another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

meet the parents November 24, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:49 am
Tags: , ,

Lloyd applied for a university scholarship last year and he has an interview tomorrow with the company interested in him. Would be handy for him to get it because it would basically pay all his university fees for the four years of the course. With some left over. Plus you get twelve months guaranteed employment with them.

However, tonight they have an informal drinks night/meet and greet thing for everyone trying for a scholarship of any sort and the people offering them. Mind you thats after a TWO HOUR talk.

And the parents have to go as well. Shit.

I hate that. I don't know why the parents have to have anything to do with it. He's travelled around the world on his own for gods sake, he doesn't need me to hold his hand when he meets these people. And I can't stand the thought that these people might judge the kids by their parents. I know they shouldn't, and probably won't, but you can never be sure. But then I thought if we don't go then it looks like we don't care about it.

So now I have to worry about what to wear that looks suitable. And I have the most terrible hayfever on top of my cold so I have this constant watering eye and nostril and I have to walk around with a mans hanky pressed to my face.

And there will be finger food. It's impossible to talk to someone important and look good when you're eating finger food. Especially when they serve things with snow pea sprouts on it. You can never get your teeth through them and they end up half in your mouth and half hanging down your chin. So I'd better have a large lunch so I don't have to eat.

And I've told Daz to basically not talk to anyone. Except me.

Lloyd has told us to just stand somewhere in case he needs someone to talk to if he runs out of people to mingle with. Hopefully someones mother will get drunk and provide some entertainment.

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

20 Responses to “meet the parents”

  1. I am sooooo glad it is you and not me having to front up at that do, I am sure I would be a total embarrassment.I am not sure why the parents have to be there either.Good luck tonight, I will be thinking of you all. I hope Lloyd gets the scholarship it would certainly be a bonus for his working future.

  2. Catalina Says:

    Good luck on getting the scholarship!

  3. cat Says:

    lol – can you imagine what its going to be like. I'm staying well away from the drinks tray.

  4. cat Says:

    thanks – yes it would be a fantastic thing

  5. Snowy Says:

    I had visions of you being the parent that gets drunk and provides the entertainment, Cat. Good luck to Lloyd.

  6. How bizarre! So is this so they can weed out anyone who doesn't come from the 'right' family background???

  7. cat Says:

    lol – yes I had that vision myself

  8. cat Says:

    you hope not don't you – I bet there'll be some real pushy mums there

  9. Oh come on Cat where is your sense of adventure.Cat + drinks tray = Excellent entertaining material for your blog and many laughs for us.But then there is poor mortified Lloyd to think of and his prospective career.

  10. Design Shark Says:

    Ahhh…. Parental events. I am so glad I am done with that stage of life. At least, on the child side of the ropes. 🙂

  11. Waterbaby Says:

    my guess is it's just a friendly social gesture from the scholarship hosts/sponsors. wouldn't worry about it 'less you show up looking like a bum who hasn't bathed in a month.

  12. cat Says:

    Well I've been and behaved. I sat outside most of the time and watched the kids turning up for their school formal across the street. Lloyd went in and did the shmoozing himself.

  13. cat Says:

    haha yes. Kids never look really comfortable when they have their mother right by their side asking a load of questions. Better I think to send them off to ask the questions themselves.

  14. cat Says:

    I'm back – I only had a fanta – haven't had one of them for years!

  15. Were you a help or a hinderance?

  16. ROTFL – Cat only had a Fanta! Ok that will do for a funny story. Was it orange or was it the new raspberry or lime variety which really don't seem like Fanta at all.I hope Lloyd was happy with the night, that is what really counts.So it must be time for a real drink 😉

  17. cat Says:

    I think I was neutral – I just stood back and let him do what he wanted. Didn't want him to seem like a mummies boy. Thats what I think they look like standing there near their mothers. And the mothers do all the talking – lots of questions!

  18. cat Says:

    It was the original orange fanta – surely its not fanta if its not orange

  19. Steve Betz Says:

    I hope it goes/went well. My favorite part was: I've told Daz to basically not talk to anyone. Except me. Hah!!

  20. cat Says:

    And he followed instruction well.
    Interview is today so fingers crossed


Leave a Reply

