another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

another night in pitt street January 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 8:23 am
Tags: , , , ,

I have had a huge day of painting. And I've come to the conclusion that there comes a times when you're too old to be climbing up and down ladders all day lugging paint tins. And I think I've just about reached that age. My back is KILLING me. But I must get finished and get back into my room. I can't sleep in the lounge room for much longer. Its like being in bloody Pitt street. (Pitt Street being one of the main streets in Sydney).

My night last night went like this.

Went to bed at 10.30pm as usual.

11.00pm – Lloyd drops by to tell me he's going out

11.30pm – Lizzies boyfriend turns up

12am – Lizzies friends turn up – (note to self – why are three 16 year old girls roaming the streets at midnight)

1.30am – Lloyd arrives home. Tells me nothing much was going on and Kimba will be home soon. Trashy and drunk.

2.30am Kimba arrives home. Trashy and drunk. 

The thing about Kimba is that she doesn't come home, sneak into bed and go to sleep. She comes home, jumps on me in bed and asks me what I'm doing, then has a shower and cooks herself a feed. Then she climbs into my bed and tells me about her night. What she danced to, who she has a crush on and some guy she had meaningful eye contact with across the pub dance floor. (She is at a 21st tonight and hopes to – break the ice – with him). She then spent about an hour telling me every five minutes that Lizzies Boy was up in Lizzies bed – WITHOUT HIS SHIRT ON.  

4am – Lizzies boyfriend sneaks out. 

7am – WHAT THE FUCK  – is that a loudspeaker? We live four doors away from the showground and I guess there were some horsey fun and games going on today that required a man on a loudspeaker instructing people. Those horsey types sure do get up early.

So today I finished all the undercoating and I'm starting the topcoat in the morning.  The ceiling and three walls will be painted in the colour First Kiss. Which tells you absolutely nothing about what colour it will actually be. So you can either wait for photos or have a mad guess.

I was laying in bed at 5am this morning and thought to myself – holy crap – I think I'm a full blown insomniac.

Note to self – tell Lizzie that once it hits 4am her boy may as well stay the night.

Note to self – buy bourbon for daz so I can tell him that lizzies boy will be sleeping over from now on. 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

25 Responses to “another night in pitt street”

  1. Waterbaby Says:

    c'mon, come clean, that bourbon's not really for daz.

  2. Snowy Says:

    Enjoy it while you can, Cat. One day they'll all have fluttered those tiny wings and flown away, and you'll be missing it all. Hard to believe, isn't it.

  3. cat Says:

    lol – oh yeah it is – he's takin' things HARD – I'm more of a a vodka girl anyway

  4. cat Says:

    isn't that what grandkids are for?
    I know what you mean – the years fly. I often find myself looking back thinking – I could've/should've done things different. But really, I love that she can crawl into bed with me and tell me all the gossip.

  5. Snowy Says:

    I've been transferring VHS tapes of our kids, when they were little, onto DVD. I have to admit to a feeling of nostalgia for those days. Quite a feeling, actually. Treasure those videos, Cat.

  6. cat Says:

    Funny you should mention that. Today I was making a list of jobs for Daz to do, and one of them was – find someone who can transfer our old tapes onto a disc. All seems just like a blink ago, and now they're all ready to move on, I want to say NOOOoooo, get them all back, and do it all again.

  7. bold as love Says:

    At least your pitt street is just drunk and trashy, not fighty and vomity like you would find on pitt street too…

  8. cat Says:

    lol – oh yes please – I don't want any vomity things going on in my bed

  9. Your days and nights sound like brimming over with life – still I'd consider investing into a hotel room for the nights until that color is dry."First kiss" – sounds like baby blue or bubblegum pink to me…

  10. cat Says:

    hotel – thats not a bad idea
    hmm – first kiss – daz said to me – looks like it has a touch of pink in it and I said – nooooo

  11. the bourbon wont be enough for the first couple of nights – suggest a few sleeping tablets as well. Or deeply inhale paint fumes!

  12. Sounds like plenty of fun + games @ yr place. Where is daz in all this?

  13. Snowy Says:

    I bought an LG VHS/DVD recorder/player where you can do transfers from VHS to DVD and vice versa. It seems to work quite well.

  14. Design Shark Says:

    Haha, I have a feeeling that even if you're in your own room, Kimba will still know where to find you. You may be able to avoid the rest though. 🙂

  15. cat Says:

    No doubt – she's a shocker!

  16. cat Says:

    Must look into that – we need a new dvd player

  17. cat Says:

    Ha – usually asleep on the lounge. Or – resting his eyes – as he puts it. Less he knows the better anyway.

  18. cat Says:

    lol – he finds denial works well

  19. Snowy Says:

    Ours cost around $250 from the Good Guys. I'm usually not a fan of LG stuff, but it seems to do the job.

  20. cat Says:

    sounds good – because we could do with a new video player as well but I didn't really want to spend money on one because no one really uses videos anymore – thanks snowy

  21. Waterbaby Says:

    yup. just as i contend, toughest parenting falls onto dads with daughters. gin and rye whiskey here, vodka's my demon drink after a most unpleasant memorable night long long ago ….

  22. Ninja Says:

    Yair, that bloody issue about the boyfriend sleeping over and WHICH ROOM he's going to sleeping in, and whether the door is going to be shut, and… and… and.. I can feel an embolism coming on! Bloody kids… why do they put these challenges on????

  23. cat Says:

    lol – can just imagine you making up excuses all night to storm in there
    one of Lizzies friend has her boyfriend sleep over and they have a rule that they have to sleep in the lounge room on separate mattresses. But you know, if they want to get up to any hanky panky, they're going to find somewhere to go it anyway.

  24. Inga Says:

    Bloody hell, Kimba's awesome.

  25. cat Says:

    Hi there Inga – yes I'm sure she thinks so


Leave a Reply

