another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

waiting by the sea December 24, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:35 am
Tags: , ,

We went to the funeral yesterday. It was actually very nice. As nice as a funeral can be I think. The celebrant who did the service was an old friend of Lorries and that was nice. Usually you go to funerals and have a priest or someone raving on about the dead person who they didn't even know.

On the way there we were driving behind a work truck – a tradesman of some sort. His name was Neil Younger. Made me laugh.

After the funeral we decided to wait around for Kimba to finish work and bring her home. Save her the joys of public transport at christmas time.

So we went and checked out the beach for a while. We weren't really dressed appropriately.

 

 

The gulls were just hanging around, checking things out

 

 

So was the pelican

 

The water looked pretty cold to me – but the weather was warm. The water here is very clean. Saw in the paper we have some of the cleanest beaches in Asutralia.

 

 

This is a nice little area. Good for kids. Theres that little fenced off beach area and behind that are the salt water baths. Which are very deep! 

 

 

This is a town with an industrial past. A steel city. Now that BHP steelworks has closed its a funny mixture of modern and old. It still has a working port. Mainly used now to export Coal. The whole area around here runs on the coalmines. There are always plenty of ships waiting on the horizon to come in and load up with coal. You can see about 15 in this photo (if it turns out large enough). Daz went a bit further up and told me he counted 27 all up. Maybe if you click on it it'll get bigger! Yes, you have to click on it, then click on it again. I was trying out my panorama setting.

 

 

And some more seagulls. They were so clean and white.

 

 

Probably waiting to see what these guys turned up.

 

 

Anyway it was good to get down to the beach. Always clears your head.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

12 Responses to “waiting by the sea”

  1. Raymond Says:

    Very good pictures, I'm surprised. No, wait, I don't mean I'm surprised that you can take good pictures. After all, taking good pictures runs in your family. Its just that they seem different somehow, a different feel to them. Whatever you're doing keep it up, they're quite good. πŸ™‚

  2. cat Says:

    probably the setting I'd say

  3. Waterbaby Says:

    i agree, always clears the head. that beach garb – not – was pretty funny.

  4. cat Says:

    lol – we looked like a group of emo's who had a sudden desire for fresh air. (I don't know if there is a collective noun for a group of emos).

  5. Waterbaby Says:

    emos is all i've read.

  6. Karen Lynn Says:

    Beautiful pictures. merry christmas cat

  7. cat Says:

    same back to you

  8. Raymond Says:

    "probably the setting I'd say"
    What is it about the Queen's English that encourages its many users to sway ever so gently towards the understatement?

  9. cat Says:

    are you making fun of me Raymond?

  10. Raymond Says:

    No. Not ever. Certainly not today. Yesterday, or the day before, no. Never. Not gonna happen. I plead mercy…I suggest stupidity on my part…I submit for your examination that the internet does not carry humour well. But…
    Ya gotta admit that "probably the setting I'd say" , is a most interesting observation. I'm sure you know what you're saying and I'm equally sure I think I know what you mean by what you're saying. Yet somewhere between the tea and the cup there exits a rather billowing cloud of confusion. Most likely, my bad, as I know nothing about how the English drink their tea, nor am I familiar with the settings they prefer.
    But I would never make fun of you my friend. Never. πŸ™‚ (And if there exits the slightest chance that you may feel irratated or annoyed, I hope you'll forgive me?)

  11. cat Says:

    Just kidding with you Raymond. And I never drink tea and we are not fans of the queen here either. πŸ™‚

  12. Raymond Says:

    Whew, that was just way too close…I feel a bit like Ned Kelly who once managed to escape the hangman's noose…thank you πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

