another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

I’ve been everywhere man September 30, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:42 am
Tags: , ,

I hadn't heard from lloyd for a while but I presumed he was still alive because money was coming out of his bank account at the right places. Unless someone had stolen his credit card and then decided to follow his itinerary.

So after a little flamenco dancing in seville (nice shot Lloyd)

 

 

It was off to the Formula 1 Grand Prix in Brussels for three days.

 

 

He met a group of australians on the hill and discovered that both his teams, the crows and the knights, were out of the footy finals.

 

 

Then it was time to head off to the U.S.A. First stop was Washington DC. He tells me that the women at the Dulles help desk are very helpful indeed. They spent about half an hour with him with maps explaining where he wanted to go. Then a day trip on the greyhound bus and a few days in Boston. Here he tells me he found the greatest food hall in the world and they have everything you could feel like. It's called Quincy Market. And I gather he ate a lot of pizza and nachos there.

 

 

An overnight greyhound bus took him to Buffalo then from there it was on to Niagra Falls. He did the Maid of the Mist ride and said he enjoyed it.

 

 

Then it was off to the ballgame. He went and watched the Boston Red Sox play the Toronto Blue Jays. He'd already been to a game somewhere – Boston it must have been, Fenway Park.

A couple of nights in Montreal and it was off to Austin Texas for the three day Austin City Limits Music Festival. He said the music was great and his top five bands were The Foo Fighters, N.E.R.D, Beck, Okkervil River and John Fogerty. He said – John Fogerty was really cool but nothing beat The Foos though, they were like nothing I've ever seen before. Wolfmother were the best I'd seen before but not now.

He met a nice taxi driver who was very interested in Australia and asked me some interesting questions about the economy that I didn't quite know how to answer.

He tells me if he lived in America he would end up huge. He found a pizza place where you could eat all you want for $7.30 including a drink. He said he ate non stop for fifty minutes. He also said he found a breakfast place where they serve waffles, bagels and these things called honey cakes (which I checked the nutritional value on the packet and one contains 35% of your daily fat allowance). Despite that I had two.

He also sent me this photo

 

 

Followed by this one.

 

 

And about now he should have finished another leg on the greyhound system and be somewhere in San Antonio. I don't even know where that is, will have to google it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

18 Responses to “I’ve been everywhere man”

  1. LeendaDLL Says:

    I saw the Foo Fighters as part of a multi-band line up and was also completely blown away by them. I knew of them before but left the event as a major fan!Overall, sounds like a really fun adventure!

  2. Raymond Says:

    You don't know where San Antonio, Texas is??????????????????????

  3. cat Says:

    well no, why do you know where Wellington NSW is???????????

  4. cat Says:

    Yes, he must have been pretty impressed with them because he loved Wolfmother at The Big Day Out. He's going to need a holiday when he gets home to recover.

  5. Emjay Says:

    LOL! Maid of the Mist and those funky blue plastic raincoats! It was fun to get so wet though!

  6. LeendaDLL Says:

    so where is the tour leading next? If he's continuing west, I'm in the greater-Los Angeles area… kinda near Disneyland.

  7. cat Says:

    he also said he went to the tallest building in the world somewhere around there – does that sound right and where is it. he said there was a glass floor.

  8. cat Says:

    I think he's off to New Orleans next – he'll have to head west eventually to get home!! Not for another five weeks though.

  9. Emjay Says:

    He might mean the CN Tower in Toronto….. don't think it is the tallest "building" in the world but it might be the tallest tower. They are building something in Dubai which is going to be the tallest.

  10. Steve Betz Says:

    Hah!! God Bless America — and all that food. I love it that QM has the best food in the world, and he ate pizza and nachos.

  11. Raymond Says:

    Yes, well that is a good point. I suppose the answer is that I don't live there. Which is to say that I live in San Antonio. Home of the Alamo. So it came as a bit of a shock when you wrote that you don't know where San Antonio is. My bad, I was shocked. Can't expect everyone to know things like that, sorry. I guess it would be like someone answering the question of what the Capitol of Australia is…and they answer Sydney. Which is a bit…shocking, and not just clueless but googleless. I hope you'll forgive me? ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. cat Says:

    ha ha – thats what I thought but then again he is an 18 year old boy.

  13. cat Says:

    lol – of course, nothing to forgive, and I didn't mean to offend you either.

  14. Raymond Says:

    No offense comes from a friend, its not a consideration. Thank you, and I'll try not to do it again. Still, I would have enjoyed meeting your son, he sounds like a fine young man. Hope he sees the Alamo… ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. cat Says:

    Not sure what his plans are there, he's only there for a couple of days on his way to New Orleans. Who knows, you may see him wandering around. He likes to get out and poke about places.

  16. Caprica Says:

    He likes to get out and poke about places.
    That's a bit of an understatement! lol
    He's gotten a heck of a bite of Canadian and US culture.
    It was the CN Tower in Toronto, Canada (my hometown) he went too. The Blue Jay/Red Sox game would have been close by. I first went on the Maid of the Mist when I was four–still dig it when I can–every decade or so. It's only about 90 minutes from Toronto.
    That banana chocolate mousse or pudding plate looks huge and delish.
    Good that's he's figured out how to eat on the cheap!

  17. cat Says:

    When he was in Europe he lived very lean I think because he said food was really expensive there. He was looking forward to getting to the US and having a lot of cheap junk food. Which he seems to be doing.

  18. Caprica Says:

    Oh yes, you want cheap junk food–we specialize in it.


Leave a Reply

