another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

aussie aussie aussie August 13, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 3:20 am
Tags: , , ,

oi, oi, oi.

Its quite amazing to think that the whole population of Australia is the same as the popultaion of Beijing. 16 million.

Here in Australia we all like to cling around the edges near the coast. No one wants to head towards the centre. Hard living in there.

So I guess thats why we love our swimmers so much. We love our swimming stars like we love our cricket team. And for such a small population we produce a lot of good swimmers.

When the last olympics were on I read a newspaper article written by an american journalist who said that americans weren't really into their swimmers. Not big supporters of swimming, more interested in other sports. Maybe like basketball. We don't follow basket ball here at all. No ones interested in it. In fact most americans probably know more about  Lauren Jackson and Andrew Bogut than we do here.

So anyway I don't know if its true about americans and swimming but I really hope all of america is aware of what Michael Phelps is doing at Beijing. What a champion. And he just takes it all in his stride, not caught up in all the hype. I hope he wins his 8 gold medals. As long as he doesn't have to beat too many australians to do it.

I'm feeling nervous at the moment – Stephanie Rice is lining up again.

I get all emotional with the olympics. I just had tears in my eyes when the Italian girl got her gold medal at the presentation ceremony.

Stephanie just won again and another world record. What a gutsy beautiful  girl.

And heres Michael Phelps up again in the relay – he just barely stepped out of the pool from the last one. Amazing. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

12 Responses to “aussie aussie aussie”

  1. I think Australians probably love their swimmers because they win! I do think most Australians have at least a bit of chlorinated water running through their veins in place of blood though.

  2. cat Says:

    Well except me. I can't swim. Neither can my sister, although she may try to say otherwise. But re the basketball – we have national teams that win silver medals at world and olympic standard – don't think we have any golds – but I'd be hard pressed to name a single player.

  3. I know the name of the team though – the Ollyroos (that's right, isn't it?).
    As for swimming, I am pretty crap at it but still like cooling off in the local outdoor public pool on a hot day.

  4. cat Says:

    lol – I thought that was the hockey team – or are they the hockyroos. lol. Aren't they the Boomers? lol again – no idea

  5. You could be right. I'm actually not much of a sports watcher. only went to one event in the Sydney Olympics and that was only because we were given tickets. Enjoyed it though.

  6. kalita Says:

    Aren't the Ollyroos the soccer team?Who knows. lol. I'm not watching the Olympics this year, or following it at all.I went to high school with Lauren Jackson. She was in the year above me. She was mean. High school girls are. She left pretty early to go to AIS though.

  7. cat Says:

    ollyroos, boomers, matilda's, opals – who knows.
    She looks tough – I like her, hope she wasn't mean to you. She looks like Cate Blanchett – but taller.

  8. Steve Betz Says:

    I think that Oz must have the best world-class-athletes-per-capita ratio in the world. It's really amazing. As for me, I've enjoyed these Games more than I thought I would as I've (again) had the passion and outright joy of so many of these athletes outweigh my cynicism.

  9. cat Says:

    Yes and we seem to be good at a wide range of sports – equestrian and kayaking as well as swimming and the main team sports. We fall short a bit at athletics. Every now and then we produce a beauty like Cathy Freeman but otherwise, forget it. I've enjoyed them as well – and its not just the big winners but the little stories as well that make the olympics. Like the swimmer from Zimbabwe who won silver yesterday. They have only ever won 8 gold medals and she has 7 of them. And now a silver.

  10. Waterbaby Says:

    He's a champ all right. One explanation in America's general disinterest in swimming is that many many people have never lived in regions where water sports are featured or available and many more don't even know how to swim. As a culture, baseball and football are the sports.

  11. cat Says:

    hopefully he will help generate more interest.

  12. Waterbaby Says:

    bound to happen when the sponsors snag him.


Leave a Reply

