another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

bottom of the barrel June 13, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 11:47 am
Tags: , ,

Have you ever found yourself at the bottom of a cask of wine, trying to shake out that last drop?

My mother tells me life is too short to drink cask wine, but she's 74, so her life may be shorter than mine and she can afford to say that sort of thing.

So yes, I have found myself shaking that cask, going for the last drop. And before you know it, you've ripped the bladder out of the box.

Then do you find yourself squeezing the bladder, scrunching it up, forcing every precious drop towards the tap. Like this. And I wasn't squeezing the wine onto my tomatoes by the way.

 

Then you can still hear a bit shaking around in there so you think – I know, I'll blow up the bladder to get that bit out.

 

 

And I was doing this the other night (while making my soup) and I thought – why am I doing this? Why have I been doing this for years?

Why don't I just get a pair of scissors, cut the corner and tip it into my glass? Simple yet brilliant.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

7 Responses to “bottom of the barrel”

  1. Waterbaby Says:

    scissors! that was my first thought as i toured along on your struggle for that sacred last drop. {ok. sacred might be a stretch.} then voila! glad to see you're the wise woman i know you to be.

  2. cat Says:

    I'm concerned about how unwise I've been over the years.

  3. Waterbaby Says:

    no worries. just keep that foil bladder and scissors close at hand and you'll be fine.

  4. cat Says:

    I'm on to bottles now anyway. There has been so much talk here about the dangers of binge drinking that I've finally been scared off. A story on brain damage through the week finally hit home. So I've cut back – figure I'll drink less with bottles than casks.

  5. Waterbaby Says:

    well, you certainly won't be working as hard for it.

  6. SIL has been spied sucking last drops from the little tap and sucking the cask bag!!!!

  7. cat Says:

    I can't comment on that – there could be photo s out there of me doing something similar.


Leave a Reply

