another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

I’m puff puff puff puff puffing September 22, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 1:44 am
Tags: , , , ,

I ran 5 kms this morning. And I'm pretty damn pleased about it. That was thirty minutes non stop running. Well jogging, not really what they call running. I didn't think I was going to make it. I got to 20 minutes and thought, I'll just go to 25 minutes and see how I feel, but when I got there I said, well I'll just go to 26 and after that its only 4 more minutes and if you don't do that you're a loser.

I started a programme eight weeks ago. You began by running for two minutes then walking 90 seconds and repeated that 8 times and did that three times the first week. As each week went on you ran more, walked less. Until today there was no walking.

I don't know why they say exercise is good for you. I felt exhausted afterwards and I'll probably need a lie down after lunch.

When I came inside Kimba said – Mum, I think you're going to have a heart attack. And I said – No, it'll be a stroke I think when it hapens. My face was a lovely shade of red. But that was because I'm still running in my winter gear with long socks. So I went and bought some running shorts but when I got them home I realised they had built in undies in them. Which seemed wrong. That means you can only wear them once before you have to wash them. Which doesn't work for me. Unless you wear undies under the built in undies. And that doesn't seem right. So they can go back and I'll get some 'normal' shorts.

So now I'll do that thirty minutes three times this week. Then I'll start speeding it up a bit. I'm going at 8.5kms/per hour at the moment and I want to be going 10kms per hour. Then I'll work up to 10kms distance.

It's very satisfying to set yourself a goal then do it. I'm livin' the nike dream.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

20 Responses to “I’m puff puff puff puff puffing”

  1. Now you've got me singing that Play School song in my head. (listened to that Oomba Baroomba CD for aobut 14 hours non stop once in a car trip to Melbourne – the songs are forever printed in my brain!).
    Well done on the running. There are some fun runs (bit of an oxymoron, I think) that are less than 10km long.

  2. Karen Lynn Says:

    Way to go on completely your goal! and I'm laughing my butt off at your shorts! you crack me up Cat! you are a good story teller :))

  3. Waterbaby Says:

    lol. workin' off some of that birthday sausage?

  4. cat Says:

    I'm workin' off years of sausage!

  5. cat Says:

    lol – I live my own personal Days of My Life here. I have just been and replaced the shorts for an ordinary cotton pair.

  6. cat Says:

    lol – well I'm not finding it fun yet but who knows, maybe one day. It's quite sad you know that my youngest child is 16 and I can still sing you that song. Don't even get me started on The Ning Nang Nong.

  7. Don't worry. I'm sure I will be like that too. Did you know that the Ning Nang Nong is actually a Spike Milligan poem? Quite funny really.

  8. cat Says:

    lol – yes I did know, clever people that play school bunch. I liked John singing it.

  9. John is hilarious. Also love his version of "Going on a Bear Hunt".

  10. Jaffnut Says:

    Hey Cat well done! I've just started jogging with a running group every Saturday morning at 7am. I think this week we did about 3.8klm (it was the third week), and I was absolutely knackered by the end. I think it was my over zealous sprint up an incredibly steep hill that did it LOL. I'm determined to stave off the muffin-top which is threatening to develop. Keep it up!

  11. cat Says:

    thats why I followed this programme – because usually I race out and try and go flat out from the start and then give it up. I'm not up to hill sprinting yet!!

  12. Steve Betz Says:

    Good for you! I "trick" myself into that sort of extra time — five more minutes makes a nice round number — oh, two more minutes and you'll make another full mile, etc. Stupid brains.

  13. Good For You!!! I seriously cannot even jog for two minutes! Seriously!

  14. cat Says:

    you can put it on one of your lists of things to do

  15. cat Says:

    just a matter of getting the legs to co operate with the brain

  16. my list may seem lofty, but they are things I can actually accomplish… running for two minutes is beyond reach

  17. cat Says:

    It was for me as well when I started – all that walking you do is good for you anyway

  18. Ninja Says:

    I get on the PS3 shooting baddies and need to lie down later. That tires me out.

  19. cat Says:

    lol – you're as bad as Daz – he thinks he's done enough exercise when his man in grand theft auto goes to the gym and rides the bike.

  20. Yeah, I figure I should just settle for walking


Leave a Reply

