another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

opening day February 3, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 11:10 pm
Tags: , ,

The floors are finished.

And I'm sure I only have mild brain damage from inhaling those fumes. That is one mighty strong smell. And combined with this opressive heat it can be overwhelming. One night I rang Daz and asked him if he thought there was any chance the house might explode. I had to ring him because he can't stay here. As soon as he walks in the back door he has an asthma attack. But I think tonight it'll be ok.

So this was the lounge room remember.

 

 

And this is the lounge room now.

 

 

Hard to believe that was hiding under there. And here's another shot just because it looks so smicko. Must see if I can dig up some of that orange paint for a touch up.

 

 

And here is my bedroom

 

 

 

And here was Lloyds room

 

 

And here is his Triple J, Beat The Drum logo that Jem and I painted a few years ago. Interesting day that was.

 

 

And now look – just like a mirror

 

 

So, got to say I'm pretty happy with that.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

38 Responses to “opening day”

  1. Waterbaby Says:

    Goodbye and good riddance to carpet forever!!!!!! They look good. Why are they so shiny?

  2. Aubrey Says:

    Ooo – pretty! Shiny!
    Just beware of dirty heel scuffs!

  3. LeendaDLL Says:

    sooooo insaaaanely envious!!

  4. cat Says:

    I went the gloss finish – harder wearing

  5. cat Says:

    ha – I knew you would be

  6. cat Says:

    yes, it's already got marks on it today. But I'm not going to fuss about with it, just live on it.

  7. WHOAH!!Those are stupendous! Congratulations on the gorgeous floors. Definitely worth it despite the fumes.

  8. cat Says:

    amazing isn't it, the difference

  9. cat Says:

    almost clear air
    shouldv'e done this years ago – mind you didn't have the money then

  10. Design Shark Says:

    Oh my gosh! This is soooo pretty! Don't you just want to lick the floors? They look like candy… πŸ™‚

  11. cat Says:

    well I haven't wanted to lick it yet, but I do like walking on it

  12. Emjay Says:

    Don't let any high heels on those!! They look great.

  13. OptamissTIK Says:

    Everyone has said it above, but, wow! The difference is amazing. The wood looks fantastic now – so pretty!!! I bet you are really happy AND your husband can now live in the house too!

  14. Candy Sparks Says:

    beautiful flooring…

    candy

  15. Worker Says:

    They look great Cat !!

  16. LeendaDLL Says:

    seriously… I just came back to look at them again and oooh & ahhh. They looked good rough but I can't believe how AMAZING they look refinished!I can't remember, do you have animals? One of my concerns is my cats figuring out how to walk/run on polished wood after knowing nothing but carpet. Watching them leg splay is funny… till you pay the vet for a dislocated hip.

  17. Snowy Says:

    That's pretty impressive, Cat. Almost as good as I would have done…

  18. poptart Says:

    Goodness! They look wonderful! They are absolutely beautiful – enjoy!

  19. Those are beautiful. πŸ™‚

  20. cat Says:

    I think I need to have a party to present them

  21. cat Says:

    We only have Betty the dog and she's not allowed in that part of the house. We did have a cat but he died last year. And both of them had to have knee replacements a few years ago.

  22. cat Says:

    Good old australian Ironbark Red that is – does come up a treat doesn't it. Dunno about Daz though – we were getting used to him not being around.

  23. cat Says:

    Of course Kimba turned up here today in 6 inch heels! She left them at the front door though. I'd say I'll only fuss about it for a few days then – whatever.

  24. cat Says:

    I'm thinking about going in and laying down on them for a while

  25. Ivysgrandkid Says:

    That is some floor job!

  26. Wow, gorgeous! You and the Hubs should break them in with a little late night hanky-panky ;0)

  27. Paxton Says:

    Beautiful job! Congrats!

  28. dewitte Says:

    That's fantastic! Great work.

  29. The floors look Amazing!!!! I want my floors refinished too!!!

  30. cat Says:

    well if you have some old ones at your place you should definitely look into it next time you need a floor revamp

  31. cat Says:

    thanks – yes it was definitely worth the eight days of inconvenience

  32. cat Says:

    thanks Paxton

  33. cat Says:

    lolol – they don't look very comfortable!

  34. they are not too old, 1960's. They need refinished SOOO badly. We have to wait to do something like this done. I dont want to pay for it to be done with savings and then have Mr. L get laid off. It is on the list!

  35. Wow… they're so shiny… .erm… betcha can't wear short skirts around your house! πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

