another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

old dog – new tricks June 26, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 2:20 am
Tags: , ,

something like that anyway. Mind you not that I consider myself a dog, young or old. So I was trying out this idea of taking a photo out of bounds. Like this. (There are a stack of tutorials out there).

 

And it is kind of cool and I can see myself spending hours and hours going through my photos doing it to them all. Because thats what I do. I learn something new and then do it to death.

But I wanted a way to keep more of the actual photo involved in the whole idea. So I used one of papas slides and had another go. And I like this better I think. Even though it is old and grubby and blurry and damn it I stuffed up her foot somehow. Practice practice.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

8 Responses to “old dog – new tricks”

  1. poptart Says:

    I think the Hula hoop picture is more successful because it is old and grubby. It has character and content and a story more so than the giraffe. I do love giraffes, but the other picture is a better composition. And I understand about doing it to death. I want to learn how to do this!

  2. cat Says:

    Yes, I can see the appeal of the giraffe – he could be put into all sorts of wacky situations and distorting the frame a different way would give a different look. But I like hoola.
    Just google – out of bounds photoshop tutorial, and you'll get a fair few different ways of doing it. (I've only got photoshop elements but you can still do it)

  3. snoringKatZ Says:

    Very cool, Cat! I must find these tutorials and play! I'll get bored and never really get good at it but it will be fun for a while. Then I can just sit back and let the pros handle it. That would be you.

  4. cat Says:

    lol – thats the main thing, do it until you get sick of it then move on.

  5. Raymond Says:

    I like the way you keep pushing yourself to define something new and different. However, I really wish you had the complete PS to work with and to explore, I mean, who really knows what you might create? 🙂

  6. cat Says:

    I wish I had the money to buy the full version as well. Although you can get around most things with elements (I think) – thankfully there are people out there sharing what they learn.

  7. Waterbaby Says:

    hmmm, i prefer the giraffe, i reckon, the cool 3-D look.

  8. cat Says:

    yes – you really need a particular kind of photo for that one – need something sticking out or coming at you – I don't have many like that


Leave a Reply

