another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

QotD: This QotD is Making Me Hungry January 15, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 10:43 pm
Tags: ,

What's the best thing between two slices of bread?
Submitted by Eric.

I'm not a fan of bread so I don't eat many sandwiches. But every now and then I like a piece of toast with a boiled egg on it. Soft boiled. Every time I watch the start of Dexter and he cuts that egg, I feel like an egg. I love eggs. And I like to put a small spread of Bovril on my toast, under my egg. Not vegemite. Because I hate vegemite. And that makes me very unaustralian I know, and I expect once word gets out that I don't like vegemite, I'll be taken out and shot.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

23 Responses to “QotD: This QotD is Making Me Hungry”

  1. Snowy Says:

    Consider yourself shot.

  2. OptamissTIK Says:

    I was alert, but now I'm alarmed.

  3. Aubrey Says:

    I was never too clear on what vegemite was, so I'm unloading my rifle. But I'm keeping it close, just in case.
    I love sandwiches, but consider bread the least important part – it rarely has any real taste, anyway.
    When I was in Vegas, we went to The Burger Bar; a co-worker who is surprisingly still alive, had a burger with a fried egg, bacon and carmelized onions. It sounded fabulous, but at the same time frightened me.

  4. cat Says:

    I always feel like a big dough ball after bread (says I as I sit here eating deep fried chips)
    vegemite is a digusting thick black salty paste that australians seem to love – its an icon here

  5. cat Says:

    I know – its like treason

  6. cat Says:

    you know its no good for you don't you? all that salt – I see it's been added to the list of Things That Are No Good For You. Is there anything left on the Things That Are list I wonder.

  7. Karen Lynn Says:

    I'm kind of afraid to ask but what is Bovril? I had an aussie chum send me vegemite once. it tasted like motor oil would i reckon

  8. Snowy Says:

    Anything that tastes good is no good for you, Cat. That's just a fact of life.

  9. Waterbaby Says:

    I'm the same. Not big on bread either. And love eggs. Soft boiled with a slice of toast, a little S&P, is a favorite meal after I've been ill or unable to eat for whatever reason. Although because I don't have a toaster, it's made on the stove, is it still toast? Keep the vegemite. And the Bovril.

  10. LeendaDLL Says:

    For Aubrey: VegemiteFor the rest of us Non-Aussies: Bovril

  11. cat Says:

    lol – yes, with salt in it
    Bovril is from England. It is a beef extract whereas vegemite is a vegetable extract and some other stuff scraped from the bottom of a barrel somewhere.

  12. cat Says:

    I'm pretty sure I'm the only person in a town of 20,000 that buys bovril. They only stock it in one supermarket and its hidden away in the spice section behind a post.

  13. cat Says:

    well if it isn't soft and doughy its toast – I like to keep some softie eggs in the fridge and just snack on them – probably one of my favourite foods. Not a huge fan of the omlette though. And those people who only eat egg whites – pfff

  14. Waterbaby Says:

    agreed on both counts. any egg, i'll eat around or discard the white altogether, the yumminess is in the yolk.

  15. Aubrey Says:

    Thanks!
    Wiki mentions something about vegemite and cheese…could be interesting…

  16. cat Says:

    don't be fooled – it won't be

  17. OptamissTIK Says:

    Don't listen to Cat, she's a vegemite hater… vegemite and cheese on toast was known in my house when I was growing up, as a 'mousetrap'. The vegemite goes on first, then you put the bread in the oven with cheese on top and grill it until the cheese melts over the edges (trapping the vegemite 'mouse'). It's delicious.

  18. cat Says:

    ha – like those nasty scrolls you can get from bakeries – you know its probably not even made in Australia any more

  19. Karen Lynn Says:

    That sounds just plain nasty. Aussies use vegemite to trick unknowing Americans! hahaha :))

  20. Design Shark Says:

    I have wikipediaed this thing and have decided it's probably poison. I wouldn't eat that either! Yuk.

  21. cat Says:

    Yes, you can put it right up there with christmas pudding – filed under strange things australians eat.
    I'm sure you have things we don't have but I can't think of any at the moment. Except eggnog. And pumpkin pie – hardly ever hear of anyone eating pumpkin pie.

  22. Design Shark Says:

    Hm. I'm not a huge fan of pumpkin pie, so I'd be ok if we didn't have it either, haha. I do like my eggnog though….

  23. cat Says:

    peanut butter and jelly sandwiches – we don't have them


Leave a Reply

