another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

and so magpie season begins September 9, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 3:01 am
Tags: , , , ,

This is what stands between me and the door I have to enter every thursday. A Magpie. An australian spring time savage, vicious magpie.

 

033

 

As you can see it looks like the sort of nest a small flying nesting dinosaur might use.

 

 

The magpie who owns this currently sits on the telephone wires sharpening its beak in anticipation of frightening attacks. I was going to say I'd rather be attacked by a shark than a magpie. But when it came down to it, that may not be true. Much less chance of it happening though considering I can't swim.

My mother once told me a story about a woman playing golf who was attacked by a magpie. Apparently the claws became caught in her hair and it FREAKED OUT and kept pulling trying to get away and she FREAKED OUT and was screaming. And it's a vision that has stayed with me.

And is there anything more frightening (and australian) than the sound of that beak clacking around your ears and the flapping of wings as it swoops. And they come from nowhere. And I know people always say to keep your eye on them and they won't attack but I'm always scared of getting my eye pecked out!

Lets just say I don't walk much in spring. But its always funny to drive past the primary schools during magpie season and seeing the little kids running around with icecream buckets on their heads.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

35 Responses to “and so magpie season begins”

  1. Yikes. had to stop my son chasing a magpie at the park the other day. he has never been swooped so didn't know what might happen. I remember riding my bike in Canberra once and nearly getting knocked off by a magpie colliding with my bike helmet.

  2. Emjay Says:

    That beak clacking right next to your head is an awful sound – almost as bad as the whoosh of air as they flap past!

  3. cat Says:

    that would've been the end of me – if I know one is nearby I start having heart palpitations.

  4. cat Says:

    lol – yes, the wind sound is pretty awful. I was already out of my car and almost to the door before I saw the beware magpies sign, then my legs went weak.

  5. Jaffnut Says:

    LOL…that's why I foster the trust of my local magpies who have built 2 nests this year. As soon as their babies fledge they bring them down to me. They swoop my cats and visitors though. This year I've also got a Little Raven nesting in the tree next to my house. I've got no idea if they swoop, I certainly hope not as their beaks are even bigger!

  6. cat Says:

    its funny when they swoop the cats and they try to stay low along the ground. My dog hates magpies – they are the only bird she won't let in the backyard. They sit on the neighbours tree and she stands there staring at them. And they sit there staring at her. She caught one once but she was sort of scared of it. it was laying on its back going at her with its claws and she was running around it. All these other magpies were standing on the clothesline making a noise about it. I went and saved the damn thing – even though I hate them and it flew away pretty quickly.

  7. Jaffnut Says:

    The other day I walked in the door and left it ajar after ariving home from work, and when I turned around there was a magpie standing inside my house on the carpet. My big cat didn't know what to do – I don't think she could quite believe it had the audacity to come inside – nor could I for that matter! Anyway, I grabbed some raw meat, ushered it back outside and fed it. Her young have hatched so she comes down to see me regularly now to take food back to the nest. Dad feeds them as well.

  8. cat Says:

    lol, tame magpies, they do have very inquisitive eyes

  9. Maju Says:

    I've been attacked while cycling and the magpie drew blood just below the edge of my helmet. Very scary.

  10. cat Says:

    nasty! see if that ever happened to me I'd never leave the house during spring. My kids always have to find a different way to walk home from school this time of year but they seem to be everywhere.

  11. ChicagoProud Says:

    wow! I want to be attacked by a magpie! just for the experience! πŸ˜‰

  12. cat Says:

    lol – you would so not enjoy it

  13. Aubrey Says:

    I have no magpie experience. The doves that nest in Boyfriend's garage (two almost-grown babies are fluttering around now) are for the most part shy and calm.
    I did get buzzed by a sparrow once – those guys are small and spunky: and they crack me up.
    Small birds attacking animals so much larger than themselves – it's amazing.

  14. cat Says:

    yes, magpies take protecting the babies very seriously. I can safely say I have never found myself laughing during an attack.

