another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

QotD: It’s Complicated January 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 6:47 am
Tags: ,

What's the most complicated part of your life right now?

I'd like to change my answer please.

Because its the start of a new school year, which can mean only one thing.

COVERING SCHOOL BOOKS.

Whatever happened to brown paper, with picures cut from magazines, stuck on with some perkins paste.

Now they have this shiny slippery self adhesive crap. That, mind you, is creased before you even cut it off the roll.

It is hell for a perfectinist.

All those creases and bubbles.

I find covering school books very challenging. And complicated.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

15 Responses to “QotD: It’s Complicated”

  1. Jem Says:

    I had nightmares about the books last night.I dreamt I couldn't leave work until I had covered all of the books without any bubbles. Today i got home from work to find Diva and Ps2boy have chosen some glitzy slippery cheap contact stuff from Big W.Help

  2. cat Says:

    the bratz stuff is particularly nasty – very thinthe first book I covered was a shocker

  3. Emjay Says:

    LOL – isn't your daughter old enough to do her own books???? !!

  4. i've never heard of this shiny bubbly stuff! so your books are then slippery?how ridiculous!

  5. Good answer! I loathe this task too. Actually haven't done it yet as the school book list (which we only got today!) doesn't say that exercise books need to be covered and I don't have any contact anyway. Instead I used my label maker to print out about 100 sticky labels to use to label all the kids stuff even individual colour pencils. We had a bit of a working bee in front of the tennis. Now can't find my daughter's damn school shoes!

  6. M-----l Says:

    It is hell for a perfectinist.I normally wouldn't point out a spelling error in another's post (as I make plenty of them myself), but the lack of an "o" in the last word makes this the best sentence ever.

  7. cat Says:

    Sigh – nothing like a smart arse first thing in the morning is there

  8. cat Says:

    You'll have a rush then – don't they go back tomorrow. Lizzie does anyway. I've already told her when she can't find her shoes they're in the back cupboard. I only saw them by chance there yesterday and don't know how they got there. But it would've been nasty.
    All the contact would be gone here (in town) by now!

  9. cat Says:

    Oh wow – I want some of those condom book covers – I haven't seen them here. This stuff is only bubbly when you don't put it on smoothly. Then you have to get a pin and pop them to flatten them. Its that damn contact – once you accidently let it grip somewhere, you're done for.

  10. cat Says:

    No doubt about it. But they like me doing it because I spend so long making them look nice and then their books look better than everyone elses. Except Lloyd – I think once he hit about year 8 he didn't bother covering them anymore.

  11. They are already back but don't go into their 2009 classes till next week. Actually thinking of doing paper after my daughter said to me tonight "No offence, Mum, … (pause) …but you really aren't very good at contacting books, are you?". I think she was worried I would be terribly offended. lol

  12. cat Says:

    ha – lucky you!! You've been sacked. This should be my last year.

  13. Yes, just make sure to have lots of bubbles and creases and noone will want you to do it!

  14. Lies Says:

    Covering those books is a job that requires at least four hands. So either you have to be Shiva or you have to call in the troops… But they're so pretty afterwards!

  15. cat Says:

    Yes, you need extra hands to hold down the corners so they don't roll up and stick where they're not supposed to be!


Leave a Reply

