another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

sorry we missed you – NOT October 20, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 11:49 pm
Tags: ,

I just found in my mailbox one of those little cards from australia post. The ones that say – sorry we missed you, but we tried to deliver a parcel, but you weren't in, so now you can wait until 3pm and drive to the post office, stand in line for about half an hour and get the bloody thing yourself.

He's not sorry he missed me. In fact I don't think he even tried to see me. I think he drove as close as he could to the mail box and put the card in there without even getting out of the car. I don't think he came anywhere near my doorbell. And I don't think it's the first time he's done it.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

27 Responses to “sorry we missed you – NOT”

  1. I had the same experience. I was waiting on a delivey and when days went by I was told the Post Office had tried to delivery, but NO BLUE CARD was left – no notification at all.
    And they put up postage just before announcing their huge profits!!!!!

  2. LeendaDLL Says:

    i caught one of my postal carriers doing that too!

  3. cat Says:

    I've had it happen a couple of times now. And I've been here all morning, and I checked the doorbell obsessively this morning as I've been hanging out for this book to arrive. Bit rude when they don't even leave a card! Lucky they didn't send it back to the sender.

  4. cat Says:

    lol – caught in the act – did you give him a serve?

  5. Emjay Says:

    LOL – well at least they look after your parcels. Here they leave them on my doorstep where they get stolen!!!! Someone in my neighbourhood has my pillows, someone else (or maybe the same person) has my weather station!

  6. cat Says:

    hahaha – a weather station!
    I have one delivery guy who comes in the door and leaves parecels in the hallway

  7. Grrr. I have had this one too (as well as every other kind of annoyance from Australia Post). Fortunately we now have a really great parcel delivery guy in our area. He will even put things inside the door if it is open. Saves having to get off work early and deal with Ernie and Bert at our local Australia Post outlet.

  8. Passive aggressive, if you ask me. 😉

  9. cat Says:

    we seem to have a few parcel delivery contractors around here – some better than others, one girl comes to the door with my parcel, a cigarette and texting on her mobile – she doesn't even look up at me when she hands me the parcel. BUT at least she comes to the bloody door.

  10. cat Says:

    lol – lazy bastard if you ask me

  11. M-----l Says:

    While we're talking about the postal service, I would like to officially complain that I never get any mail on rainy days. I just get skipped over until the weather's better.

  12. cat Says:

    lol – no way, surely they can't do that!

  13. Yes I have the same problems with AP and couriers as well. I could tell you an insane story about a Telstra mobile phone delivery but I won't be a blog hog 😉

  14. cat Says:

    haha – oh go on

  15. Well I will tomorrow. Only just received an email you had replied. Stupid Dodo email account, it has emails from 5 hours ago still sitting in the inbox at the server. Oh it downloaded one email all afternoon 15 times! I had to go and physically remove that email and then wow look at that! In come all of the other emails that had been banked up! Oh yeah this post is about Aussie Post not internet companies sorry ;-)Oh the mobile phone saga may continue yet, now my son's phone is not working! I need to go to bed, I am sounding like a raving lunatic.Don't anybody say a word 😉

  16. poptart Says:

    I think that is the universal creed of postal workers. To do as little as possible for you, to actually make it more difficult for you. Yes indeed…

  17. So, they are the same everywhere?!I live on the fourth floor (you can see that on the bell plate) – with no elevator. Plenty of times I was at home the day they came to deliver a parcel and found one of those cards in my letter box. They must have rung another neighbour straight away to have him open the door in order to get to the letter boxes.Those guys are driving me nuts.

  18. An Ex-Expat Says:

    The same (sigh) here too. Wasn't like that long ago.

  19. cat Says:

    so its a worldwide conspiracy by postal delivery people

  20. cat Says:

    lol – well I can't say I'm suprised. They'd never walk up stairs. In fact its probably written somwhere that they're not allowed to. In their bad back policy or something.

  21. cat Says:

    It must be the policy – at least I don't have to go too far to pick up the parcel – if you were in the city it could be a real pain

  22. cat Says:

    well said lavender

  23. cat Says:

    lol – haven't you been having email/internet problems for years as well as postal ones?

  24. An Ex-Expat Says:

    Actually the Japanese Postal Service is pretty sharp.

  25. Well yes I have, it is never ending.Here is my story with Telstra/Aussie Post/ Courier. I am sorry it will be long, because it was a long drawn out process (2 weeks).It was time to change CDMA mobiles to Next G network.So I phoned Telstra and ordered one phone for me and one phone for 15 yo Ben and had it so that the phone numbers would change over too.When it was time to discuss delivery I was asked for an address to send them to. We live 5kms out of town, we have a road side mailbox one km up from our house (it is open so anyone can take stuff) and we have a PO Box at the Post Office. So I asked would it be okay to have them sent to the PO Box and the nice man said yes that would not be a problem and I could expect them in two days.So two days came around and there was one package with one phone. Where was the 2nd phone? Plus it has to be Ben's phone which didn't come and I had him on my back, "Where is my phone, why hasn't it come?"I let a day go by and still no 2nd phone. So I phoned up Telstra and asked where is the 2nd phone and was told that it was sent and I should get it the next day.Still no phone, so I rang up again and the man tried to tell me it can take up to 10 days to be delivered. Well I was not taking any more of this crap and I said, "No it does not take up to 10 days it takes 48 hours, I know it takes 48 hours because I was told that is how long it takes and because one phone has already turned up after 48 hours and I have been told he has been sent!"So I was transfered to another department and put on hold forever. Then a new person came on the line and told me that the order for the 2nd phone had been cancelled. What!!!! Who cancelled it and why? I did not cancel the order.I was then told, "It was cancelled at the security section because we don't deliver to PO Box at post offices."To which I replied, "Well actually you do deliever to PO Boxes because the phone I ordered at the same time as the one that was cancelled was delivered to a PO Box"Then I was told, "Well the one you received must have slipped through our security"I also asked the question, "So when exactly was someone going to let me know that the order had been cancelled?"Apparently I should have been told.So I said would it be okay if I order another phone and yes it would be ok but I would have to be sent to another department. Sixty minutes later after being redirected twice (I won't tell you the dramas with that) I was able to succesfully order a replacement phone. Then it came time to discuss delivery.I asked when would it be delivered by courier and was told it would be 48 hrs so it would be there on Wednesday, that was good as I would be home all day Wednesday. I then asked, "Now are you sure the courier will drive the 5kms out of town to deliver it?" Yes I was told of course he will (I am thinking yeah sure, I have been down this track before).So Wednesday came and as you know when you are expecting something you pay attention so as not to miss it. No delivery. I phoned Telstra again and was told I needed to phone the courier company – What! Fine give me the courier details. So I checked their website with a tracking number and it said that the item had been delivered. So I phoned them up and was asked have you got a tracking number and I said I have this number and was told no that is not the number we need.Right – phone Telstra again and get them to sort this out, which they should have done in the first place. Yes I was told the phone had been delivered. Can you tell me where the phone has been delivered to becasue it is not here?It was delivered to the Post Office you can collect it there tomorrow!!!!!Why was I not surprised.Now Ben's phone is not wroking and I will have to sort that problem out – I can't wait.

  26. cat Says:

    lolol – omg, thats terrible. What a bunch of clowns they are.


Leave a Reply

