another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

betty’s bone November 15, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 10:37 pm
Tags: ,

Betty's bone begins life here – well obviously it begins on the cow but I don't have to worry about that part. Because killing and cutting up a cow is a big job.

 

 

Then it moves to the next stage

 

 

Until it becomes this

 

 

This morning she has also enjoyed a roo liver burger (kangaroo). She had a porky snout last week.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

24 Responses to “betty’s bone”

  1. Karen Lynn Says:

    that box full of pig noses is um. freaky. have you ever given her bippers?

  2. cat Says:

    yes, I was thinking it would be a pretty awful job, cutting off pig snouts. Whats a bipper??

  3. Karen Lynn Says:

    Whats a bipper??freeze dried weiners.

  4. cat Says:

    lol – I've never seen one of them, but I'm sure she'd love it

  5. Karen Lynn Says:

    they really don't resemble what the "live" ones would look like, they look like rawhide rounds in all different lengths and widths. my dogs love them, but don't get them too often. i just can't stand them chewing on penis's

  6. Emjay Says:

    LOL! That seems sort of gross!!

  7. Design Shark Says:

    'Blippers' are also called "Bully sticks" in the US. They're damn pricey, too. Guess that's what happens when you can only get one from each animal, haha.

  8. cat Says:

    wouldn't they be full of salt and preservatives anyway?
    These big raw bones are good, keep her teeth clean and we get them free from the butcher. lol – wouldn't be letting them in the house though!!

  9. Snowy Says:

    I'm glad I'm not a dog.

  10. cat Says:

    I'm presuming because you don't want to eat blippers or bully sticks – a roo liver burger sounds delicious when compared to that.

  11. Karen Lynn Says:

    I know! right? ewww. it is just not right. haha but what else are they going to do with them? at least they go to good use. i'd just rather not have bull penis on my carpet. lololol

  12. Waterbaby Says:

    i hafta say, those look really tasty. perhaps i just need more meat in my diet. with those jaws, bet that betsy could pick a bone clean as well as any caveman.

  13. cat Says:

    all you need is a bread roll and some sauce

  14. Waterbaby Says:

    lol. i'm thinkin' banana leaf, in keeping with the rustic theme.

  15. Waterbaby Says:

    these comments are hilarious!

  16. cat Says:

    I had no idea blippers existed – well, not in a freeze dried form anyway

  17. Jaffnut Says:

    From the photo I'm guessing Betty is a Staffie. I love Staffies and intend to get one one day and am leaning towards the brindle one too. More photos please!

  18. cat Says:

    yes, she's a staffy. She'll be 9 soon – noticed today she's getting grey around the muzzle and she has arthritis in her legs, but she's a good little dog.

  19. Hm, "good little dog" wasn't the first thought that came to my mind, when I saw Betty's photo. Sorry, Betty! Definitely wouldn't want to fight with her over food. Just to mention another delicacy: Cow's heart. I like it. It's very cheap meat and something to chew on. Most of my friends (apart the one, who introduced me to it) are disgusted and say, its strictly dog's food. But its yummy to me, cooked in cherry juice with cinnamon.

  20. cat Says:

    They're a good little friendly breed of dog the staffy. They don't like other dogs but they love people. They just look a bit scary. I don't eat meat any more but I grew up on a sheep farm and I remember when we killed a sheep not much was wasted. We'd all stand there with bowls to collect the heart, liver, brains etc. Sounds interesting cooked in cherry juice.

  21. Ah, another good example for not judging a dog by his appearance!Growing up on a dairy farm it was the same at my home; once an animal was killed you tried to make use of everything. Even the horns and claws were shredded to fertilize the rose bushes. I've been a vegetarian for 18 years, too ( became a carnivore again in my mid 30th). Back then, I was an odity in that rural setting. All cousins and aunts predicted, I'd never find a husband, if I couldn't fry him a steak. They proved correct. ;P

  22. My husband calls those bones 'dinosaur bones'. We get them cut into quarters for our (small) dog. She also really likes raw chicken wings.

  23. cat Says:

    They love getting that marrow out of the centre don't they. When we had a cat he used to get the chicken wings. He'd always leave a tiny bit at the end – every time.


Leave a Reply

