another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

doggie days and doors January 3, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 9:20 pm
Tags: , ,

I'll go around and crawl through the dog door.

I'll have to climb over the fence first though.

Thats what I said to Jem when we got home yesterday and found ourselves locked out of the house. When we left I said to Lizzie – are you going out?. No, she says, I'm watching movies all afternoon. So I didn't take my keys. I had my hand on them, then put them back.

So off I went around the back. Betty's always pretty happy to see someone climbing over the gate which makes it more of a challenge. If you had enough patience you could open the gate. But Daz seems to think Betty is some distant relation of Harry Houdini and there are so many bolts and padlocks on it no one can bother.

Then it was off to the dog door. Which looked much smaller than I'd remembered. I knew my hips would go through because they don't exist but it was the shoulders that I thought may cause trouble. So I did this corkscrew technique. Head in, then turn sideways and wedge the shoulders through, keep turnng on to your back, then slide. It was all going well until the back of my pants got stuck on some jagged plastic, so I gave my legs a hard tug and, oh, hang on, thats my leg thats stuck, not my pants. Ouch. Thats gonna bruise tomorrow.

Today it is very very tender. I have to sit leaning to the left so there's no pressure on the back of my thigh. Definitely getting too old for that kind of caper.

But we saw Bolt in the end and both liked it. There were a lot of laughs in it. But I also got all teary eyed three times. I'm a big softie in animal moves, even if they are animated animals.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

20 Responses to “doggie days and doors”

  1. LeendaDLL Says:

    Re Bolt, I saw it while the wildfires were active – so you can imagine how emotional I got at the movie climax.Wasn't he the cutest puppy ever in the beginning of the film? I swear, I would watch 2 hrs of Bolt as a puppy, just doing puppy things!Glad you got inside. I have security gates and no dog doors and am way too fat to get through them anyway. My last lockout cost me $350 for a locksmith. I know have an outdoor key safe (which I've used twice!!).

  2. cat Says:

    He was so cute!!lol – yes the fire was one of the teary moments – and another time was when Mittens was saying how her owners moved away and left her – they took the love away.I will have to look into putting a key outside somewhere. Especially now the kids are going out late at night – sick of them tapping on the window at 3am.

  3. SweetMisery Says:

    I haven't seen Bolt sounds like I would like it. Poor baby crawling through doggie doors.

  4. cat Says:

    lol, yes poor meyou would love Bolt – and it doesn't go for too long either which is good

  5. LeendaDLL Says:

    The cat didn't get to me. But the pigeons… I thought they were hysterical!!

  6. Jem Says:

    LOL. You forgot to mention being ambushed by brave black kitty

  7. Waterbaby Says:

    keep practicing with the doggie door, you might make a good thief yet.

  8. cat Says:

    oh yeah – I forgot about him/her – stalker

  9. cat Says:

    I'd have to carry a soft towel around with me to lay across it before I came in.

  10. Waterbaby Says:

    what a wimp thief!

  11. cat Says:

    lol – I was just thinking that

  12. Caprica Says:

    I'm just being nosy but based on this post you keep your car and house keys separately?If this is so, is it particular to you or is it an Aussie thing?As far as I have observed Americans keep most all their keys together on one key chain–though I realize that it is not wise to have a heavy wad of keys dangling form the ignition.

  13. cat Says:

    No – I keep them together, but we walked. My house is right near the main street so we can walk everywhere.

  14. Caprica Says:

    Thanks for answering. That makes perfect sense.

  15. Design Shark Says:

    This made me laugh out loud. Literally. Scott is looking at me like I'm crazy. If I were to get locked out and had a dog door, I believe those are the exact thoughts I would have. 🙂

  16. cat Says:

    Lucky we have the medium sized doggie door. Lucky its there at all actually. I'm going to get someone to take a photo of my bruise later, its quite impressive. I've been showing as many people as I can – including the lady who works at the stationery shop. She was impressed as well.

  17. Wow… you must be really slim to be able to squeeze through the doggie door… !

  18. AH!! I am so sorry! That sounds terrible! Snagging skin on plastic, Ew!

  19. cat Says:

    yes, old, soft, sensitive skin as well – lol.

  20. Design Shark Says:

    Hahahaha. This shoulds like something I would do too. We have gotta show off the battle scars when we get them in impressive ways. 😀


Leave a Reply

