another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

my name is cat February 24, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 11:51 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Yep, my name is Cat, and I am an addict.

Ahh, there, I feel better already.

Yes, I have an addiction. An addiction to eye drops.

I don't know how it all started, but like most things I guess one thing just led to another and now here I am, twenty years on, hooked.

I think it started with Visine, then I moved on to Naphcon-A. Once I even found a prescription in the cupboard that belonged to one of the kids when they had conjunctivitis and I had it filled and used them. UntilI found myself dropping four or five times a day.

I had little bottles in my bag and a special container in the fridge to hold all the varieties I had.

But last week I decided enough was enough. Come Monday I said, I will not use eyedrops again. And I haven't. Two and a half days – no eyedrops. I did buy some Genteal drops which are just a saline solution, just in case I felt the need. But I haven't so far. Anyway, thats like going on the methadone programme. Replacing one addiction with another one.

My eyes just always feel so dry. And itchy sometimes. The optometerist told me I don't produce enough tears. I am dry eyed. And I got a splinter in my eyeball once and I think the dropping increased after that.

And once when I was about 14, I was at a softball gala day and my eyeballs got really badly sun burnt. I did a lot of sun damage to myself back then. And now I have pterygium (have had for about 20 years now). It's like scar tissue that grows from the corner of your eye towards the cornea. And although they're not dangerous, they can get red and dry.

So from now on I'm saving the drops for special occasions only.

Just another reason people why you should stay out of the sun.

And wear a good pair of sunnies. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

19 Responses to “my name is cat”

  1. Emjay Says:

    Oooh! You are a worry! 🙂

  2. Snowy Says:

    Wow! I never knew an addict before. I'm told that cold turkey is really rough. No offence, but I don't think I want you in charge of my cold wet sponge…

  3. cat Says:

    well only with small things
    next I'm thinking about giving up hair bleach

  4. cat Says:

    Yep, you wouldn't want me anywhere near you at the moment Snowy – I'm going crazy for the drops

  5. Waterbaby Says:

    strange addiction. ah well, could be worse (i.e., meth). remember, the 12-step credo can be found online if you need.

  6. cat Says:

    I'm going strong at the moment. May need the 12 steps later.

  7. LeendaDLL Says:

    sorry to feed your addiction but if you have dry eyes that actually bother you, you should be using drops! Though not Visine. Only the saline or any type of "re-wetting" drops/gels. Letting your eyes stay dry could lead to a whole host of other issues.If you have chronic dry eye, there's also an option to have your drains (the little slits on the bottom eyelid, at the part nearest your nose) plugged so that you don't drain your natural tears so quickly. Since the doc didn't say anything (when was the last time you were checked?) I'm guessing you're not that serious./lecture from chick in the ophthalmic industry

  8. cat Says:

    Yes, I'll use the saline ones and a thicker gel at night. I wouldn't like to have my drains blocked! My doctor gave me a referral to see an opthamologist about five months ago but I haven't been.

  9. LeendaDLL Says:

    it would keep your nose from running when you cry. lol (true info)there was a project at one of my employers to fill the drains with liquid gold – a perm fix which would be kinda fun from a "bling" perspective – but, last I heard, it didn't pass trials. the last i heard, a little plastic "plug" is put in – then pops out after 6 months or so and another had to be put in. I'd rather use drops/gel!i'd lecture about the referral but I'm the person who took 10 yrs to go for a colonoscopy referral… so I've got no room to talk.

  10. Doug Says:

    At my age, eye drops are no longer a luxury. Systane is the brand name I use here, to replace the lubrication that is lacking in middle-aged eyes. I asked my eye doctor what causes it? "Too many birthdays" she said. Sigh.

  11. cat Says:

    lol – well the birthdays are starting to add up here as well. I haven't seen Systane here – will ask the chemist.

  12. cat Says:

    I am a terrible crier! My eyes instantly go red and puffy and stay that way for days. And my nose doesn't run, it blocks up. I'm very jealous of those people who have a cry and look perfectly fine after five minutes.
    They were doing something with gold for cats with sun cancer. But I can't remember how it worked. We have lost two cats to sun cancer here. Both had it on their noses. And the vet stold me that its ok if they get it on their ears because they just cut their ears off, but the nose is tricky. But he told me there was a vet in the area treating it somehow with gold.

  13. stevie Says:

    Jeez Louise! You poor thing. (1) I did not know you could sunburn your eyes. (2) That pterygium sounds horrible. Sheesh. I think you deserve the little relief drops bring you.Though I do understand the addiction/dependency thing. So I support your willpower.

  14. cat Says:

    I don't think other people can notice the pterygium yet. Not unless they were right in my face. But I notice it. You can have it cut off if it starts messing with your sight but I don't like the idea of blades around my eyeballs.

  15. liyafendi Says:

    My family has that kind of eye disease too. I also inherit that from my grandfather and my mother, but not really serious. My late grandfather once had surgery on his eyes because of this disease. Their eyes easily got reddish, many red lines on the white area. But I never seen my mom use eye drop, not sure she is using it or not.

  16. cat Says:

    Yes, mine get red easily. And I never wear mascara or eye shadow because I'm always rubbing my eyes and I'm not sure if make up aggravates it.

  17. LeendaDLL Says:

    Interesting on the gold cats!I get the puffy eyes cry too. Waaaay back in high school, I had a crying jag and when I mellowed, my "best" friend said, "are you done now? Cause you're really ugly when you cry!" Thanks, bitch! (she was also the cause of the crying in the first place)

  18. stevie Says:

    Amen. Amen. Amen. Shiny, pointy, sharp things should not be near your eyes. How are you now? Any better?

  19. cat Says:

    Well sort of. I haven't really missed the drops – still have dry eyes though.


Leave a Reply

