another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

berryoski December 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 11:46 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Christmas means one thing.

That its rasberryoski time.

This time I did a mixed berry batch.

So first you get about 150g of frozen rasberries (or mixed berries or whatever berries) and mash them up in a bowl with 1 tablespoon of caster sugar. And I thought, oh they look pretty, I'll go outside and take a photo of them.

 

 

And on my way back inside I went and had a sticky beak over the neighbours fence. I was just seeing if there were any cats there to say hello to. But when I turned around I tripped over a rock and my three strawberries went flying out of the bowl and hit the cement.

 

 

And I would have thrown them back in but there's all this pollen laying about at the moment. But it didn't matter, Betty enjoyed them.

 

 

So back inside, top up the fruit then smash them with the sugar

 

 

Now you add 1/3 cup chilled sugar syrup which you made earlier and put in the fridge. You made that by putting 1 cup of caster sugar and one cup cold water in a saucepan over medium heat and stirring it for about 5 minutes until the sugar dissolved. Then you bought it to the boil and gently simmered it for 7 minutes until it thickened slightly. Just store the rest in the fridge – heaps of cocktails need sugar syrup.

 

 

Then you get a nice jug, half fill it with ice, put in your berry mix and top it up with about 200ml of vodka – or however much you want. Serve with lime wedges.

I squash my berries into an empty vodka bottle then top it up with vodka. Then I let it brew in the fridge for a few weeks. Good stuff. What a lovely pair they make.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

28 Responses to “berryoski”

  1. cat Says:

    Maybe too cold for you guys at the moment but definitely more appropriate for this weather than that funny eggnog stuff you lot drink!

  2. homebody Says:

    Haha! I'm with you on eggnog.

  3. Waterbaby Says:

    yeah, i think i'll wait about eight months. (and substitute gin for vodka). sure looks tasty.

  4. Beats eggnog anyday in my book. I'm going to try it even though it's 15 degrees outside as I write. (I did say I was moving to Australia, right?)

  5. Waterbaby Says:

    yeah, i agree about eggnog. gag.

  6. cat Says:

    yes, gin would work – I tried a capful tonight – all going to plan

  7. cat Says:

    Best place in the world to live I hear – Queensland has the slogan – Beautiful one day, perfect the next. I think that could count for all Australia. Berryoski weather all year round.

  8. Emjay Says:

    LOL – were you really going to pick those berries up? I guess the alcohol would sanitize them! It does make a pretty looking bottle.

  9. daddy-fu Says:

    Bleh – Smirnoff. Bleh. I always keep a bottle of Finlandia in the freezer, lovely stuff. Rarely drink it (the vodka snob thing is merely an act) but it's nice to know it's always there. I've been tempted in the past to get a bottle and put either a couple of vanilla or coffee beans in, much like you've done with the berries.

  10. cat Says:

    only for a second – betty was pretty quick to get to them anyway

  11. cat Says:

    yes, I'm not sure about the vanilla – thought about that but then thought it might seem like soap or body wash

  12. Mmmmmmm…. I might just try that recipe… I love vodka… vodka with berries is even better! πŸ™‚

  13. cat Says:

    I thought I might drain the berries out now so there aren't any seeds in there. The berries would be good on icecream now they're good and drunk.

  14. Awwwww… no!!!! Berries with icecream and berries with vodka!!! Now I really gotta try this!!! πŸ˜€ YARMEE~

  15. Karen Lynn Says:

    I'm coming with you. Don't freeze solid over there gf!

  16. Karen Lynn Says:

    Great story great pictures, you always make me laugh! Now what is caster sugar?

  17. cat Says:

    hmmm – it's cooking sugar. Very fine. I was going to say you'd use it if you made a pavlova. But you guys don't eat pavlova do you!!!

  18. bold as love Says:

    yum… i'm seriously considering stopping off at the supermarket and getting frozen berries and vodka and making this tonight…. save it for xmas day… yum yum… Everyone likes a hostess drunk on frozen vodka berries, right?

  19. cat Says:

    everyone loves a drunken vodka hostess – go for it

  20. Karen Lynn Says:

    um what is pavlova?

  21. cat Says:

    tsk tsk – national dessert over here. No barbeque is complete without a pav. It's basically egg whites whipped with sugar, baked, topped with cream and fruit. I do a triple layer chocolate one thats very good.
    pavlova

  22. bold as love Says:

    I think I might. And here I was thinking of testing a white sangria recipe as well. The berryoski will go well with the pavlova for desert. (wow, we really are proving a stereotype, aren't we).

  23. cat Says:

    lol – I'm writing about jaffas and milk arrowroot biscuits nextI'll be doing something with Midori as well – not sure what yet – don't think I'd like the sangria

  24. Karen Lynn Says:

    that looks so good. mmmmm

  25. bold as love Says:

    I just bought vodka and frozen mixed berries… Something strangely satisfying about buying vodka at 8:30am…

  26. cat Says:

    ha – so long as you're buying it and not drinking it

  27. bold as love Says:

    Well I don't want to drink it without the famous berry mixture with it so I suppose I'll have to wait… (Besides, I can drink wine and beer @ work for free, except usually thats only after 4pm or so…)


Leave a Reply

