another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

walkabout town November 17, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 1:00 am
Tags: , ,

So we've been out and about a bit lately.

This is where we sit, out the front of the pub to have a drink. You can watch whats going on, say hello to people walking by. The sign on the pole says that its an alcohol free zone. So you can't take a few steps and drink over there, you have to stay off the footpath.

 

Pub

 

And we had some salt and pepper squid while we sat there. That bit of tomato was just about perfect. Slow roasted, a bit of balsamic and some parmeson on top.

 

 

And we saw some clowns

 

 

And we saw Marilyn. She's been working out.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

23 Responses to “walkabout town”

  1. Karen Lynn Says:

    great shots, wow what a day, Marilyn and clowns! :))

  2. cat Says:

    yes, don't believe them when they say nothing ever happens in small country towns

  3. What an interesting town you live in, Cat. the spot at the pub looks good!

  4. Worker Says:

    Marilyn does seem to have bulked up a bit 🙂

  5. cat Says:

    I think it was all the beer

  6. cat Says:

    very good for having a sticky beak because its on the main street

  7. Jaffnut Says:

    It looks like you've got some colourful characters in your town

  8. Steve Betz Says:

    I love a nice venue to sit, relax, have a drink and watch the world go by. Marilyn's looked better!

  9. Waterbaby Says:

    lol. marilyn is lookin' a lil' worse for wear. and perhaps should consider a name change to marco.

  10. cat Says:

    I think she's had a long day

  11. cat Says:

    It's an old pub and they're renovating it at the moment – starting to look good on the inside. Good as well because it's only about 80 metres away from our house.

  12. Waterbaby Says:

    i dunno. s/he looks pretty chipper with that cell phone (?) and bucket of beer. whoops, did i say that out loud? i meant bucket of … sand.

  13. cat Says:

    thats a can of beer she has – in a stubby holder, do you have stubbies? We call a 375ml bottle of beer a stubby. I don't know whats in the bucket though.

  14. Design Shark Says:

    Niiiice. That squid looks good. Too bad I'm allergic to shellfish. It would probably kill me, as it has most likely touched some sort of shellfish-y thing. 😦 I need a cure!

  15. cat Says:

    It was nice – I'm not a huge seafood fan but anything tastes good once you crumb it and deepfry it

  16. Design Shark Says:

    Like oreos. Are those popular there? We deep fry EVERYTHING in the US. Especially Twinkies, Oreos, and Chicken. 🙂

  17. cat Says:

    You deep fry biscuits!! I don't think oreos are very popular here – I've seen them but I've never bought them. Why buy oreos when you can have tim tams? Have you tried a tim tam? I hear Hugh Jackman gave packets away on Oprah and now Target are having them on sale for a limited time. You need to get yourself down there and try one. I'm sure you could deep fry it.

  18. Waterbaby Says:

    oh, i see it! no stubbies here that i know of.

  19. Design Shark Says:

    You should look into oreos. They are wonderful. I will have to look into 'tim tams' as I have never heard of them, though it they are at Target – I'd be the one to know, as I live in that store. It's so wonderful.

  20. Design Shark Says:

    So. I went to Target again. And I found the Tim Tams. I got the caramel variety, and I will tell you that they are okay. No double stuffed oreo, and surprisingly pricey, BUT I bet they'd be kick ass in a shell of ice cream deep fried. 🙂

  21. cat Says:

    I just like the plain ones. I read a comparison yesterday between the american brand and the australian ones and they said the australian ones were a touch nicer – you need to keep an eye out for the original Arnotts brand.


Leave a Reply

