another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

book hog September 20, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 2:07 am
Tags: , , , ,

I don't know if you're allowed to take all the books from the new releases stand at the library, but I just did. I picked very badly last week. I tried a new technique for choosing the books I was going to borrow. I just grabbed any off the shelf. No looking at the covers or reading the jacket. I can't say it was successful. I picked ten books and didn't get past the first ten pages of any of them. See once I would have felt that I should persevere with a book, but now I toss it if it isn't showing any promise. Daz bought me two books but he picks extremely badly. He's  one of those people who have never read a book. And he's never picked me a good one. I mean its nice he buys me books but I had to tell him the other day to please just stop. He actually bought me a book that had the line – and then he ravished her – in it.

On the way home from the library I stopped at a shop to buy a salad wrap. The girl said to me – do you want all the salad things? And I looked in the display and there was lettuce, carrot, tomato and cheese. And I said to myself – you know what, just go wild, have it all.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

11 Responses to “book hog”

  1. I have been known to do that too, Cat (taking all the new display books). I feel more guilty though when I borrow all the YA Premier's Reading Challenge books – for myself!

  2. cat Says:

    lol – I borrow all the YA new releases for Lizzie. Then I go to the self check out so they don't see how many I've got.

  3. Farfaraway Says:

    I used to be the same way, making myself finish every single book I started, but I figure life's too short. I usually stick with it the first 25-50 pages, but if it hasn't hooked me by then, I'm pretty sure it's not going to!

  4. Emjay Says:

    I usually open up any page in the book and read it. If it looks stilted, unreal or badly written I dont' get the book. If I start one and find I don't like it after 20 or so pages I go to the last chapter – just to see what happens. I do that with videos too – watch it in fast forward to the end. I just have to see the finish! I didn't realise libraries have self serve lanes!

  5. Christine Says:

    LOL – I haven't read a book with "ravishment" in it for a very long time! Maybe not even since I was ten, and used to sneak romance novels off of my best friend's mom's bookshelf. We used to hide and read them with both fascination and disgust! All the salad stuff was four things? I'm glad you went crazy and had your wrap stuffed with every single one of them. 🙂

  6. cat Says:

    I usually make myself read it if I paid for it. Although I had to give one up a while ago because it was scottish and I read with an accent and it was just too exhausting!!

  7. cat Says:

    But what if you open it to an important page that gives something away. I did that once you know and then when I read the book I thought something had happened but it hadn't really because it had only happened in the persons imagination.

  8. cat Says:

    I even had chilli sauce.
    I used to be a big Victoria Holt fan as a teenager. Always some young girl living on a house on a cliff somewhere ready to have her bodice ripped open and be ravished.

  9. Farfaraway Says:

    I avoid paying for it by being a heavy library user! Which probably makes it LOTS easier to give up on a book when it's not so hot. 😉

  10. Jaffnut Says:

    I read the last page of a book once before reaching it, and I've never done it again. It gave away too much and made the rest of the book not worth reading.

  11. OUr library doesn't have them. I remember the Town Hall library in Sydney (now the bloody Circular Quay library – grrrr!) had them. Too much like shopping at Big W for me though.


Leave a Reply

