another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

the packed lunchbox July 3, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 1:04 am
Tags: , , , ,

I just saw the scone I bought for Lizzies morning tea in the pantry. Forgot all about it. Took the easy/slack option of throwing some money at her for lunch today. I've been making school lunches for years. Not that I mind, I like to see them go off with a nice lunch. Some kids take nothing or get told to pack it themselves so take a few packs of chips.But I must admit that after doing it for 15 years, well some days I just can't find the enthusiasm to come up with a thrilling new sandwich filling. Does my head in sometimes to think of the meals I've prepared over the years. Surely I must be qualified to be a chef by now. Or at least a bistro cook.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

16 Responses to “the packed lunchbox”

  1. Emjay Says:

    That's great! Mum had it lucky – I had a banana sandwich every day for 6 years!!

  2. Raymond Says:

    Don't you wish you could be paid for all the years of experience? Lets see…a chef with 15 years experience….what would that pay?

  3. cat Says:

    lol – yuk – wasn't it brown by lunchtime. I don't remember lunch, do you think she fed me?

  4. cat Says:

    And I'm good at yelling at people as well – chefs seem to like to do that a lot.

  5. Emjay Says:

    No it wasn't really brown. I think she cut it at an angle (one banana cut into 3 pieces) and put a bit of brown sugar on it! Wrapped in greaseproof paper and put in a lunch box and then transported to school in heat wave conditions! You probably got lunch money! I was always jealous of those kids who got to buy their lunch!

  6. Waterbaby Says:

    But I must admit that after doing it for 15 years, well some days I
    just can't find the enthusiasm to come up with a thrilling new sandwich
    filling.Who can? Except for a well-paid bistro chef?

  7. cat Says:

    especially when it has to be vegetarian

  8. snoringKatZ Says:

    Cat, once again I am awed. I make up to 9 meals a day (not counting fast food days) and hate almost every minute of it. But I do like to yell at people. I heard a story on NPR about a French chef who left a multi-star fancy-schmancy restaurant and now is the chef for a high school. He makes crazy grand lunches that cost about $3 each and all the kids love it. Seems like he doesn't yell, though. Do you think he's really a chef after all?

  9. cat Says:

    I don't mind cooking dinner because you can drink wine while you do that. And wine makes everything better.
    lol – can't believe kids would eat fancy-schmancy lunches at all. Maybe he's medicated and thats why he doesn't yell. I wonder if he swears. As far as I can tell chefs love to swear a lot as well. I'm very good at that too. I am not a great one for sweating though. From what I see on various cooking shows chefs sweat a lot. Usually while leaning over the food they're cooking.

  10. snoringKatZ Says:

    wine makes everything better. I see the flaw in my system now! I'm alright with sweating but I'd rather it be due to anything not kitchen-related. Possibly having to do with oil changes or tire rotations.

  11. Love it! My husband does lunches most days now – even mine! 🙂

  12. cat Says:

    lucky you!

  13. cat Says:

    oh you can't make me jealous with that, we don't iron in this house. I have never ironed a single thing. Lol – someone gave my daughter one of those iron and ironing board toy sets when she was a kid and when we got home she said – what do you do with this?

  14. Good for you, Cat! Main reason my husband does the ironing is that I am such a crap ironer as I always bought non iron clothes before we were married.

  15. cat Says:

    yes – I shop smart – I never wear linen


Leave a Reply

