another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

born to be wild February 23, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 10:47 pm
Tags: , ,

You know who the craziest freaks on the road are?

Those old people who drive scooters.

They really shouldn't just be set loose on those things. They should have to pass a test. My father drives one and the thought of him out there crossing highways makes me laugh. In a slightly manic way.

I was just driving straight through the car park and I saw this guy coming on an angle from my right – and I could tell he was trying to beat me to the stop sign. Don't worry, I didn't let him.

Last week I was sitting at the pub and saw a guy on his come flying up the one way street, the wrong way of course. And they never stop to check for cars reversing out of driveways.

They fly that little flag on the back as if it gives them total road rights. They seem to think everyone has to give way to them.

Crazy crazy dudes.

Well I'm off to cook my first dinner party meal – Frozen Praline Meringue Torte. Lucky the ice cream has to be softened – had to wait so long in the post office line it should be right to go.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

15 Responses to “born to be wild”

  1. Snowy Says:

    I can't wait to get one, Cat. Pissing off young hoons sounds like a lot of fun, and a great way to get revenge.

  2. Candy Sparks Says:

    reminds me of italy…

    candy

  3. cat Says:

    I was going to mention you, but I was being polite. I thought you may already have one.

  4. cat Says:

    ha – yes I've heard the roads are mad there

  5. Snowy Says:

    Well, just for that, I'm going to get one, and come and terrorise you. I might even take my teeth out and smile as I get near.

  6. cat Says:

    Well now you're just asking for trouble.

  7. Waterbaby Says:

    The roads in Paris are by far the worst I've encountered in Europe! They should a law requiring you to carry toe tags with your license.

  8. LeendaDLL Says:

    I was dieing of laughter the first time I saw the newer, high speed, scooters zooming up my street. Very "WTF?" moment. The folks in my hood don't even bother with the flags… just zoom around with no regard for anything, like they're 14 year old kids on electric motorcycles (who do the exact same thing). I'm always waiting for an accident in the intersection in front of my house.

  9. cat Says:

    I was looking at some of Papas slides this week from Paris in 1957 and the traffic was mad. Cars driving all over the place. And parking wherever they felt like by the look of it.

  10. cat Says:

    I saw one guy this morning who has two little terrier dogs riding with him. They stand one either side of him with their front paws up on the hub cap. Actually it must've been pensioners day now I think of it – a lot of them out and about.

  11. Waterbaby Says:

    oui. tres dangereux then, tres dangereux now.

  12. Emjay Says:

    LOL — I think dad got a letter asking him to slow down in the retirement village!

  13. cat Says:

    It's the thought of him crossing the highway to get to the shops that concerns me. I bet he doesn't look properly.

  14. my 80 something uncle was showing off all the extras on his scooter and doing doughnuts in the bakyard when he almost rolled over. I thought we were finally going to get rid of him, but alas no.

  15. cat Says:

    lolol – it's like they're stuck to them with super glue


Leave a Reply

