another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

the oldies October 21, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 11:40 pm
Tags: , ,

Last time I was at my parents house I found this photo of them which is pretty cool. They are the couple on the left looking dapper and very very young. The guy at the front with the cigarette holder is called Charles and I have to say he looks very much like our Australian version of Kel in Cath and Kim. His wife has a very nice little bag on the table there.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

16 Responses to “the oldies”

  1. LeendaDLL Says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this picture! It's something I'd consider buying off ebay (I love old party photos)the US version of Kath & Kim is totally boring. I need to find the UK version.

  2. cat Says:

    what do you do with the photos? Australian version you mean, you need the australian verison. I haven't watched the US one.

  3. OptamissTIK Says:

    This is a great picture. That guy is soooooo Kel Knight!!Your parent's look like quite the fashionistas!I've watched the US version of Kath & Kim, and its a bit like someone telling a joke they've overheard and messing up the punchline… LeendaDLL, you'll like the Australian version…

  4. LeendaDLL Says:

    I though the US one was based on the UK one. So is there no UK one, or both UK and AU?? This is so confusing. And don't bother with the US one – it's only 2 or 3 episodes in, I'm hoping it gets a LOT better.I've only purchased a few photos. Most are waiting for me to turn my dining room into a bar (which I've been saying for 4+ years), where they will be framed and put on the wall. 3 smaller ones are already in frames in that room. I just love old B/W party photos – but it has to be where everyone is dressed up & drinking (preferably champagne).

  5. cat Says:

    There is no UK one. The australian one is good but its very australian and I guess they thought americans wouldn't get a lot of it. You should keep an eye out for it though, will give you a laugh.
    if you want a copy of the photo just pm me your email address and I'll send it to you

  6. cat Says:

    lol – scary how Kel he is, I just can't imagine Cath or Kim being anyone else but Jane and Gina and the US one doesn't even have Sharon!!

  7. OptamissTIK Says:

    I know (no Shazza), Sharon MAKES it! How would they do the river dance episode without her???

  8. cat Says:

    lolol – now that was a classic

  9. LeendaDLL Says:

    really, the US one is BOOOOOORRRRRIIIIINNNG. You can see/feel what they're going for – but it's a total miss.I looked for the AU version on netflix but it's not available. Will have to look for it online (from home, cause everything at the office is blocked).

  10. Emjay Says:

    Charles's wife was called Kay wasn't she? I have a photo of myself around 16 and I look just like mum – without all the glamour though. Nice photo of them.

  11. cat Says:

    well everyone seemed to look like a movie star then – Kay looks like a little pixie

  12. Wow that is defintely Kel with fashion sense.What a glamorous photo. I love it.I am afraid the US has a habit of stuffing up AU and UK sitcoms. I loved the UK version of Coupling and then the US bought the rights to it and I watched a couple of eps which was the exact same script but in a US setting and US actors and I could not bare to watch it. I don't think I could stand to see the US stuff up Kath and Kim, sorry to those of you from the US, but UK and AU humour is so different to US humour. They should just show the original version on a pay TV network.

  13. cat Says:

    I loved couplings as well – didn't realise they had done a US version of that

  14. They did, it was here late at night on one of our free to air stations – it didn't last long.So I take it the US version of K&K is on TV here is Oz? When and where?This review just came into my inbox, not sure if I should show it here or not. Please remember I am just the messenger.What did you think of Kath and Kim USA

  15. cat Says:

    I'll go have a look at the review but I heard on the news it did not go down well. It's on here on Sunday nights (I think). 7 maybe??

  16. Thanks I will have to have a look for myself and see if it is on down here.


Leave a Reply

