another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

sweet christmas treats December 22, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:12 am
Tags: , ,

Ok – here are a couple of things we made to sell at the carols by candlelight

Coconut Ice. Which I don't like at all, but it looked pretty

 

 

These are a cool idea. Mini puds. (As in christmas puddings that you USA lot don't eat.) Just dip the marshmallow in melted chocolate, then put a jaffa and a spearmint leaf on top. Kids love 'em. Karen – do NOT tell me you don't know what a jaffa is. They are those red lollies. But the original ones had an orange flavoured shell.

 

And the one true christmas food as far as I'm concerned. Rum Balls. We always make these the week before christmas. I used to make them for the kids to give to teachers as gifts as well.

 

 

 

1 x pack of milk arrowroot biscuits – crushed

3 dessertspoons rum – I usually add a bit more, we like 'em strong

3 tablespoons cocoa

3 dessertspoons coconut

1 x tin condensed milk

Mix them together then roll into balls and roll in some more coconut

Do we only have milk arrowroot biscuits here in Australia I wonder. If so just replace them with a plain biscuit. Like something you'd crush to use as a base in a cheesecake. But no ginger, or sugar coated, Just plain biscuit.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

20 Responses to “sweet christmas treats”

  1. Emjay Says:

    LOL – they don't have jaffas here! I wondered about that coconut ice…..

  2. cat Says:

    no – I didn't think you did – do they have arrowroot biscuits?

  3. SweetMisery Says:

    Yikes a could eat them all. Yummmmmmmmm

  4. cat Says:

    go on, get stuck into them – they taste GOOD

  5. cat Says:

    and what exactly did you wonder about the coconut ice

  6. Emjay Says:

    If you would eat them with all that yucky coconut on them! They sell baby arrowroot biscuits (as in for babies) …. Nabisco make them. I don't know how much they taste like ours though.

  7. cat Says:

    oh yes, no I don't eat them – awful things. But it can't be the coconut because I love the rum balls.

  8. OptamissTIK Says:

    Rum balls! You can't have xmas without them!! I totally forgot to make them, thanks for the reminder!!! I'd eat that coconut ice by the way, looks yum!

  9. Design Shark Says:

    wait wait wait. *I* would totally eat a marshmallow dipped in chocolate with candy on it! Or is it that coconut ice that is the pudding?ALSO!!!!! I had a mini fruit cake at the holiday party yesterday! I forgot to tell you. I thought it looked good (I like to eat multi-colored things), and was not thinking that I was in a place full of elderly people. And so, I took a bite, and it tasted like rancid poison. And then I thought, "Who would do this?" And looked down and realized it was reds and greens and yellows and had nuts, just like the picture you showed me. It was the worst thing I have ever eaten in my entire life. I truly thought I was going to die.

  10. cat Says:

    yes, marshmallow dipped in chocolate is totally acceptable to eat any time. Coconut ice is yuk. You ate fruit cake!! lol. Old people LOVE fruit cake. Especially at christmas time.

  11. cat Says:

    Get on to it – just not christmas without them. And cherries. Gotta have cherries as well.

  12. Waterbaby Says:

    funny thing, i like rum but have never cared for rum balls.

  13. Jaffnut Says:

    Thanks for the idea – I've got to bring something along to our staff Xmas party tomorrow and I think I'll give those 'Mini Puds' a go.

  14. cat Says:

    I'm the opposite

  15. cat Says:

    yep, they're easy and look impressive

  16. Waterbaby Says:

    dunno whether it's their texture or sweetness or both, just never liked 'em but if forced to choose would 'em over gaggy eggnog.

  17. Aubrey Says:

    I like all of these – colorful, happy-looking, and seemingly not so difficult to make!
    Mother demands that I make at least one cookie with candied cherries in it – this year is was chocolate brownies with candied cherries on top, drizzled with melted chocolate. Can't be bad!

  18. kalita Says:

    Looks like you've been busy. I always make my rum balls with chocolate cake – I find them much nicer than biscuit-based ones (or maybe I'm just used to them that way). And I could eat an entire batch in one sitting despite not liking rum or coconut lol.

  19. cat Says:

    I just make them this way because thats the way my Nan made them – cake would be nice though as well I think. I don't like coconut either but I could eat a stack of them – usually make myself sick when I'm making them

  20. cat Says:

    oh I used to love those glaze cherries when I was a kid. I haven't had one for years!


Leave a Reply

