another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

the formal dress October 6, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 11:08 pm
Tags: , , ,

I'm going to Sydney for a few days tomorrow. One of the main reasons is to buy Lizzie's school formal dress.

If you've never been shopping with a sixteen year old girl, just believe me when I say if there is a hell on earth, that would be it.

If it wasn't so cold here today I'd be breaking out in a sweat just thinking about it. When I told Kimba we were going she laughed and said – you do know that is going to be the worst day of your life don't you?

Yes, I know. Of course I bloody know, I've been shopping with her before.  I can already see dress after dress being passed over because they expose either her fat thighs, her pudgy arms, her humungous hips or her cellulite riddled knees. Of course all these things exist only in her imagination.

I think the most important thing to remember is that when she asks for my opinion, that doesn't actually mean she wants my opinion. Because I've fallen into that trap before, only to be cut down with a withering glare, an eye roll and a hair flick.

So if you haven't heard from me by Saturday, someone better send in the dog squad. They'll find me huddled and rocking in the corner of a small change room somewhere in the city, drooling.

I think I just felt the beginning of a panic attack.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

30 Responses to “the formal dress”

  1. Snowy Says:

    We were looking at our daughter's formal video just a few days ago. I wondered why Mrs Snowy's eyes glazed over…

  2. cat Says:

    Lol – I said to Daz – what are you going to be doing while we shop and he said he thought he'd take a ferry ride to Manly. Bastard – you bloody men have got the life haven't you.

  3. I figure we won't call out the rescue dogs until you're out directing traffic in yer nightie with aluminum foil as a hat………

  4. cat Says:

    lol – where we're staying no one would probably give me a second look if I did that

  5. lauowolf Says:

    oh gawd, you poor thingI did this,It's pretty much the most thankless task you will ever undertake.Just so's you know, there is no right thing to say.

  6. cat Says:

    haha – yes, but for some strange reason they want you there. To hand over the cash I guess.

  7. Hey, you should see some of the characters around here. I get entertained just stepping out on the stoop. For instance:
    4:30 AM: 50-something lady, in black bra (barely covering her ample bazooms) and jeans…(a la Amy Winehouse) running past my house chasing her pot-bellied old boyfriend screaming, "Honey! I'm sorrrrry! I'm sorrrry! PLEEEEESE come baaaaack. PLEEESE! *sob*"

    Gah.

  8. Worker Says:

    Good Luck Cat..I feel for you as you do know if it isn't right on the day it will be all your fault as well…I suggest no talking and make sure you take heaps of advil 🙂

  9. Worker Says:

    Go for the vodka !!

  10. lauowolf Says:

    no.. you have to say the heartening things, even though you get told you don't know/don't understand/are completely wrong….whatever.they are listening, even if they pretend not to be.and they do care what you say, sorta.

  11. cat Says:

    yes, even though they look at you like you're an idiot

  12. I am still at the stage where I can buy things my kid likes, with or without him. He doesn't seem to care too much, although he does have his own opinion on what he likes. BUT… he's not too picky and I am going to be grateful for that from now on. Good luck with the dress!

  13. cat Says:

    boys are so much easier in general!

  14. Waterbaby Says:

    good luck. and consider the dog squad on my speed dial.

  15. liyafendi Says:

    No doubt its hard to deal with the teenagers especially when buying dress for them. Good luck to you Cat.

  16. cat Says:

    make sure its one of those ones that brings rum

  17. cat Says:

    yes I'm fairly sure I was never a teenager myself
    thanks for the luck, I think I'll need it!

  18. Waterbaby Says:

    dark or light? referring to the rum, not dogs.

  19. cat Says:

    lolol – light please with a little lime

  20. oh so been there and only just survived that. I remember daughter 2 turning to me and declaring " I look like a lamb chop" and bursting into tears.

  21. Oh NOOOO! That sounds horrid! I wish you luck!

  22. Red Pen Says:

    Makes me glad I have sons. Good luck!

  23. cat Says:

    haha – my number 1 was easy – after trying on a couple of things she walked into Myer and bourght a dress she loved. Number 2 hmmmm, she is going with a very set idea of what she wants, which could be bad

  24. cat Says:

    I'm just about to leave – I had no sleep but I'm going to be lovely and kind all through the long day. I have my camera and shall take some pics of Sydney for you all. I think its going to rain actually

  25. Caprica Says:

    looking forward to the photographs.
    Perhaps you'll both get lucky and she'll discover the dress of her dreams on the first outing.
    Having two sons, I'm out of touch and like you was never a teenager myself.

  26. Oooh! I would love to see photos from the city!

  27. I see you made it back in one piece. Yes I feel your pain. Well at least I have my daughter's wedding dress sorted out. Of course I am freaking out about getting a dress for myself – yet again! But I have until June, plenty of time – NOT!

  28. cat Says:

    lolol – oh not again, haven't you still got the last one handy??

  29. Ah yeah I have, it hasn't been worn since. But I believe there is some law that prevents a mother from wearing the same outfit twice to her children's wedding. I am sure Lizzie would tell you that! LOL


Leave a Reply

