another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Dumb Blonde June 20, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 12:04 pm
Tags: , , ,

I hit the bottle today.

The bleach bottle that is.

I had my home hairdresser pay me a visit. As soon as she arrived I said

You've cut your hair

She said

Yeah – last sunday I drank a bottle of wine, then decided I'd cut my hair with the nail scissors.

Thats what I like to see in my hairdresser. Someone not afraid to take risks.

So I've taken another step on the road to blonde. And I'm starting to remember how cruel bleach can be to your hair. So I'm after the name of a really good shampoo and conditioner for bleached hair.

I'll just give you a brief description of my hair. On a good day.

OK – go to your kitchen pantry and get out a piece of steel wool or brillo or whatever you scour your saucepans with. Have a little feel of it. Then imagine thick masses of it. Now picture it after it has soaked in a bowl of bleach for a while. And thats my hair.

I have read that Tigi Bedhead Dumb Blonde is very good but I'm open to suggestions because I also read that mayonnaise was good. Tigi also have a shampoo called Thick Massive Hair which sums me up. (Well not necessarily me, but my hair).

So please anyone if you know of a conditioner or treatment that really works on thick, coarse, bleached, massive hair, I'd be very grateful.

This is the part where I was going to give you the recipe for Lizzie's Pig and Lard Muffins, but I can't find it. And I have spent the last hour re organising all my cookbooks in the process (sorry Oona – I shall let you know the minute I find it). 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

10 Responses to “Dumb Blonde”

  1. aren't you just a little bit worried that she used NAIL scissors on her hair…a hairdresser without hairdressing scissors is a bit of a worry I think….don't turn your back on her and keep the drinks cupboard locked.

  2. cat Says:

    lol – Well, I guess, but you know things always seem like a good idea after a few drinks. Maybe she was just standing there looking in the mirror, washing her hands and thought – that hair has to go. I like to think of her as spontaneous.

  3. snoringKatZ Says:

    I want her to come to my house immediately. With her nail scissors.After the Great Orange Debacle of Aught-Six, I found two things that were helpful for the seared mass of snarl that lived on my head. Unfortunately, only one is readily available as far as I know.L'Oreal's after-coloring conditioner that comes in the box with their poisonous potions is fantastically fantastic. I've never seen it anywhere but in the box of coloring. So you probably could buy 250 boxes and throw out everything else. But that would get expensive.The only other thing that worked at all for me is this leave-in conditioner. I tried everything else from super-expensive to super-cheap. This one worked.Then I shaved my head. That also worked!

  4. Waterbaby Says:

    You had me all excited with "I hit the bottle." Then I saw it was bleach. I read onward anyhow. My recommendation is Neutrogena. They make a wide variety of hair products, shampoos, conditioners, leave-in conditioners. And though your hair won't have that silken feel of unprocessed natural man, Neutrogena does pH balance and return-to-health better than any product I've used. (Ditto for soaps, btw, and like you I've got that thick hair that tempts the clippers every month.)

  5. haha, i can wait for pig and lard muffins. that is a great title for them at anyrate. As far at the hair problem i saw an infomerical for this hair cleanser that is supposed to be less drying than conditioner,I think its called WEN

  6. cat Says:

    WEN – your hair is just about to fall out I suppose

  7. cat Says:

    Ok – I do like the Neutrogena face wash. Because even though my hair is rough, my face is very sensitive.

  8. cat Says:

    I do have a tube of the L'Oreal conditioner left over from a dye job. It was good. We do have Herbal Essences – I'll check it out. Although I did try one of their shampoos once and it smelled like cat wee.

  9. snoringKatZ Says:

    I don't think I've ever used any of their shampoos. I think I bought this one because of the name. Turns out it wasn't a bad choice!

  10. Waterbaby Says:

    same here. i'm a hardcore spokesperson for neutrogena and no i am not paid.


Leave a Reply

