another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

quasimodo is in the house November 24, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 11:10 pm
Tags: , ,

One day, when I was about 14 years old, I bent over to pick up the dogs bowl and I felt my back suddenly do this spasm thing and when I went to stand up I couldn't. I had to walk back to the house bent over as if I was mowing the lawn. Without a lawn mower. Although I probably wished I had a lawn mower to lean on. And then I lay on the lounge for a few days until it recovered.

And ever since then I've had a dodgy back and a couple of times a year it does the total seize up thing. And I can feel it this morning, getting ready to go. Right along the base, all across the big plate bits above your bum. So I'm walking around very slowly today because when it goes, its a real bastard. I get sort of bent over but with my left hip much higher than the right. I had to borrow a walking stick last time it happened. Sitting is really bad for it so you have to either be laying down or moving.

It happend the day before my wedding. The morning of the wedding I was at the doctors getting painkillers to get through the day. And the honeymoon was funny. I spent most of if laying in the front seat of the car driving to and from the nearest chiropractor. Once it happened at the supermarket and I didn't think I could make it back to the car. I almost rang Daz to tell him he'd have to come and help me walk 20 metres.

And its so annoying because it totally puts you out of action. Can't really do anything. And you don't get much warning that its about to happen, and nothing in particular seems to set it off.  But I found something called Movalis in the pantry so I took one of them. I seem to remember Kimba getting them for a back problem.

Might go check out what movies are on tv today.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

24 Responses to “quasimodo is in the house”

  1. Raymond Says:

    Dear Cat, please take care of yourself! Everyone has horror stories of back pains, it isn't to be taken lightly. Watch movies, be comfortable, and no arm wrestling!

  2. cat Says:

    thanks – lol, yes definitely no arm wrestling today

  3. LeendaDLL Says:

    so sorry! i had a friend with similar problems. we were once talking on the phone, while he was working at the seafood counter at the supermarket. he apparently yawned but all i heard was the phone hitting the floor. i knew his back had spasmed and he collapsed and i felt horrible cause i didn't know who to tell that he was paralyzed behind the counter. luckily, a coworker found him in under a minute. i don't know what he did for his pain – just that he refused chiro care cause he had back surgery as a teen and was horrified of making his back even worse.

  4. cat Says:

    lol (carefully) at the yawning because thats exactly how it is, just a stupid thing like that can set it off when its on the edge then you're stuck in this grip. I need some of whatever it was you took last night I think.

  5. Steve Betz Says:

    Ow — hope this episode passes without too much trouble. I had a girlfriend a while back who would throw her back out at the — uhhh most inopertune — moment. It was enough to give a guy a complex…

  6. cat Says:

    lolol – funny
    poor girl

  7. Aubrey Says:

    Back strains/spasms for me come at the most ridiculous times – I gave mine a little twinge this AM, when I took out the garbage.
    A warm bath and aspirin might help.
    I used to get back spasms so severe, they would make me naseous. Ugh.

  8. cat Says:

    when you feel that little twinge you know to be extra careful for a few days
    they make me feel fuzzy in the head, like I'm drugged
    Don't think I'd be game to get in a bath – not that we have one anyway. I find if I keep moving it's better than staying still – I stiffen up more then.

  9. Design Shark Says:

    I ache just reading this. There is truly nothing worse than knowing something like that is coming. Ack. 😦

  10. LeendaDLL Says:

    Darvocet… industrial pain killer… good stuff!

  11. Waterbaby Says:

    the early hints are painfully interesting. is this what i have to look forward to? i've had a bad back for, oh, 10 years and only recently began have those spontaneous spasm attacks. mine happen if i stand in one spot. moving verrrry slowly, i.e., bending toward the ground, walking like a 90-year-old are my only solutions. once i was talking with someone i knew on the street and my back spasmed, bringing an abrupt end to the conversation. i always worried that the person thought it was a sneaky way to end the talk.

  12. cat Says:

    oh no – it's so sudden. Like a hard clenching of muscles. I'm about to go in search of someone who may take pity on me and rub some tiger blam in for me. I did manage to read a good book though while I spent the afternoon on the lounge.

  13. cat Says:

    probably need a doctor with a prescription pad to get it then

  14. Waterbaby Says:

    I'm confused. Isn't this: And I can feel it this morning, getting ready to go a hint of things to come?

  15. cat Says:

    yes – and I'm hoping to avoid those things that may come. So even though it isn't totally screwed its still really stiff and sore. But I can still hobble around. When it gets really bad I can't move off the lounge or bed for about four days. So I figure if I rest up now in the early stages I might be able to avoid anything too bad.
    Daz just arrived home from work, he said – I bought you some medicine – and pulled out a bottle of wine. I knew I married him for some reason.

  16. Waterbaby Says:

    lol. hey, if the remedy fits, have at it!

  17. Worker Says:

    I hope it doesn't get any worse for you Cat !!

  18. cat Says:

    just kickin' in now

  19. cat Says:

    I rubbed in some tiger balm about an hour ago
    lol – do you know I cannot pick up the jar of tiger balm without thinking of you!! I have this wierd association happening between you and tiger balm.

  20. Worker Says:

    LOLOLOLIt is bloddy great stuff !!You should try phiten, they have a rub and it helps as well. But Tiger Balm is the tried and true 🙂

  21. heat, voltaren tablets, rest, physiotherapist.
    Good luck.

  22. cat Says:

    voltaren, do I need a script for that? you prefer phsio over chiro then??

  23. LeendaDLL Says:

    If you wanna be all legal & legit you do. But I originally got it from a sympathetic coworker.


Leave a Reply

