another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

The Traveller September 1, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 9:51 am
Tags: , , , ,

So Lloyd has been busy and filling in every second of his trip.

He went to the house Anne Frank was hidden in during the war. He said there was always a long line of people waiting.

 

 

He also went to Dachau Concentration Camp which would have been pretty amazing.

 

 

From there it was a quick visit to London then off to Madrid then Granada and Seville where he sent me an email from a computer that had no letters on the keyboard. He did well considering. 

Then it was on to Lisbon and Barcelona. he said he really liked Lisbon as he said it was the city I have been in that felt like the real europe as I envisioned it.

 

 

He said Barcelona has a lot of crazy looking weird shit. And he went to the Picasso Art Gallery.

He had cocktails in Lagos in Portugal where he said the beaches had the coldest water he had ever known.

 

 

And then it was time for La Tomatina. Where 40,000 people pack into the narrow streets of Bunol in Spain and pelt each other with tomatoes.

 

 

He told me the way to imagine what it was like was to pretend you're at The Big Day Out when Wolfmother is playing. Then add a lot of tomatoes. he said it was basically 40000 australians.

Photo from the herald of the big day out.

And today he woke up and got on a train to Brussels.

He tells me he's been eating a lot of banana sandwiches. Cheap and filling.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

11 Responses to “The Traveller”

  1. Emjay Says:

    LOL the crazy looking buildings in Barcelona are by Gaudi. I think they might be an acquired taste – and he probably went to the Sagrada Familia. I loved Barcelona! I would much prefer the buildings to being covered in tomatoes! I would love to see Lisbon.

  2. Waterbaby Says:

    Dachau. Personally I would not call it amazing. It is however among the most memorable and moving experiences of my entire life and experiences traveling the world.

  3. cat Says:

    After learning about it in school and reading various books, I think it would be amazing. An amazing experience.

  4. cat Says:

    He said the tomato day was much more hardcore than he was expecting. He said no one who lives there actually goes – they all stay home, safe and clean. His girlfriend lost both her shoes but he said they found two others she took – and they weren't a pair either.

  5. Sounds like a great trip. I love his description of La Tomatino!

  6. cat Says:

    lol yeah, sounds like something I wouldn't enjoy. Funny how your idea of fun changes, as I'm sure twenty years ago I would have been right in there amongst it. Now all I can imagine is getting all that mess out of my hair.

  7. Yeah, yuck. even the Big Day OUt would be way more than I could handle these days. My husband went to see the Pixies at the V Festival last year and said he thought he was the oldest there by about 20 years. No way could he convince me to go.

  8. uncagedbird Says:

    I loved Lisbon. Course, I loved all of Portugal. The other places sound fabu and it sounds like he's having a great time.;)

  9. cat Says:

    He is having a fantastic time. He said to me that he's realised what a good place Australia is to live. He's in Brussels now – sent an email saying it was a weird place, in a cool way.


Leave a Reply

