another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

the man who wasn’t there October 23, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 10:45 pm
Tags: , , ,

My imagination has no boundaries. It just likes to run free. And thats how I came to be standing in the hallway at 3am last night watching the manhole. To make sure that the homeless cripple who lives in my roof didn't jump down into the house.

Of course I don't really have a homeless cripple living in my roof. Well, at least I hope I don't. Because I would have crapped myself if he really did jump out of the manhole.

See it started as a rat. Probably still is. I lay in bed and listened to this rat scratching around in the roof. A big galloping rat who likes to keep busy through the night. Then I thought it seemed to big and heavy for a rat and maybe it was a possum or even a cat.

And thats when my imagination took over the show. It told convinced me that it was actually a homeless crippled man up there. With long grey hair and a beard wearing a long black coat. He has long broken nails and he walks about like a monkey on his hands and feet. (He has to walk like that for the scratching effect to work). And it convinced me that the reason there was so much noise going on up there was because he plays bowls with all the severed heads he collects during the day.

So then it all went quiet and thats when I freaked out. And I got out of bed and went and stood in the hallway and watched the manhole for a couple of minutes, until I realised I was not really being sensible.

I need to buy some rat traps.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

19 Responses to “the man who wasn’t there”

  1. lauowolf Says:

    Our back apartment has a feisty pair of Raccoon Brothers who go up for a scuffle on moonlit nights.

  2. cat Says:

    lol
    we don't have raccoons – they're one of the few pests that the bloody brittish didn't bring over here and release

  3. lauowolf Says:

    Apparently they are US.But they have then in Germany because some Nazi guy thought they were cute, and imported them.

  4. Emjay Says:

    LOL …. bowling heads! There are some strange noises coming from our neighbour's house – we just turned the telly up louder!

  5. Candy Sparks Says:

    are you sure you didn't freak yourself out even more… i would have if i just stared and listened in the night… i've done the same thing…

    candy

  6. cat Says:

    well I knew I wouldn't be able to sleep unless I went and had a look, I'd think he was creeping up on me otherwise

  7. cat Says:

    oh, denial, well that works for me with most other things, but not with creepy people in the house. It was a book I read and an episode of CSI I watched years ago where the murderers were in the roof. Never been able to get it out of my mind.

  8. Waterbaby Says:

    One word: d-Con. Everybody has *one* terror animal … the animal that if you were captured in war and the other side wanted to make you talk, all they'd have to do is show you a picture and you'd spill your guts. The r_t is mine. And I once lived in an apartment where I had r_ts in ceiling space and d-Con did the trick and quickly and off they went to die. Did I feel an iota of regret? ***No I did not.*** You'll get a chuckle over this: I'm having the very same problem now you're having. Only I can't blog about it. Because I can't bring myself to mention those most hideous disgusting creatures of all creation r_ts on my blog.

  9. cat Says:

    I didn't want to put rat poison up there in case it was a possum or a cat. When I was about 5 we had rats living in the ceiling and I'd lie awake at night and listen to them scratching away and I always thought one night they'd scratch right through. I don't have a rat fear though, just don't want one to fall on my face one night.

  10. Waterbaby Says:

    My capacity for seeing the word r__ within a given month is exceeded So best of luck. Can we now change the subject to snakes, spiders, mass murderers?

  11. cat Says:

    oh yes, mass murderers definitely. I can imagine up plenty of them.

  12. my mother used to always say I couldn't eat chocolate before bed or I would see pink elephants…I suggest you lay off the chocolate, Cat.

  13. cat Says:

    lol – well pink elephants sound kind of nice actually

  14. Hahaha! I do the SAME things! I can go from mild threat to apocalyptic threat in like three leaps! Ha!

  15. lauowolf Says:

    You need to take up that little sign out front sayingMass Murderer RallyRooftop – TonightReally, what were you thinking?

  16. cat Says:

    and when my kids were small I was terrible. Every time I took them somewhere like McDonalds I was convinced a cray gunman was going to show up

  17. Waterbaby Says:

    not imagine them. just talk on 'em. any subject is better than r–s.

  18. wow, that is pretty bad. I just have that sense of dread, like we will get in a car accident


Leave a Reply

