another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

The Painting Game February 26, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 8:19 am
Tags: , , ,

Have I mentioned that I hate painting ceilings?

Patterned tin ceilings. That you have to dab dab dab the paint into. With undercoat, then two coats of colour.

Sigh.

I've done my room, Lizzies room and now I'm onto Lloyds room.

And while I've been painting I've been listening to the television. And I can not believe the shit that is on day time tv. And all those informercials. Does anyone even buy any of that stuff?

Today I was on the ladder painting and I started laughing so hard I had to get down.

It was an advert for a skin care range called meaningful beauty. (As opposed to the unmeaningful type I suppose). And there is a doctor, who is such an expert in the beauty industry that he is called the youth guru. And apparently he is so good that you can spend three hours sitting in his waiting room, waiting to see him. If you were so inclined. I guess he doesn't make appointments.

But I know his secret.

It's a melon.

A rare melon mind you. Grown in the south of France. With SUPER antioxiants. And they have taken these super melon antioxiants, and put them in a cream that you only have to pay a small fortune for, to put on your face.

And it's funny. Because last night I was watching Rick Steins French Oddyssey cooking show. And he was in France as well.

Eating melon.

Just standing in the melon field, with a knife, slicing the fresh melon and eating it.

And he took a melon back to the farmhouse and he made a salad. With melon, tomato, bocconcini cheese and fresh herbs, drizzled with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

And I reckon it was ten times, fifty times, better for your skin than any cream could be.

And even though I was laughing, I felt sorry for all those women who believe the hype.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

13 Responses to “The Painting Game”

  1. Waterbaby Says:

    so what you're saying is that you weren't speed-dialing the infomercial and instead sticking to soap? how primitive!

  2. I once saw an infomercial for a magic skin cream – based on snail slime! I swear – snail slime! They had animated snails crawling over the screen. Apparently it makes disapear the worst scars and even the deepest crinkles are wiped off (they had some very poorly photo-shop-manipulated before-after pics). Snail slime…

  3. cat Says:

    I'm just saying that people are suckers

  4. Waterbaby Says:

    suckers — no relation to the leeches demi moore employs for her skin care, right?

  5. Jem Says:

    lets go get us some melons at woolworths Cat. we mix it with sorbolene and sell it for a fortune.You still got that food processor?

  6. An Ex-Expat Says:

    I've seen some buildings, old of course, with tin ceilings, whose owners have stripped of the years and years of paint to show the orginal surface, which looks nice

  7. cat Says:

    lol – No way!! I must get out into the garden in the morning and get me some slime.

  8. cat Says:

    NOooooo. When we moved here there were already layers and layers of paint. I'm sure the room is 6 inches smaller due to all the paint. Easier to slap another coat on I think.

  9. cat Says:

    They have to be Rare melons though. They showed a picture of the Rare melon and the normal melon and there was much difference. Mainly I think that the Rare melon had been picked that morning and the normal melon had been sitting around for a few months.

  10. An Ex-Expat Says:

    Actually there is probably a limit of how many coats of paint a surface can take. The White House, when the Clinton's were there, was to be given another coat of paint, but it was found that another coat just wouldn't adhere, so the entire outer surface was stripped down and repainted. An interesting sidelight was the stripping down of the paint layers revealed the scorch marks from when the British burned the White House in the early 1800's.Speaking of fires, it was reported here the wildfires in Aus., were the work of arsonists. Were any perps arrested and charged?

  11. cat Says:

    These old houses have some interesting stories to tell.
    There have been some arsonists caught. It's a tricky subject. I think this whole disaster will bring about some changes in the law. At the moment they can't really be charged with murder – even though hundreds of people have died, because you can't prove that they set out to kill people when they lit the fire.

  12. Steve Betz Says:

    I think I dated Meaningless Beauty for a couple of weeks after college. Totally not worth it.

  13. cat Says:

    Ha – I know, you have to be careful not to get them mixed up.


Leave a Reply

