another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

QotD: Laundry Day December 8, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 9:14 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

How often do you do laundry? Do you have your own washer and dryer or do you have to leave your home?

Are you kidding me! I live in a house of five people. My life is one thrilling laundry experience after the other. There's always some dirty stuff in the baskets, some on the line and some waiting to be folded.

Of the five I generate the least laundry. Thats because I wear the same thing for many many days. I wear jeans until they're so soft they fall off me. So my washing pile usually only has undies and singlets in it.

Daz does dirty work. He works in mines, in paddocks in dust storms, in truck depots, in roofs (is that a word). So he generates a lot of filthy washing.

Lloyd – teenage boy – who is working two jobs – one as a painter and one as a futsal referee. He also plays basketball and goes running. Lots of dirt and sweat involved in that.

Lizzie – teenage girl. say no more really. Do you know how many changes of clothes a teenage girl can go through. And because they have a lot of clothes laying around on the floor, I'm sure I wash things that haven't actually been worn. Just trodden on a few times. Sometimes I just fold things up and pretend I washed them.

Kimba – who doesn't even live here anymore but her washing still seems to find its way home. But I've had a few good finds there. Sometimes I see a t shirt I like so I just put it in my pile.

So yes, I do a shitload of laundry, and I have my own washer. I also have a dryer but find I can't use it anymore because every time I do I am consumed with guilt about all the environmental damage I'm causing. Anyway I don't like how clothes come out of the dryer all soft. They don't even feel clean.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

6 Responses to “QotD: Laundry Day”

  1. Karen Lynn Says:

    Your kids are too old for you to be doing their laundry!

  2. Red Pen Says:

    "Sometimes I just fold things up and pretend I washed them." LOL, I've been known to do that, too. My kids are sometimes so lazy that they'll put something back in the laundry to avoid putting it away. They think I have no idea.

  3. cat Says:

    tell me about it. But we have such strict water restrictions here that it would waste too much if everyone just did their little bits and pieces. You have to have a full load.

  4. cat Says:

    Yes, like socks come back still wrapped in a pair – all firm and clean. tsk. Funny how they think we're clueless.

  5. liyafendi Says:

    Oh I hate these clothes related task..especially the folding part..sometimes I ask my husband to wear unfolded cloth and I wear my kids unfolded clothes to reduce clothes that I have to fold..what a lazy housewife I am!

  6. cat Says:

    well I don't iron anything at all and I refuse to fold undies or socks – they just get thrown on the piles, so you're not alone


Leave a Reply

