another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

bruiser January 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 11:30 pm
Tags: , , , ,

So whats the go with leeks these days?

I'm picturing small very rare elves of some kind, chained up in an underground cave in Siberia, they could even be blind, growing and harvesting leeks to be sent around the world. Maybe the cruel captors only use the elf urine to fertilise the leeks.

Thats the only thing I can think of that might justify them being so expensive. I have a cold. A terrible head cold. Surely there is nothing worse than a head cold on a 100 degree day. Well, there probably is, but I can't think of it at the moment, (unless I was an elf). Who knew the body could produce this much snot. However, I felt like a bowl of potato and leek soup, so took myself off to the the supermarket to buy my leeks only to discover they were $5.00 each! And I needed four, but I decided I didn't want soup that badly.

So surely there is a leek substitute. Aren't they just a glorified onion? Could I use onion instead – or shallots even, maybe a bunch of srping onions. Any ideas? Because I'm thinking I do want the soup actually. Even though I am just about to suffocate from this opressive heat. The air is thick today.

Anyway, this is my bruise. From climbing through the - not quite as big as I thought it was, dog door. Its joining nicely in the middle.

 

 

And my friend Jem has just started a vox blog so go over and be neighbourly. Don't worry, I'm sure she won't write about me every day.

jem

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

19 Responses to “bruiser”

  1. piscesgal Says:

    Mmm,leeks.I roasted leeks,baby carrots and red potatoes for Christmas dinner and got tons of compliments.

  2. cat Says:

    sounds delicious – but did you have to sell your children to be able to afford it?

  3. piscesgal Says:

    Not sure-my mom bought 'em.But they ARE expensive.I was at a grocery store-a speciality(natural foods) grocery store and they were definitely expensive there.Turned out that I hardly got any of the leeks/potatoes/carrots on Christmas-it was the most popular thing on the table!

  4. LeendaDLL Says:

    That looks like a pole dancing bruise!!Alternate to leeks = canned soup?

  5. I don't think I have tried buying leeks in a long time. I do tend to think of them as a winter vegetable though. How about making French onion soup instead?

  6. Candy Sparks Says:

    ouch… and i don't know about the leek thing… hope you feel better though!

    candy

  7. Candy Sparks Says:

    ha ha… thats super cute funny…

    candy

  8. cat Says:

    lol – I wish canned soup – tooo salty for me

  9. cat Says:

    lol – well it doesn't sound much like potato and leek soup but I'll have a look in my soup book. Doesn't it have cheesy french toast on top (I'm trying to lose some weight)

  10. It doesn't have to, I don't think. My friends mum used to make a really nice one. The only soups I make these days are pumpkin and minestrone. My mother in law encouraged me to add a packet of chicken soup mix to my pumpkin soup last time I made it and it was surprisingly nice (probably all the MSG!).

  11. cat Says:

    lol – or the salt – I usually make minestrone as well

  12. Debbie Says:

    You can always try green onion. Just try and stick to mincing the white/light green parts instead of the dark green ends. The ends have their place, but I think the sweeter part of the onion would replicate a leek OK.
    And bummer about the head cold and bruising. Take it easy!

  13. OUCH!!!! and 5$ for leeks?? Wow! I will have to see how much they are here. I have not cooked with them in a while

  14. cat Says:

    even oucher today

  15. cat Says:

    Ok – I'm not sure what you would call a green onion. Is that what we call a shallot – the things that look like a mini leek?

  16. Debbie Says:

    Whoa, that pretty much just blew my mind. Yes, a green onion looks like a leek. Over here, a shallot looks like a small bulbous red onion. Completely different from a leek!

  17. cat Says:

    hmmm, not sure if we have small bulbous red onions, or green onions. We have spring onions – they just look like a bunch of small onions.

  18. I flinch each time I look at it


Leave a Reply

