another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Vox Hunt: On My Walls July 31, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:53 am
Tags: ,

Show us a painting or piece of art you have hanging on your wall. What room is it in?
Submitted by Strive2Be.

This art hangs in my lounge room. I painted it at school one day when I was 5. My mother framed it and had it hanging in her house but after she'd had it there for 40 years I guess she felt she'd done her duty, so she gave it to me.

It is called Corroboree (obviously, as you can see) and I guess we were learning about aboriginal customs because a corroboree is like a kind of festival the aboriginal people have with singing, music and dancing around a fire. And I think it usually celebrates a tribal event.

I haven't painted anything since. I'm like Harper Lee who wrote To Kill A Mocking Bird – only ever produced one masterpiece.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

12 Responses to “Vox Hunt: On My Walls”

  1. Emjay Says:

    This was a great painting! You should have mentioned that none of your sibling's paintings were ever mounted, framed and hung! 🙂

  2. cat Says:

    yes, that must have been disappointing for them. Took all those years for mum to find something worthy. Well she is very fussy with photos and things. Lizzies friends don't believe I did it when I was 5.

  3. Aubrey Says:

    Wonderful – I can see the figures dancing around the smoke and fire. Are you sure there aren't any other masterpieces lurking around?

  4. none Says:

    I like Tribal art

  5. cat Says:

    no – its all I had in me unfortunately.

  6. cat Says:

    yes, well it can be a bit abstract so you can sort of slap the paint around more.

  7. none Says:

    Mine would still be stick figures…cant paint worth a dime.Culture is cool too.

  8. Waterbaby Says:

    not bad from a kidster.

  9. cat Says:

    I must admit there was an award that I didn't get. Funny isn't it, of all the kids that must have been in that class, the girl who got the award is the one whose name I remember. Talk about holding a grudge.

  10. Waterbaby Says:

    um, i'm for sure not tellin' you my name. ever.

  11. Karen Lynn Says:

    pretty cool! very abstract :)) I have a splatter painting my daughter did in second grade, matted and framed somewhere…or did I give it to her? hmm

  12. cat Says:

    the paint is so thick it's starting to crack – but it has held up well – probably because its under glass.


Leave a Reply

