another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

QotD: Do Not Pass Go September 28, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:19 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

What is your all time favorite board game?

Daz and I were big monopoly fans when we first started going out.

We'd set it up friday night and it would go on all weekend. It involved a lot of wine. And sometimes sculling. I think we had some rule about sculling a glass when you went past go. We always ran out of money pretty early on so we'd pay with community chest cards or trade the get out of jail free card if we landed on the others property.

This is Daz enjoying a game. We seem to have a puzzle going at the same time. I'm not sure why he's wearing a woollen vest as shorts. He tells me he didn't have anything else to wear. lol – we were thin then.

 

And here I am after a hard day of monopoly. There's Graeme in the chair, Billy in the box and Big Man in the basket. They were big days for all of us.  We weren't big on interior decorating.

 

We only ever played backgammon when our friend Jeanette came to visit. She liked to enjoy a flagon and a cigarette with her backgammon.  

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

15 Responses to “QotD: Do Not Pass Go”

  1. We had a game going once which required a cask of wine and a pool. It was called save the hat and apparently we thought it fun to throw a cloth hat into the pool and dive for it. Somehow someone ended up wearing a tee shirt in place of their pants…never have remembered how it happened, but we thought it great fun at the time! And to think my mother was upstairs minding our first born – just as well, or we might have thought throw the baby was fun too!

  2. cat Says:

    lol – everything seems like a good fun after a cask. Didn't your mother tell you alcohol and water don't mix!!

  3. Waterbaby Says:

    who the hell listens to their mother?!?!

  4. cat Says:

    I dunno – but it's only when I became one that I realised how smart they were

  5. We are more of a scrabble couple – although I got sick of always getting beaten so attempted to convert the scrabble gang to Pictionary which I am very good at. Now my husband mainly plays chess (or 'chest' as my son calls it) with the kids.

  6. cat Says:

    We were big scrabble fans after the monopoly, we have a challenge going that has been going for about 15 years. I'm not even sure how it works anymore. My husband tends to wait for an opportunity to throw an s on the end of a huge word and get a stack of points.

  7. Jaffnut Says:

    I'd probably have to say scrabble as well, before that it was Snakes & Ladders. I was never able to get into monopoly, even though we played it as kids.

  8. cat Says:

    I think the monopoly worked because of the wine. And the very loose rules.

  9. Karen Lynn Says:

    Monopoly was the game in my early years with the ex. His brothers used to come over every Friday night for a game. They were so hot headed…sometimes the entire game board would go flying across the room. One of the last Friday's we had Monopoly night was the day I was released from the hospital after giving birth to Nikki. Pinochle was our game for a long time, which included tossed decks, but DH and I haven't really been in a "game" mood for a while.

  10. cat Says:

    I have a friend who is a very bad loser and if she's not winning she's been known the smack the board around. We also played a lot of cards.

  11. Karen Lynn Says:

    I hate playing with sore losers. If someone wrecks a game I quit. It just isn't any fun when there is tension. Games are for fun! If it isn't fun, why do it?

  12. Ninja Says:

    I love these pics. Thanks for sharing. The Queen and I used to do the same when we started seeing each other. These pics remind me of simpler, less complicated times.
    When we moved house last year, we found all our old board games and did a big toss out. Our skip bin was full of stuff we had collected over the years and it was bittersweet to be throwing the stuff out. There were memories tied to every item. But threw them out I did. There's an old saying: If old stuff doesn't go, new stuff doesn't get in.
    Live moves on.

  13. cat Says:

    thats very true – and its not like we ever play monopoly these days, just wouldn't be the same.

  14. Christine Says:

    We love board games! I haven't played monopoly in years though. We're big fans of Trivial Pursuit. I pride myself on knowing a lot of meaningless crap, so I'm pretty good at the game. 🙂

  15. cat Says:

    I've only played trivial pursuit a couple of times. I quite like Headbandz though, thats always funny.


Leave a Reply

