another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

QotD: Unexpected Dinner Guests February 26, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 10:39 pm
Tags: ,

You have four unexpected guests showing up for dinner in less than an hour, you haven't been to the store in days, and you want to impress them with a delicious meal. What do you serve them?

Well I'd serve them a slab of mexican bean lasagne, with some corn and avacado salad and their choice of garlic or cheese and herb bread. Then they could have a slice of frozen praline meringue torte. (Sorry I finished the lemon meringue pie off yesterday).

On Tuesday, when I cooked daz his birthday dinner, I made enough lasagne for roughly 200 people. Jem supplied enough garlic bread to match. ( I keep finding little foil parcels of leftover bread in my fridge and freezer.)

So we had leftover lasagne for dinner on Wednesday and Thursday, but this morning I said to Daz, I don't think I can eat it another night. (Although I just did have a spoonful while standing at the fridge).

So come on over. The torte is especially delicious.

By the way – what is Monterey Jack cheese? My lasagne recipe has it in it as well as parmeson and tasty cheddar. But I've always just used mozzarella instead of the jack. What would I replace it with?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

16 Responses to “QotD: Unexpected Dinner Guests”

  1. LeendaDLL Says:

    Mozzarella is a perfect replacement. Monterey Jack is just a variety of mild white cows-milk cheese.

  2. Snowy Says:

    Pies and peas at our place. Serves 'em right for not letting us know they were coming. Just so's you know, Cat, I'll be dropping in for tea tonight, and maybe tomorrow night. Lasagna and garlic bread washed down with beer and JW sounds good to me.

  3. cat Says:

    I think I need a couple of weeks on those shakes you were doing a while back.

  4. cat Says:

    Good then. You guys seem to have a lot of things we don't.

  5. LeendaDLL Says:

    Including $655 ROUND-TRIP, DIRECT FLIGHT airfare between LAX and AU right now. It's killing me to not be able to take advantage of it!!

  6. Candy Sparks Says:

    i'd do the mozzarella… oh and sounds yum…

    candy

  7. cat Says:

    Wellll, you know there is still one small piece of lemon meringue pie left that I'm willing to hand over. Are you kidding with that price – that is so cheap – I don't think I can get to Perth and back for that price.

  8. cat Says:

    extra yummo – there were nachos as well

  9. LeendaDLL Says:

    You can keep the meringue but I'll take the lemon part.I have 24 or 48 hrs to decide on the airfare.. sale ends Fri or Sat. I looked up dates in Sept (completely random) and came out around $700 RoundTrip. Great bargain but airfare is only one of many considerations (time off, cat care, hotel & spending money…).

  10. cat Says:

    Is that with Virgin – just saw a thing on tv (still painting) about their new flights between Los Angeles and Sydney. I've heard people say they are really budget.

  11. Waterbaby Says:

    you can keep the lemon. and the meringue. and the avocado. guess it's corn for me. all i can say is there'd better be some beer!

  12. cat Says:

    this is australia you know – always plenty of that

  13. LeendaDLL Says:

    yepper… the new "V Atlantic", which something said used to be called "V Blue". Tix on one flight ranged from $409 to $3289.I'm kind of thinking about it seriously today – with the exchange rate and all. People have told me that 3 weeks isn't enough and coach to AU would be hell – but….!?!?!?

  14. cat Says:

    Depends how many places you wanted to visit. Can imagine you'd like Sydney and Melbourne. But depends if you wanted to get up to the islands or tour the outback or stick to the cities.
    A friend of mine flew virgin to sydney – he said it was ok but you have to pay for eberything. They have credit card slots in the seats you have to use to be able to watch tv or movies. You have to pay for water, everything.

  15. Karen Lynn Says:

    Jack is bland … I don't know why a recipe for lasagna would call for that. I use ricotta, mozzarella, and parm on the top. Sometimes I get really daring and cut up slices of block cream cheese (low fat of course) and layer that in there too. Oh..also, a secret ingredient for lasagna is sour cream. mmmmSo you have avocados on hand? Just mash them up with some garlic salt for me. mmmmm

  16. cat Says:

    Well I guess it already has the parmeson and tasty cheddar in it so doesn't need too much more flavour. This one does have litle dots of sour cream in amongst all the layers.


Leave a Reply