  15. Karen Lynn Says:

    Wow, I want to see the ones that live in that nest Cat! :))The geese over here run from you…they are all over the golf course, and they are used to people coming around. I chase them, they don't chase me. It is hilarious to see a gaggle of them running around flapping their wings and honking. (yes I'm sick like that)

  16. birds scare the crap out of me. We have Canadian Geese who are very aggressive like that.

  17. Are you serious?!!! That is frightening!!!

  18. cat Says:

    well I don't want to see it too close thanks!

  19. cat Says:

    My brother had scary geese but I always felt like I could outrun them – no outrunning these suckers, they keep at you until you're out of their territory. Did you know they are doing a remake of The Birds. Naomi Watts is going to be in it.

  20. cat Says:

    lol – yes you wouldn't be strolling around taking photos here in spring time. Unless you had a big stick.

  21. Margy Says:

    Ewwwww! That does not sound nice. Our birds are a lot more shy, although a friend of mine told me about bird attacks against her father when she was growing up. Brrrr!

  22. Karen Lynn Says:

    You Ozzies have strange creatures…don't you have "drop bears" too? That drop out of trees and attack you head? heheheTake a picture!

  23. cat Says:

    oh yes the good old drop bear. I was just thinking about them the other day when I saw the stupid beer ad they "came" from. I always imagine them as some kind of koala with a chronic disease. (even though koalas are just koalas and not koala bears)
    I shall try and take a photo but I think by the time the babies arrive that tree will be covered with leaves.

  24. Karen Lynn Says:

    They came from a beer commercial? lol! I thought it was legend. I think I even googled it the first time I heard of it. Here check it out drop bears on wiki. Don't take the pics if it is going to put you in danger! Do they sit on telephone wires or poles?

  25. cat Says:

    it was a rum ad featuring the bundy bear who is in all the rum ads
    drop bears

  26. Karen Lynn Says:

    lol great commercial!

  27. Waterbaby Says:

    Do, pray tell, where is your protective umbrella? Or hard hat?

  28. cat Says:

    lol, I'm opting for the – try a different route next time

  29. Waterbaby Says:

    lol. that works too. that or a fast ride on a harley.

  30. Wow, that is so strange! I had no idea they were so aggressive!

  31. Design Shark Says:

    That is scary shit! I think it may be equivalent to our canadian geese. Nasty birds. Hitchcock wasn't messing around with that movie – It was totally a PSA. πŸ™‚

  32. cat Says:

    lol – these geese sound funny. At least they can't flap around your head which is the bit I don't like. All that beak clicking and flapping. People have had their eye put out by them.

  33. Design Shark Says:

    That's creepy crap. When the geese come, they will shut down entire sections of streets to keep people safe. I think we should just shoot 'em – stupid birds. Are magpies 'protected' where you are?

  34. cat Says:

    lol – yes of course magpies are protected – all those awful things you'd like to kill are. So are brown snakes.
    When the geese come – lol again, where the hell do they come from, I'm having weird visuals of packs of geese running down streets

  35. Design Shark Says:

    See, I'm not exactly sure where they come from. I mean, they're called Canadian Geese, so I can only assume they come from Canada. A quick wikipedia search appears that they are indeed from Canada and breed in the northern US as well. This paragraph nicely explains why I think they should all be 'removed': In north america, non-migratory Canada Goose populations have been on the rise. The species is frequently found on golf courses, parking lots and urban parks, which would have previously hosted only migratory geese on rare occasions. Owing to its adaptability to human-altered areas, it has become the most common waterfoul species in North America. In many areas, non-migratory Canada Geese are now regarded as pests. They are suspected of being a cause of an increase in high fecal coliforms at beaches. An extended hunting season and the use of noise makers have been used in an attempt to disrupt suspect flocks.When a goose or its goslings are threatened, the adult goose will often stand erect and hiss. If more severely threatened, the goose tends to lower its head towards the ground and charge at the threat, striking with its wings and attempting to pinch or bite with its beak.UNCOOL. There's nothing worse than a charging goose that's bigger than the average dog. Smaller birds are way sneaky though. I praise you for not living in fear that they're watching your every move. πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

