another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

syndrome sick of it August 16, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:34 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Thats what I'm suffering from.

Sick of everone I deal with thinking what they do is more important than what I want to do.

Lets take my daughters for example. Please, someone take them.

Lizzie. Sigh. I drive her to school in the mornings. I leave the house at 8.48am. Have for years. But lately she's decided to stroll out at 9am. When I say to her I really need to be gone by 8.48 she rolls her eyes and said whats it matter, that I'll just have ten minutes less to sit around and read a book in the afternoon. And I felt like going around and grabbing her ponytail and dragging her on to the footpath and giving her a good kicking. And telling her that I've spent the last twenty years raising children, working, keeping a marriage going and if I want to read a god damn book at lunch time I will.

And Kimba. Sigh. She's home at the moment and she's sick. And she storms around the house because she can't sleep so why should anyone else. She came into my bedroom at 1am the other night and whined about how sick she was and then yelled at me that I didn't care. Well, no, I don't actually because its 1am and anyway she'd been to the doctor and she was on antibiotics and painkillers and what else the hell was I meant to do about it. I mean I know she does have tonsilitis, pharyngytis, croup and bronchitis, but she's 20 for christs sake. Ok, that looks bad, but if she was well enough to go to the pub yesterday afternoon, how was I meant to know she meant it when she said she needed to go to the hospital last night.

And my husband. Who seems to forget everything I tell him within ten minutes. He's doing it at such an alarming rate that I'm starting to think he has early onset alzheimers. And thats just not going to work for me. I'll have to poison him or something. But really, it makes me feel as if everything I say must be as boring as bat shit. And at least I pretend to listen to his boring stories which are as boring as bat shit. Usually about fan motors, compressors, cars or football.

So yesterday I was down the shops and pissed off at everyone so I bought three books. And they weren't even on sale. Then I went to the bottle shop and bought a bottle of wine purely because I liked the label. Anything purple is like a magnet for me. And it was expensive but I thought, stuff it, they can all have toasted sandwiches for two weeks to cover the cost. I love that label and it didn't taste bad either.

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

27 Responses to “syndrome sick of it”

  1. Ninja Says:

    Sounds like someone needs a bit of me-time!

  2. Snowy Says:

    That's the trouble with kids. They behave exactly as we did. Husbands, well, I'm afraid they're a lost cause.I think I'd be buying another bottle, and telling them all to get their own tea.

  3. cat Says:

    may as well order in a case

  4. snoringKatZ Says:

    Cat needs to go on strike.

  5. Worker Says:

    I think you should get the case take your books and come back in a week, see if they all survive !!

  6. So yesterday I was down the shops and pissed off at everyone so I bought three books. And they weren't even on sale. Then I went to the bottle shop and bought a bottle of wine purely because I liked the label. Anything purple is like a magnet for me. And it was expensive but I thought, stuff it, they can all have toasted sandwiches for two weeks to cover the cost. I love that label and it didn't taste bad either.
    Go Cat!

  7. Snowy Says:

    OK, we'll join you. Fancy swapping for a half drunk bottle of bourbon?

  8. cat Says:

    you're not being patronising I hope!!
    they would be suprised to know I actually do things that don't involve them

  9. cat Says:

    might go to london to visit the queen

  10. cat Says:

    well they'd all survive but it would just be the same old shit when I got back

  11. Worker Says:

    Probably but at least you would have some time away from it all !!

  12. cat Says:

    I even had a cranky book buying experience. I wanted to get the new james Frey one but then I wasn't sure if I should out of protest for him telling all the lies about A Million Little Pieces. But i did really enjoy that so I got the new one. It better be good.

  13. cat Says:

    Well, did you drink directly from the bottle? I have a bit of a germ phobia. I'm more of a scotch girl myself. My father is always horrified that I put coke in it.

  14. Snowy Says:

    Believe me, Cat, no germ would survive in this stuff. And anyway, drinking from a bottle shows that I'm a connoisseur, unlike someone who would adulterate good Scotch with coke.

  15. Ninja Says:

    No, serious. Just go away and do whatever pleases you for a bit. Your mob will get the message.

  16. Oh, how I hear you. Especially with that Lizzie in the morning thing. I get that a lot too. I know this is a rant, but it's a good one. 🙂

  17. cat Says:

    oh yes well you're like me and work at home – you've got all day to sit around and do bugger all as well 🙂

  18. cat Says:

    maybe – maybe not

  19. cat Says:

    don't think I've drank spirits from a bottle since I was about 15

  20. Snowy Says:

    What's it worth to not tell your kids that you did?

  21. this is too heavy. So how's the blonde progression going? I think I need an update. Booze, selfish children, annoying significant others… bah humbug! 😉

  22. Are you living my life?
    Mr FD has selective memory too – do you think we could get a discount on a bulk buy of poison?
    How does one achieve an empty nest?

  23. cat Says:

    blonde progression is progressing.
    I am curently sittting at an interesting orange/yellow/blonde stage, so I keep it tied back most of the time. That has only been two bleaches though and I think the next one will do the trick. Must say the greys are blending in much better, although I did also have a fringe cut in to hide them a bit better. Of course I'm growing it out now. Feeling much better, I always feel better as a blonde.
    Booze – isn't that a good thing??

  24. cat Says:

    lol – I think they're probably doing the same thing now. So they probably wouldn't believe you anyway. No one wants to think that their mother did the same thing they are doing!!

  25. cat Says:

    I think the only way to achieve an empty nest is to employ the services of a nasty magpie.
    Selective memory – I'm thinking of developing that myself. I'd go – dinner?, oh I didn't know I was meant to cook dinner. Washing, what washing? school lunch, whats that again? – Actually I think I saw an ad in the local paper warning that they were dropping wild dog bait, maybe we could organise a nice country picnic.

  26. snoringKatZ Says:

    Personally, I'm scheduling my breakdown for June 2013. I don't see how I can possibly fit it in before then. I'm sure they'll come up with a way to screw me out of it regardless of careful planning. It's what they do.As the saying goes, "Can't live with 'em, can't live without 'em, can't leave 'em in a ditch on the side of the road unless you're sure there are no witnesses."

  27. cat Says:

    lol – and I was feeling a bit better this morning. When I was a girl, teenagers couldn't wait to grow up and leave home, now they seem to want to hang around for ever.


Leave a Reply

