another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

meter maid June 12, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 11:13 pm
Tags: , , ,

Energy Australia turned up at my place at 7.30 this morning. Because I'm special. Apparently we are single handedly  destroying the environment. Our electricity bill is always so enormous that they are upgrading our meter to a smart meter. Although the man who installed it told me it doesn't really do anything and my bill may be harder to read. So that sounds good.

He told me not to use power between 2pm and 8pm as that is when they charge you the most. I already knew that but it doesn't seem to make much difference.

He then told me his bill each quarter was about $200. When I told him ours was about three times that he looked at me and said that if his bill was that high that –

My missus would be in a hole in the back yard.

As if she'd be the one racing around burning up power. Anyway she'd only be doing it to cook their food, wash and dry their clothes, clean their dishes, keep them cool.

The missus in this household is always the one walking around turning off lights, sitting in a hot house instead of running the A/C, not using the dryer unless essential, running the dishwasher out of peak times.

I don't know how we use so much bloody power. He laughed and said maybe we'd had a faulty meter all these years. Yes, wouldn't that be hilarious if we've been overcharged all these years. I can tell you I'll be inspecting my bill very carefully to check that out.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

18 Responses to “meter maid”

  1. stevie Says:

    Wow… wouldn't that just suck. I hope for the sake of your blood pressure that you have not had a faulty meter all that time. But I hope for the sake of your wallet that it is!

  2. cat Says:

    yes – I'm wondering now how common that is – how many people get over charged

  3. homebody Says:

    7:30 a.m.? Dag. Maybe he is trying to finish out his day so his wife can serve dinner and wash up before 2 p.m.

  4. cat Says:

    lol – probably – then they sit in the cold and darkness until 8pm.
    He actually told me that he was sitting at home hoping it would rain so he didn't have to come and do the job. Talk about customer service with a smile.

  5. Waterbaby Says:

    "Talk about customer service with a smile." lol. wouldn't that be a hoot — not the comedy-club hoot but the kind that inspires homicide — if you were being overcharged all these years.

  6. scorpion1116 Says:

    He: "My missus would be in a hole in the back yard."
    Me: "And would that be the same hole you crawled out of?"

  7. cat Says:

    lol – that would be the one

  8. cat Says:

    I couldn't believe how cheerful he was about the idea

  9. Waterbaby Says:

    perhaps he has his fingers in pies (lemon meringue anyone?) that he's not telling you. yet.

  10. I would like to say what I would do if Energy Man was my man but I am too polite to do so in company….
    Our power bill is huhe too – we all have computers and several tvs and air conditoners and 4 people to do laundry for and heat water for and cook for and that is life….keeps Energy Man in work anway!

  11. cat Says:

    Well its 8.27pm now so we can turn the a/c back on to warm us up. I've had us all sitting here in beanies and scarves since 2pm keeping warm. He told me water. lights and tv's make not much difference. Only things that have to heat up – aircons, ovens. And he kept going on about those bar heaters. I told him we didn't have any but I'm sure he didn't believe me. He said the kids may have them hidden in their wardrobes. I just nodded my head as if, yes, that may be a possibility. I mean as if they'd ever fork out the money to buy one.

  12. I thought those big screen tvs were in trouble for burning so much power? We rarely use heat – hey it is Brisbane – so I think he was talking through his hat! We need Mr Snowy to tell us the truth!

  13. stevie Says:

    What's a bar heater? Like a portable electric heater?

  14. Red Pen Says:

    LOL. As if the 'missus' single-handedly uses all the power. I hope you can get a refund if you had a faulty meter.

  15. cat Says:

    well I'm thinking now I should have asked if I could keep the old meter – just in case

  16. cat Says:

    The little electric ones that heat up and glow red – not the ones that blow out hot air. I've never used either of them because they always seem to be the ones burning down houses

  17. Paxton Says:

    The meter man's a jerk. Anyway, how big is your house? Our electric bill is high (though not that high) because we have a lot of cubic feet – high ceilings and all.
    And isn't it the middle of winter there?

  18. cat Says:

    well it's a couple of weeks into winter. We use the airconditioner for heating as well as cooling.
    It's three bedroom, kitchen, large room we built on the back but it is over 100 years old so we also have high ceilings. I just don't understand how people (let alone families) can have bills of only $200. Seems impossible.


Leave a Reply

