another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

rollin’ with the oldies October 29, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 11:45 pm
Tags: , ,

I was in charge of the activity room at the oldies home last time I went. When I arrived Glenda said – we're having a staff meeting today so you can do some activities with the residents.

okay then, am I allowed to do that?

So I went up there and told them I'd be bossing them around all afternoon and what did they want to do.

Darts was the first suggestion.

Ok, so how does that work? Well, apparently I walk around holding a dart board, stand in front of them, and they peg magnetic darts at me. Yeah right I said, don't you know I could lose an eye doing that sort of thing??

What else?

Hoi it was. In hoi I sit with a deck of cards and they all have six cards and I yell out a card and if they have it they turn it over. First one with all their cards over wins. Then they can have a lolly from the jar. The first winner said – one lolly, or can I have two? Oh, have two I said, why not. Oh, hang on, none of you are diabetics are you? I don't want to kill anyone. They have an unlimited willingness to play hoi. I could hardly talk at the end of the day.

So after a couple of hours they all got excited and started tapping my arm and pointing behind me and when I looked around Hazel was up and about to go for a walk. What I said? Isn't she allowed to walk around on her own. No, no they all say. Ring the buzzer, ring the buzzer. Hazel wears an alarm buzzer around her neck. Am I allowed to do that I say, will I get in trouble. NO, push it they say.

well ok. No one exactly raced in immediately, but about ten minutes later this large nurse, who looked as if she'd had quite a tiring day, walked in and said – Who pushed the alarm? And I pointed over my shoulder and said – she did.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

10 Responses to “rollin’ with the oldies”

  1. LeendaDLL Says:

    LOL. You really make me want to volunteer with you.I've heard that Wii is super popular in Sr homes – fun sports with little exertion. I should donate one.

  2. MexicanRobot Says:

    LoL… I've always wanted to make a fashion show in an oldies house.

  3. cat Says:

    well we haven't got a Wii – they do have a computer that a few of them like getting on. I imagine the next generations of people in nursing homes are going to be quite different than this group I hang out with.

  4. cat Says:

    a fashion show – I'll keep that in mind – they like to have dress up parties so they'd probably love it

  5. Waterbaby Says:

    bet she's got a flask secreted beneath that bright vest

  6. cat Says:

    she's very cool

  7. Waterbaby Says:

    switch the cigar (not a fan) for a hand-rolled and i'm one pair of hot pink pants away from being this woman.

  8. cat Says:

    well you should be rockin' at the art show

  9. I can see you leading them all over the fence next! If I am jobless after Christmas I am going to volunteer at and oldies home too …I like oldies, they are wicked!

  10. cat Says:

    Oh you would love it – it's such a laugh. I always look forward to going. They are like a bunch of naughty little girls. Next year I'm going to squeeze in TAFE and do the aged care certificate – but I want to then do the extra bit so you can be the activities officer.


Leave a Reply

