another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

lets do the time warp September 23, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 1:22 am
Tags: , , , ,

When my father was just a few years older than he is here

 

 

He set sail from England on a world trip that would bring him to Australia on the SS Stratheden (1952)

 

 

And when I saw him on the weekend he showed me a little tin that has all kinds of treasures in it. His school reports, letters he wrote to his mother when he was away from her during the war. And these menus he kept from the trip. And I can imagine all the women in their fabulous dresses and the men suited up. There would have been a band and dancing. Good times.

 

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

20 Responses to “lets do the time warp”

  1. Emjay Says:

    One day someone will be looking in my tin of special things … what a treat! 🙂

  2. cat Says:

    will it be full of interesting things then??

  3. Jaffnut Says:

    Wow that's fantastic. Unfortunately my family has relocated so many times that we don't have any old tins or keepsakes. Researching my family tree is on my 'to do' list however as noone knows much about my families.

  4. Caprica Says:

    That truly is facinating. Such different times than these.

  5. cat Says:

    I have a box of things I've carted around the place with me. Maybe someone will find it interesting one day. Or maybe they'll just take it to the tip lol.

  6. cat Says:

    Yes, I imagine it being very glamorous. A bit like the titanic but without the tragedy.

  7. take it out of the tin and put it in an archive box, PLEASE…your family history needs to be protected.

  8. cat Says:

    lol – whats the difference between the tin and the box??

  9. Emjay Says:

    I never throw anything out so there will be a lot to go through…. LOL your reply to Jaffnut – someone will probably take it all to the tip – just like someone took all papa's cruise menus to the tip ……!!! You can wrap things in special archival paper to protect them. In tins they tend to get rust spots.

  10. Karen Lynn Says:

    You had a nice visit with your Dad then! I loved looking at these pictures and reading the story about his travels :))

  11. cat Says:

    well they've sat in the tin for seventy years and look okay – and you know what he's like, you can't touch his things.

  12. cat Says:

    Well they had friends there as well so they had to behave themselves

  13. Caprica Says:

    True. I tend to agree with you as I've got tinned photographs of my mum's that are pristine. You have scanned things so copying them to disc will keep them for a very long time. I've been slogging through that process but it's worth it.
    Newspaper clippings are not holding up so well, though. I had spouse laminate them at his work.

  14. Caprica Says:

    LOL!
    I love twisted humour.

  15. cat Says:

    the old black and white photos are holding up well – its the colour ones from the sixties and seventies that are fading – a lot of them have that yellow look to them and some are just fading away.
    If you love twisted humour we'd get on well

  16. Karen Lynn Says:

    she's definitely twisted…makes me snort coffee through my nose daily. hehe

  17. cat Says:

    are you talking about me behind my back??

  18. Karen Lynn Says:

    i would never do that… <runs away fast> lol 😉

  19. Christine Says:

    The menu is fascinating! I don't know that I've ever seen gherkins listed on an appetizer section.

  20. cat Says:

    lol – well they became common in the seventies didn't they. And coloured, or maybe that was something else – cocktail onions.


Leave a Reply

