another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

don’t be mean with the beans mum September 3, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 2:50 am
Tags: , ,

Cheesy beans with extra cheese we call this. If Lizzie and I lived alone together we could probably live on cheesy beans and eggs on toast.

So next time you don't feel like cooking, just heat up your beans, get a bread roll and rip the guts out of it leaving a nice little bread bowl, fill it with your beans, grate cheese over the top then slap it in the oven for about five minutes or however long you want your cheese cooked.

Seriously good. Unless you don't like baked beans, then its not going to work for you.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

21 Responses to “don’t be mean with the beans mum”

  1. kalita Says:

    Oh I am so buying some baked beans tonight and trying that for lunch tomorrow

  2. cat Says:

    hmm, delicious, nutritious and easy

  3. Jaffnut Says:

    I love baked beans on toast (occassionaly with cheese) – it is often what I go for after an evening gym class. Will try your suggestion, although if you're only cooking for one it seems a bit wasteful to heat the oven up for one roll.

  4. cat Says:

    Well I like my roll crusty! And we only use a small oven – It's a microwave/convection/grill all in one so it heats up quickly. I also like the beans wrapped in lavash bread then put in the sandwich press.

  5. ChicagoProud Says:

    That loooks sooooo good!

  6. cat Says:

    lol – well thats because its full of carbs and fat!!

  7. ChicagoProud Says:

    I know 😦
    Maybe I could eat a tiny piece every 5 hours!

  8. Jaffnut Says:

    It sounds like you've got one of those toaster oven thingies. Guess what I had for dinner tonight? Baked beans with melted cheese on toasted Turkish bread :-).

  9. cat Says:

    yumm – I had ceasar salad. It had pane de casa croutons in it. It's not a toaster oven, It's just microwave size but you can microwave or bake or do a combination or you can grill. Saves using a big oven.

  10. Lizzie Says:

    That photo is making me hungry and it's only 10.14. Gah.

  11. Jaffnut Says:

    Good idea. I should investigate getting one when my microwave dies.

  12. cat Says:

    they are brilliant. I manage to feed five people out of it because you can put two racks in it, getting three layers.

  13. cat Says:

    Just in time for morning tea then! I'm getting used to your time now since my son has been over there – nine hours behind.

  14. Emjay Says:

    I don't really like baked beans but your photo makes it look tempting. It's nearly breakfast time here………..

  15. Lizzie Says:

    I am considering going to make this in 40 minutes in time for midday. I am such a pig for cheese though!

  16. cat Says:

    especially warm melted cheese

  17. cat Says:

    do you never leave the computer??? You were there when I got up and still there now! (Although that says the same about me I guess)

  18. Emjay Says:

    LOL! I slept in between you getting up and going to bed!

  19. Ooooh, that does look good! YUM

  20. cat Says:

    yes – think I'll have another one today. Even though it's just turned Spring here it's cold and very wet. Need some nice warm food.

  21. it is definitely fall weather here, mornings are crisp, but the afternoon is looking nice and toasty. I will be on the lookout for a nice bread bowl tonight at the grocery store


Leave a Reply

