the same "dream distress" – which is putting it mildly, with the identical disorientation and physical activity. (Once I actually launched myself across the room and landed in hard furniture to escape what was occurring in the dream, then woke up with bruises puzzled at first where I'd gotten them.) If you find a solution, post it, it might save my life!

  7. cat Says:

    No – they're not like night terrors. They're actual events – I have full recollection of them and sometimes I'm even out of bed creeping around trying to escape from whatever situation it is.

  8. cat Says:

    I'm sure now that my leg cramp is actually masking a blood clot that will race to my lungs any day now.
    I never sleep and daz sleeps through anything.

  9. cat Says:

    I never forget to be happy.

  10. cat Says:

    They're not night terrors.

  11. cat Says:

    No solution on the horizon so far. I just wish once I could have a pleasant trip instead of all these scary ones. I was worried the other night I might have a heart attack my heart was pumping so hard.

  12. Waterbaby Says:

    believe you me, i know. i never knew a heart could be so hard and fast until i slept. even an olympic marathon runner's heartbeat can't achieve that speed.

  13. Bungee cord attached to the bedpost.
    It's less rude a shock when it plunks you back in bed.

  14. cat Says:

    ha – as long as I don't have to have my head dunked in water on the way back

  15. poptart Says:

    Very interesting Cat. I am usually confused as to where I am, but generally aware of who I am. Although, recently after moving, going on holiday and coming back, I wasn't sure about much.

  16. cat Says:

    I still know that I'm me but I seem to have a lot of different occupations/adventures. I find I'm ok when I'm away but when I get home there can be a tricky night. I need to keep a torch under my pillow.

  17. Erm.. it actually sounds like a panic attack… heart racing, panicking about something, and claustrophobia or something associated with dimension and space involved… or it may just be a bad dream.
    Hope you get pleasant dreams like your heart was racing because you were flying miles above the world like Peter Pan! 😀

  18. cat Says:

    No, it's not a panic attack. Hard to describe properly to people what happens. The best one I had was flying in the spaceship – was very nice until my husband climbed into bed and I was all – what are you doing here, how did you get here.

  19. Inga Says:

    I think I know what you mean – my favourite recurring one is where someone is detonating my house while I'm still in it, so I pile the doona on top of my head and run for the door before the roof collapses on me. And I always have to reason myself awake – "Now why would someone be blowing your house up? In the middle of the night? Let's think about this logically…" I also have various things coming in through my bedroom window – everything from snakes to Billy Conolly.

  20. cat Says:

    hahaha – Billy Conolly – that'd be ok! But yes, you really have to take your time and reason with yourself about the situation.


Leave a Reply

