another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

breakfast November 9, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 11:50 pm
Tags: , , , ,

By 10.30am yesterday I'd driven for two hours, been to the farmers markets and eaten two thai spring rolls, tested three types of camembert on crackers, had a handful of hot nuts, then finished up with a whiting fish sausage. The spring rolls were delicious and the fish sausages were fantastic. I'm having one for lunch on my roll.

We also bought a juicy pineapple

 

 

And some strawberries picked that morning

 

 

which became my breakfast this morning

 

 

I don't usually eat breakfast but I'm trying to eat in a more healthy way. I know it doesn't sound like I'm trying very hard after reading that first paragraph. But thats because I only started today.

Usually I get out of bed and have a coffee. Then I do some things and have breakfast at about 10.30. But you always read how breakfast is so important, so this morning I had my fruit and a dab of yoghurt. No cofee. That was at about 7.30.

Lunch seemed a long long time away. Still does.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

21 Responses to “breakfast”

  1. Worker Says:

    Can I come for breaky, that looks great !!

  2. cat Says:

    sure, there's plenty left – I added some banana as well, just to keep me going till lunch time.

  3. Dancing Bear Says:

    I never had whiting sausage. I love camembert cheese. I have a year round Farmer's Market a block from my house and we eat all fresh veg and fruit. Half the fun is getting it and eating at the market. We have Amish people that make baked goods. I lovw ripe pinapple. Fruit is my weakness.

  4. cat Says:

    you're lucky having it so close – this one is on twice a month but we have to travel a way to get to it.
    The sausages are really nice – he also had rissoles. I don't eat red meat so it's always nice to find something new like that.

  5. Oh god, I can't live without morning coffee. I've tried and it doesn't turn out well. Good luck!

  6. cat Says:

    Well I figure that I have the coffee and that fills me up so then I'm not hungry for breakfast, but I had one later, for morning tea.

  7. liyafendi Says:

    What a healthy meal for breakfast. Breakfast is my favorite meal. I usually have a cup of coffee and other meals with carbohidrate like cornflakes or breads. I know I should avoid coffee because I'm breastfeeding my baby but I just can't live without having coffee for my breakfast!

  8. Waterbaby Says:

    i'm so not having breakfast with you; you've picked my two least favorite fruits. not to mention the yogurt. blech! call me when you're serving rice with raw egg and seaweed. we'll do lunch.

  9. cat Says:

    lol – I'm not a huge fruit fan either, much rather veggies. And I'm forcing myself to eat yoghurt because I have a fear of brittle bones and I don't have any dairy at all. I do love eggs though – but soft poached, not raw.

  10. cat Says:

    I've never been a breakfast fan – I don't eat bread much at all and I don't drink milk so no cereal for me. I like eggs or something left over from dinner. I cup of coffee a day for you would be ok wouldn't it?

  11. Waterbaby Says:

    have you ever had it mixed in a bowl of white rice? it is out of this world! just make sure to use the short grain sticky rice. long grain non-sticky, not the same flavor or consistency; it will not hold the liquidy egg white and yolk. have you considered calcium supplements?

  12. cat Says:

    Are you putting it into hot rice? I just don't know, it's the gloobiness of the uncooked egg white that bothers me. I have calcium tablets. They sit on the bench where I forget to take them every day until they go past the use by date and then I replace them with a new bottle.

  13. Waterbaby Says:

    put some rice into a bowl. break egg into it. mix with chopsticks. eat. better still is taking a strip of dried seaweed (nori). laying it on the rice. using the chopsticks, pick up a bite of eggy rice with the seaweed as a kind of "cover." you'll think you died and went to heaven. or not. calcium supplements really are the best way to go IF you remember to take 'em. they're best absorbed when coupled with magnesium, btw, so if you have the option of calcium-magnesium supplements, go for those.

  14. Karen Lynn Says:

    I am insanely jealous that you are in "fresh strawberry" season. pffft.

  15. my mouth waters looking at your breakfast! SOOOO yummy!

  16. cat Says:

    it's a real summer breakfast

  17. cat Says:

    and mangos – I only like the summer fruit – cherries, nectarines and mangos

  18. Caprica Says:

    At first I was aghast that you'd given up coffee so easily. Then I read on and saw that you simply deferred it–now that sounds better.
    Lucky you in the season for farmer's markets. Ours are all shuttered for the winter.

  19. cat Says:

    I never drank coffee at all until I made friends with people who did and then I started having a cup here and there. A social coffee drinker I am. Our markets here go year round – just that it's so far to get to them. They are near the beach though so in summer we can tie them together.

  20. Karen Lynn Says:

    me too gf, I bet I eat 50 pounds of cherries during season! haha

  21. liyafendi Says:

    I read from the net that it's ok 1 cup a day for a pregnant and bf mom, but it's better to avoid. Nevertheless I can't.


Leave a Reply

