another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

QotD: Boxing Day December 26, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 8:42 pm
Tags: ,

Today is Boxing Day, a holiday based on the tradition of giving gifts to the less fortunate members of society. In keeping with that spirit, what did you do in 2008 to help out those in need?

Well how about that. I always thought boxing day was about laying on the lounge and watching the cricket test match, or the sydney-hobart yacht race, or getting up at 5am so I could wait outside the shops and trample someone to death on my way to buying some cheap linen.

I did none of those things though. I was extremely unmotivated or non motivated, without motivation anyway. So I lay on the bed and read two books. By the time 6am rolled around this morning I couldn't stand to be in there anymore. In fact I had to get up and wash the sheets and my pyjamas because I felt like a big soft dirty person who has spent too long in bed. Maybe I should have got Daz in to turn me over every now and then so I didn't get bedsores. Not that I did get bed sores mind you.

And now I'm off to do my weekly grocery shop. Even though it is only 7.30am. Because in about an hour I'm expecting the supermarket to be insane. You know how people get when the shops are shut for a day or two, They think they might starve to death. Even though they probably have enough ham in the fridge to last to the end of February.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

9 Responses to “QotD: Boxing Day”

  1. Steve Betz Says:

    Hey I finished one book this morning and am beginning book #2. Not bad, though I am feeling a bit ripe.

  2. LeendaDLL Says:

    I didn't get to sleep till sometime after 4 – so I was definitely that big soft dirty person who spent too long in bed… I stayed till 11:30, am still in my pjs (at 1:21), and on my 3rd day of doing nearly nothing.I, too, have no motivation to deal with the crowds. Can't think of anything I need/want enough to buy, even with sales. I'm going to do the opposite of you – wait till dinner time, and people are home, to go run errands.

  3. cat Says:

    lol – time for a pyjama change or a location change – sometimes I just go and lie in one of the kids beds for a change

  4. cat Says:

    I'm back now and there was hardly anyone about. I think I need a nap now though, that early burst of enthusiasm has gone. Although now of course I don't have any sheets on the bed. I hate that – when you go to lie down and realise you haven't made the bed.thats the things about sales isn't it – they're all out there thinking they're saving money but they're just buying crap they don't need anyway.

  5. Waterbaby Says:

    your day's off to a good start, you didn't get run over by the hordes with carts. the shopping couldn't wait a few days to avoid the starving emaciated crowds – not?

  6. cat Says:

    I have three teenagers – they have to feed continuously to stay alive it seems. They wait for nothing.

  7. Yep they did remind us constantly about doing good a lot. On possibly all the communications media that they could think of.
    But I didn't do anything about that either. 😛 I think drinking and sleeping possibly covered most of eve and the day itself…

  8. cat Says:

    I always thought it just an excuse for another public holiday. We love our public holidays here.


Leave a Reply

