another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

storm season November 20, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 10:39 pm
Tags: , , ,

Well storm season has arrived. And it always storms at about 3pm – just when I have to go out and pick people up from school. Betty will spend the next month cowering on the lounge wondering what the hell is going on out there. We lost our roof one year in a wild hail storm. I sat with the kids in the middle room of the house and we had a tin roof at that time so the noise was incredible. Lizzie was only about three then and she entertained us throughout the storm with some wild bashing on the piano. I imagined that was what it was like on the titanic. But with better musicians. I think just about everyone in town got a new roof that year. New cars as well.

Daz missed it as usual. He's missed all the natural disasters we've had. Always out of town working.

So this was the sky yesterday. Time to stock up on candles.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

33 Responses to “storm season”

  1. Those clouds remind me of "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" or whatever that movie was called. They're coming to get Timmy!Our Novembers are a bit crazy as well. Flooding and wind storms are our big one.

  2. cat Says:

    ha – yes I did have the urge to run inside and lock the door when I saw them coming

  3. Nice contrast!!My camera just makes the sky the same shade of grey, no matter what it looks like to the naked, or even partially-clothed, eye.

  4. cat Says:

    it's turned out to be a good little camera – a cheap little pentax I can fit in my pocket

  5. Summer in Australia – don't you just love it. We in Brisbane have been hit night after night this week – I may cower with Betty shortly!

  6. cat Says:

    Poor Brisbane have been copping it this past week. And next it'll be schoolies.

  7. Wow, the storms here are just dark, no sculptural clouds like that!

  8. Karen Lynn Says:

    great pictures! i love thunderstorms!

  9. cat Says:

    They were very interesting – rolling along, taking over the blue . It's getting windy again here now, working up to our afternoon storm.

  10. cat Says:

    I don't mind them – I'm not scared of them, but I don't like being out driving in them. And I don't like how the power goes all the time either.

  11. Karen Lynn Says:

    yeah, the power goes out here too. its kind of romantic with candles and all but one night i set our comforter on fire. that was a hoot. all of a sudden the room started getting REAL bright. lol. we took it out on the deck and doused it with water, and then I patched it up. now it has a story.

  12. cat Says:

    lol – well I just don't know what people did before power – I mean you can't even really read a book by candlelight.

  13. Waterbaby Says:

    those photos remind me of the summer thunderstorms in the midwest, releasing gallons of rain, electrifying bolts of lightning and guttural thunder. so beautiful. except for the damage to homes and cars.

  14. cat Says:

    And it all happens within about 15 minutes. Then you can walk outside and look at the sky and its all blue again.
    Must say I didn't mind the roof going. We had been looking at replacing it and the cost was going to be about $5,000. Didn't see where we were going to find it then along comes the storm and insurance comes to the rescue. My 1964 black jaguar – now that was a different story. I went out after the storm and there were holes smashed straight through it. They set up the showground as a place where you took your cars to be written off and it just seemed a very undignified way for it to end for it. I was at a school assembly for one of the kids and I was sitting there crying thinking about my poor car.

  15. Waterbaby Says:

    ooooooowwwww. please pass the tissues.

  16. cat Says:

    thanks – yes, they were very impressive clouds – I was hoping to get some lightning as well, but first strike and I ran inside!

  17. liyafendi Says:

    Wow..great shots, Cat.When I first saw the pics I thought the smokes came from fire!Glad nothing bad happened to you 🙂

  18. cat Says:

    oh don't worry – there will be fires as well soon. They kick in about christmas time. Always very bad fires in NSW that time of year.

  19. Karen Lynn Says:

    sounds like california! fire season coming? yikes…

  20. Design Shark Says:

    Wow. The picture with the gray sky and purple flowers in so end of the world looking… I hope you keep your roof!

  21. I hope everyone stays safe!

  22. Fires are frightning! I'd find it hard to get used to those! So, storm season is different at opposite sides of the globe. I just met my nephew at the station and an ice storm broke loose on our way back. It felt like my skull would explode with the sudden cold and my fingers still feel like breaking off. The courageous young man left again, straight away, to make it to the first row in the concert that brought him here. Juvenile enthusiasm.There is no risk of big fires in this cold and wet climate!

  23. cat Says:

    lol – well theres definitely no risk of an ice storm happening here – I've never seen snow in my life. It only snows in one area of Australia and I stay away – can't stand being cold.

  24. cat Says:

    there was about 15 minutes of howling wind and heavy rain, a bit of hail, then that was it – blue sky again

  25. Jaffnut Says:

    Great clouds. I lived up in Darwin for a while and experienced some huge storms up there.

  26. cat Says:

    oh yeah – they'd be some great ones up there – I'd like to live in Darwin for a while, for the heat mainly.

  27. Jaffnut Says:

    I wouldn't mind another stint up there. I left in 1990 so no doubt it's changed a bit since then. Not too sure about the heat though – I'm not too keen on humidity, and the summer can be unbearable. The winters are perfect though. I remember the overnight lows being around the 15oC and we used to think that was freezing – jumpers and jackets weather LOL. Great lifestyle though if you like things laid back and slow.

  28. cat Says:

    laid back, slow and hot is how I like things

  29. Jaffnut Says:

    Well it sounds like Darwin should be on your list of 'To Do's' then 😉

  30. Caprica Says:

    Those are very angry-looking clouds–and you say this is normal summer weather where you live? We tend to get the most violent weather as the seasons are shifting. Then winter (now) it's just gawd-awful cold and icy. Summer is flipping hot and humid.
    You have my deepest sympathies on the havoc wreaked on you car.
    Hoping you get nothing as crazy as that this year!

  31. cat Says:

    It's only like this through December – thats storm season. Then it'll just be hot.


Leave a Reply

