another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

the sewing kit October 14, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:59 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Lizzie wears blue shirts to school.

Next year she wears white ones.

So although she's been wearing the blue ones for four years and they're all faded and worn and the collars are coming off I refuse to buy new ones for two months of wear.

So we've had to start taking buttons off ripped ones and putting them on the better ones. So this morning I yelled out to her.

Get me the shirt – she brings me the shirt

And get me the button – she brings me the button

And get me the scissors – she doesn't bring me the scissors.

She yells back

Why do I have to get everything

Because you're the one who needs the shirt

Well you're the one with the sewing kit, there must be scissors in that.

Well lets take a look at the sewing kit

 

006

 

  Here I'll tip it out – nope, no scissors

 

016

 

As you can see I can only sew you something in white, orange or brown. I can measure you, I can glitter you and I can keep you safe from mosquitos. And I'm sure that bit of blue wool will come in handy for something.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

32 Responses to “the sewing kit”

  1. lauowolf Says:

    oh dearlooks like my sewing box(cept you don't have enough snaps)how do hey get this way?

  2. cat Says:

    yes, if you pull out one thing the rest all comes in a tangle as well, it's done the job though for about 20 years

  3. Candy Sparks Says:

    and the buttons are super cool like you!

    candy

  4. cat Says:

    they are kinda cute – I have no idea what they came off

  5. OMG! This made me laugh out loud. Don't I see a couple of refirgerator magnets, as well????

  6. cat Says:

    haha, no, I don't think so, unless you mean that round silver/grey thing then I have no idea what that is. But its been in there this long I figure it can stay there, until I need it one day. It could be an important part of something.

  7. Waterbaby Says:

    do you mean the round gray thing under the red rose button or some such? can't tell from the pic. is it a lid or something?

  8. cat Says:

    yes, under that charming little red rose I'll sew on my shirt one day. Hang on I'm going to have a look at it.
    ok – well its made in Hong Kong and I'm guessing its the bottom of something, it wouldn't be a money box but something like that. You'd put a coin in that slot and twist it to open it up. Better keep it.

  9. Waterbaby Says:

    yes, better. never know when a coin-keeper'll prove useful in a sewing kit. you might need to drill a hole in a 20c for a substitute button. p.s. have you thought of teeth in lieu of scissors? also useful for stuck bottlecaps.

  10. cat Says:

    yes I do nip the cotton with the teeth – not bottlecaps though, I'm sure that isn't recommended by dentists.

  11. Waterbaby Says:

    @cat – not beer bottle caps but small plastic or metal caps around small bottles, tubes and the like. extra care needed if it's a tube of superglue.

  12. cat Says:

    lol – oh well thats ok then. Because I was thinking of beer bottle lids.

  13. Waterbaby Says:

    well, to each his or her own; personally i find the good thud of the bottlecap along the counter a more attractive look.

  14. Karen Lynn Says:

    This post made me laugh out loud! Everyone has strange things in their sewing kit I guess! Do bugs bother you while you are mending? hehe

  15. Haha! You need a teeny pair of scissors in there. And maybe some round buttons, the triangles don't seem so useful. 😉

  16. Raymond Says:

    Since I guess we will never know what happened to the scissors, are you going to post a note in your sewing kit that the little wire thingy that pulls the thread thru the eye of the needle is also not in the sewing kit? Was just wondering…

  17. cat Says:

    thats what spit is for isn't it? To make the thread easier to pull through.

  18. cat Says:

    triangle buttons – yes, what a stupid idea!! Especially for kids – they can hardly do up buttons at all.

  19. cat Says:

    Actually I'm thinking my husband has started getting my sewing kit confused with his little box of – things he can't be bothered finding a home for.

  20. Waterbaby Says:

    Karen – Your comment got me curious. Dug out the sewing kit. Can't say how old it is, 15 years I reckon. Nothing there but sewing notions and, yes, the scissors!!!! Does this make me weird?

  21. Karen Lynn Says:

    Nothing strange at all? Not even a 1910 dime? haha :))

  22. Karen Lynn Says:

    We actually have a product in the US called Rid…it is for head lice. ewwww It wouldn't sell as a bug spray here with that name! lolol

  23. cat Says:

    haha – you'd be wondering why it came as a roll on

  24. Waterbaby Says:

    @Karen – lol. nope. sorry to disappoint. lol.

  25. Karen Lynn Says:

    not even a spider carcass? lolol

  26. Waterbaby Says:

    lol! not even. evidently i'm too organized and on top of my possessions for anyone's good but my own! and the spider's. whose carcass if there were one would've been properly disposed of by now. 🙂

  27. Karen Lynn Says:

    shows you how often I sew… haha

  28. Waterbaby Says:

    hahaha. that lil kit's seen me through all the tears and repairs an iron-on patch can't fix for years here and abroad. it's endured better than some relationships!

  29. Karen Lynn Says:

    it's endured better than some relationships! mine too, spider shells included. ewww lol


Leave a Reply

