another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

psssst, did you know? September 18, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:57 am
Tags: , ,

Living in a small country town definitely leaves you open to gossip and slander. I spent the first fifteen years of my life living in a town with a population of 2500. Then we moved to a town with a population of 5000. (I can't say I noticed much difference). After living for a few years in Sydney I now find myself living in a town with a population of 15000. A metropolis really compared to what I was used to. Its one of those places though where you have to live for at least twenty years before you are considered a local. I'm almost there.

And I always thought I'd flown under the radar, but it appears not. Last night I heard a very interesting story about myself. My daughter Kimba has a friend who works at a local furniture store and she heard it from a customer. Its a bit strange to think I'm on someones mind while they buy household items.

Now we have no family here – never have. However, apparently my grandparents were very very wealthy this woman said, but when I started getting tattoos and married my no good westie husband, they cut me out of the will. I have lost my inheritence. My grandparents would not tolerate my rebellious ways.

Not only that but apparently my husband and myself were wild party animals, drug addicts even.

A sad tale.

When Kimba told me I was like – what? I did what?? I couldn't stop laughing.

I always wonder where the first lie comes from. Who came up with it. Who pulls something out of thin air and turns it into a novel. Do people really feel that their lives are so boring they have to make up something about me. Me, mind you, little harmless me.

It's a bit like chinese whispers. That used to be so funny at school. The first person would say Mr Jackson bought five apples on Monday and by the time it passed through thirty kids ears and lips Mrs Jones was having an affair with the milkman.

I hope my story ended up well. I hope I went to rehab and overcame my drug addiction. I hope I was able to reconcile with my grandparents before they died and was able to show them I had overcome my rebellious ways. Maybe my inheritence is in a trust fund waiting for me to turn fifty. Or something.

Time to dump this dive I say.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

34 Responses to “psssst, did you know?”

  1. Porphgyrl Says:

    Oh good grief! when people have no drama, they make it up. It's awful.
    But I'm glad you overcame all your problems! πŸ˜‰

  2. Waterbaby Says:

    That's a hilarious tale. Not to mention the risk of life in small towns. Hope that if you haven't kicked the drug habit, you're at least hiding the evidence.

  3. cat Says:

    well I hope I've overcome them, that part of the story has yet to be told.

  4. cat Says:

    lol – well when I was at the library just then I was wondering if the librarian has heard this and thinks I'm a well read drug addict.

  5. Emjay Says:

    LOL – if only they knew the real story! I am so glad I got out of that first town!

  6. cat Says:

    funny thing is that even after living here twenty years I hardly know anyone, definitely didn't think I knew anyone well enough for them to come up with that.

  7. Waterbaby Says:

    or resemble one as you stare glassy-eyed trying to make sense of the worlds pulsating on the pages

  8. Karen Lynn Says:

    Oh gosh cat, you are a fiesty gal aren't ya? How many tattoos do you have? lolSeriously though, I'm sorry someone would try to hurt you like that. They must lead awful boring lives.

  9. cat Says:

    I am indeed one mean mutha – I do have quite a few tattoos – on my arms as well whcih is probably quite confronting for some people.
    don 't worry, they can't hurt me because I don't care.

  10. Karen Lynn Says:

    I love your spunk :))

  11. LeendaDLL Says:

    One of my long favs was hearing that I was lesbian. Then, less that 24
    hrs later, I heard that I was having an SM sex affair with a male
    coworker. (neither true) I got irate and blurted something about
    coworkers needing to get their stories straight so that I could figure
    which rumor to play into.

  12. You should feel flattered, Cat! Obviously the people that concocted and enlarged upon this story have very boring lives indeed and must see you as someone much more exciting than them.
    As for the 20 year rule, my husband's family have been living in their small community (about 2000 and very geographically isolated) for about 30 years now and are still not considered True Locals. The thing that always amazes me about where they live is that tourists always say how friendly it is there when it is actually a seething hotbed of rivalries and double crossing. Some families have been carrying on feuds since the place was first settled.

  13. cat Says:

    lol – yours sound interesting. Maybe I'll become a lesbian once I sort out my drug addiction. Because by then I'll realise what a no hoper my husband is and be against men.

  14. cat Says:

    And to think I only found out about it by chance. I could've gone my whole life oblivious to the saga. And it's funny because I'm not out and about much, not part of any cliques or groups. I'm glad I wasn't born here though. Lizzie goes to school with a group of girls and all their mothers went to school here and know each other and there's all the crap involved that goes with that set up. You know what I think I'm going to make a T shirt. Hmm will think on that one.

  15. Maybe that is why, Cat, ie, they think of you as an enigma!
    Will see if I can think of any good t-shirt slogans for you.
    I remember my daughter started a rumour that i was pregnant once – she was desparate for a baby sister at the time.

  16. cat Says:

    lol – wishful thinking on her part then. Maybe I can be The Enigma

  17. Sounds like a good name for a super hero (or a super villain)!

  18. Jack Yan Says:

    Funny, we call that phenomenon Caucasian Whispers. Seriously though, there are seriously pathetic people out there. It is this Schadenfreude that makes the weekly trash magazines and tabloids such big sellers. I do not understand this behaviour and have never taken part in it myself; I have even confronted people who spread rumours about others, including my competitors. Cat, isn’t an Enigma what the night nurse gives you when you’ve had a touch of the tapioca?

  19. cat Says:

    lol – Nurse Cat shall be dispensing enigmas to any willing umm victims.

  20. I love it – at least you have a wild past and an interesting story! Good on you for being gossip worthy! LOL
    When does your rehab story hit New Idea?

  21. cat Says:

    You know I was once misquoted in the local paper – layby V cash comment, a long story, maybe that was the start of it all.
    rehab – what rehab, I haven't hit rock bottom yet.

  22. Jaffnut Says:

    They're just jealous! What they don't understand they concoct. You need to get a t-shirt made up, something along the lines of "A disinherited former drug addict lies within". πŸ˜‰

  23. Karen Lynn Says:

    Before you go to rehab, can you send me your stash? πŸ˜‰

  24. Christine Says:

    You sound pretty exciting – almost like a celebrity! Maybe you should start telling people that your autobiography will be coming out in the spring. I've never lived in a small town – it's really interesting that gossip spreads so quickly and inaccurately. I'm glad you can laugh it off. πŸ™‚

  25. Candy Sparks Says:

    ha ha i love it… sounds like my life minus the drugs… my grandparents never loved me… so i'm almost there in your rumor weed story…

    candy

  26. Hahaha! That is hilarious! Wow, I had no idea you were such a scandalous gal!

  27. Raymond Says:

    Well, the way I heard it Mrs. Jones was not only having an affair with the milkman, but that she was seen…yeah, it would be funny if it wasn't so sad. Sorry you were vitimized by scandolous tongues and drama queens…

  28. cat Says:

    lol – oh well, one of the risks you take when you live in a country town

  29. cat Says:

    yes better watch out – you'll get a bad name hanging around with me.

  30. cat Says:

    oh – I forgot about that photo I posted the other day that looked like a pile of drugs. Oops, not helping myself am I.

  31. cat Says:

    Candy thats so sad – how could your grandparents never have loved you? You seem like such a sweet soul.

  32. cat Says:

    lol – yes Christine thats often how I think of myself – as a celebrity. Next I'll have to become a recluse. And have children running past the house throwing rocks on the roof I guess.

  33. cat Says:

    lolol – thats hilarious. Oh I'm going to make that today.

  34. Hahah! I was always attracted to the group of people with bad reputations


Leave a Reply

