another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

home alone November 2, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 10:16 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Lizzie and I are home alone tonight. She said

Imagine if Daz died, this is what it'd be like, just you and me.

Hmm, I say. Does he have to die? Couldn't he just have left or something.

oh she says, would you have to get a second job to support us?

hmm, I say. Probably,  (thinking of his large life insurance policy.) Ok, he can be dead.

He's not here because he's staying at Kimbas for the night. He has to be at the airport to pick Lloyd up at 6.30am so this way he's already half way there.

You know all this time Lloyd has been away, I haven't worried about him. Even though he's been roaming around the world on his own I haven't worried at all. I think because it's all been so far out of my control that I just put it out of my mind. But now he's getting closer, I'm worrying. The last couple of days I've been thinking, c'mon, you've made it this far, just a couple of more days. I find myself checking the airline website just to make sure the status of the flight hasn't changed from in flight to emergency landing.

It will just be best if I go to bed. And check again as soon as I wake up. At about 3am.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

17 Responses to “home alone”

  1. Snowy Says:

    I find myself checking the airline website just to make sure the status of the flight hasn't changed from in flight to emergency landing.<Grin>. Been there. Done that. We parents never do grow up, do we.

  2. cat Says:

    lol – yes, because it's really going to make me feel better if I do see its changed to that status. You'll also realise then that I won't get any sleep tonight.

  3. Snowy Says:

    Course you will. JW sleeping aid works well.

  4. Emjay Says:

    It is always the "home stretch" we worry most about. When the kids have been to visit I don't worry too much about the Sydney to LA portion but I really start to stress when they get on the LA-DC flight. I hope his bag makes it – did he tell you they had to sew and tape it? Perhaps he bought a new one in LA>

  5. I know what you are feeling – once you know they are homeward bound you just want them there! Hope he brought you a pressie!

  6. lauowolf Says:

    Kids, what a comfort.

  7. poptart Says:

    I remember when I was your daughters age, I always had a plan just in case my parents suddenly died. Odd to think like that.

  8. cat Says:

    lol – you're talking about someone who caught the subway in DC with no idea where he was going to save money – of course he didn't buy a new bag. He told me it was tied in a big plastic bag. I Should take it back.

  9. cat Says:

    she didn't seem very concerned though
    I worried for years about what they'd do if something happened to both of us. Now its good that they can just look after themselves.

  10. cat Says:

    here I am up at 6.30, checking the flight status – they just landed, that seemed to take a long time. Australia is so damn far away from everywhere. He sent me a present from Spain.

  11. Emjay Says:

    LOL the bag! Poor Claire was sewing it with a needle and thread! You ARE up early!!!!

  12. Emjay Says:

    LOL …. he sent your "Spanish" present from DC. Must have been easier to find a post office here. Hope you are cooking from it!

  13. cat Says:

    oh yes, I meant it was spanish. I'm up early checking the flight status – just landed. I wonder if customs will bother looking through the bag.

  14. Raymond Says:

    I like it when your hard as rock arm wrestling exterior shatters to reveal a sensitive caring lady inside. I think they call it being strong enough to be sensitive…:-)

  15. cat Says:

    lolol – I'm a marshmallow. I'm also very tired – had no sleep with all the pointless worrying I did. I also had a dream where someone in an elevator (with a very flimsy door) was trying to pour acid in my eyes.

  16. Snowy Says:

    He'll probably take one look at the redeyed gibbering wreck of a woman who is masquerading as his mother, and promptly take off again. After he's had his nachos of course…

  17. cat Says:

    lol – I'll be asleep by the time he gets here – exhausted from all that worrying. First thing he asked me when he rang this morning was did we have any soy milk and nutri grain – apparently he's only had one bowl of cereal since he left and he had to have it with cows milk. gasp. He's getting his nachos and a chocolate pudding.


Leave a Reply

