another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

go hard or go home October 17, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 9:38 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

When I woke up and stood up, every muscle in my body screamed

WHAT THE HELL HAVE YOU DONE TO US

And as I took a few steps towards the kitchen it was followed by

YOU ARE GOING TO PAY FOR THIS

See years ago I did a womens self defence course and that lead to me taking up kickboxing, and that lead to the instructor writing me out a weights programme. And I managed to beat myself into pretty good shape. But then about two years ago I developed a shoulder injury and had to give up the weights. And although for the past twelve months I've been doing the running, the biking, the pilates, billy blanks dvds, yadayadayada, nothing really makes me feel as fit as when I haul weights.

Because I like being strong. I like the way my posture feels so much better and nothing jiggles around. And I want to remain strong as I age. I don't want to have a dowagers hump and walk around all hunched over as if I'm searching for coins on the ground. I don't want to be falling and snapping bones because they're so brittle and weak, and I definitely don't want my triceps waving good bye to someone when my hand does.

And I want to beat my husband in an arm wrestle. I know, it's terribly romantic, but before the shoulder injury we used to do a fair bit of Saturday night arm wrestling. And although I hadn't beaten him yet, I could tell he was scared. Man, when he's about eighty I'm going to kick his arse.

So on Monday morning I pulled out the weights programme and hit it hard.

And thats why this morning, you would only need to tap me anywhere with the point of your little finger and I'd fall in a screaming heap on the floor.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

22 Responses to “go hard or go home”

  1. Worker Says:

    Cat,It is a great hurt though don't you think, you know the fix for the ache is to do more :)Kick some Husband butt I say 🙂

  2. cat Says:

    well yes, sort of. I always think its a good hurt because it means the muscles are growing away and you feel like you've done good. But on the other hand, sitting down without having to grip the chair first, then do a lower, hover and drop technique would be good.

  3. Worker Says:

    heheheWhen I first started back doing weights I couldn't lower myself to use the toilet..I know TMI but it still makes me laugh now when I think of it.

  4. LeendaDLL Says:

    __________________ )(that's me pointing my finger at you)

  5. cat Says:

    lol – lucky you told me – why are you pointing your finger at me anyway?

  6. LeendaDLL Says:

    I misread, thought I only had to point at you to make you scream. I was bored and making someone scream sounded exciting.

  7. cat Says:

    oh, haha, sorry I was being a thickhead

  8. Ninja Says:

    I did martial arts for decades but it caught up with me about 9 years ago. Two back ops and a lot of soul searching later, it's dawned on me that I'm very mortal. But it also made me realise that as the body ages, it's enough to keep moving and less is more. Walking or cycling is a good way to keep the heart and limbs working well. All that running, pounding, jiggling, jumping and physical stress do take a toll in the end.
    The worse thing anyone can do to themselves is to couch potato themselves into retirement. When the brain no longer cares, that's goodnight Alice.

  9. cat Says:

    I think I'll give running the miss from now on – makes my back and hip ache too much,
    There a lady – Marjery – at the hostel I visit, she's 96 and has reached an age where she considers making the bed an exercise. Good for her arms she tells me. She also does two laps of the hostel in the morning and two at night, to keep the heart pumping.

  10. Waterbaby Says:

    i'm a total weightlifting fan myself, which is why i can say this: *start light!*

  11. cat Says:

    nah – never have

  12. Waterbaby Says:

    ah. thus the screaming heap on the floor.

  13. but can you beat your husband in an arm wrestle yet?

  14. cat Says:

    Not yet – but I'm determined and I'm sure it'll happen. When he's 90, he better watch his back.

  15. "……and I definitely don't want my triceps waving good bye to someone when my hand does."
    LOL!!!
    Oh, dear. Too late for me.
    I used to be a gym instructor (aka, today: fitness coach) I had the eight-pack tummy, the perky boobs, the tight calfs. Don't stop what you're doing!!!! I had more than a few sedentary years with little to no activity. Bleah.
    Today, I'm a blubbery, blobby, skin-hanging old lady.

    Keep on, Girlie.

  16. Steve Betz Says:

    Good for you!! In the diet and exercise battle, I always find it easier to get in the habit of eating well more than exercising regularly. Maybe I'll get out for a run today!

  17. cat Says:

    I always view exercise as another job that has to be done. I do it the same time evrey day so it just becomes a habit. Otherwise I can think up all kinds of reasons why I can't do it that day.

  18. cat Says:

    haha – I'm having an interesting visual of you now.

  19. Shield your eyes, Hon. It ain't pretty.

  20. Christine Says:

    I feel your pain! Weights do the same thing to me if I hit them too hard. I exercise daily, but I enjoy the cardio way more than the weights. The weights are the exercise equivalent of eating my vegetables – I'll do it, but I don't like it!

  21. cat Says:

    lol – I'm opposite. I hate the cardio – time seems to pass so slowly.


Leave a Reply

