another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Lemon Meringue Pie June 12, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 1:38 am
Tags: ,

Here's the recipe for those who want to indulge in yesterdays pie. I don't know how to not have gaps when I press enter so sorry about all the gaps. How do I get rid of them anyway?

And can someone please give that man in the advert for the gabriel diet method a piece – he's starving.

Pastry

1 1/2 cups plain flour

2/3 cup cornflour

1/4 cup caster sugar

180g butter

1 tablespoon water

In a large bowl combine flour, cornflour and sugar. Roughly chop butter and rub into flour with fingertips until mix resembles fine breadcrumbs. Gradually add water until mix forms a ball.

I'd just like to say that I do all that in the food processor. I also used margarine instead of butter.

Preheat oven to 200 degree C.

Press pastry into base and sides of greased 24cm springform pan. Place in oven and cook 10 minutes until lightly browned.

Ok – I just use a normal glass pie dish and I find it takes closer to 20 minutes to cook like I want.

Filling

1 cup water

3 tablespoons cornflour

1 cup water

grated rind of 1 lemon

60g butter

4 eggs separated

1/2 cup lemon juice

1/3 cup sugar, extra

Place sugar and cornflour into pyrex jug. Mix to a paste with water. Add lemon rind. Microwave for 3 minutes on high until mix comes to the boil.

Mix in butter, egg yolks and lemon juice. Cook for a further 3 minutes on high stirring once during cooking. Chill for 1 hour.

Spoon into pastry case

Preheat oven to 16- degree C

Beat gg whites until stiff, gradually add 1/3 cup of sugar. Spread meringue over pie and cook on low rack for 15 to 20 minutes on lowmix/bake 160 degree.

Chill until ready to serve.

The low mix thing is because my oven is one that uses a mix of microwave and convection. So it may take a little longer if you just use convection.

Easy

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

15 Responses to “Lemon Meringue Pie”

  1. 8gurl Says:

    the formatting on Vox does the carriage returns for you as long as you type but if you need a carriage return it's going to do a double-space. I don't know anyway around it but some others may. Pie sounds good.

  2. cat Says:

    it annoys me – I often don't want to go all the way until the end of the line.
    Pie is very good.

  3. Waterbaby Says:

    my stepmom would love looking at the picture, love eating it even more. may i make a helpful suggestion for the caveman U.S. that's not metric-measurements-hip? … to cite the butter conversion into tablespoons? {it's 12.645}.

  4. kalita Says:

    Shift-enter.. like in Word.
    Lemon meringue is not my thing, but I can find other things to avoid in Operation Thunder Thighs (which I've not officially begun because I've discovered that I can't actually survive without chocolate, for now).

  5. cat Says:

    that makes it sound like a lot of butter

  6. cat Says:

    you can replace the lemon with caramel
    I don't have word – where do I shift and enter

  7. kalita Says:

    Still too sweet for me šŸ™‚
    Shift+enter at the end of the line will give you the next line rather than the paragraph break. There's a name for it but damned if I can remember.

  8. cat Says:

    ok – thanks for that

  9. Waterbaby Says:

    Double-checked 180grams to an unchanged result. Here's one converter; from there you can link to another that specifies by food type.

  10. cat Says:

    lol – I wasn't doubting the conversion, just meant when you think of it in tablespoons it seems like a lot. Imagining it on my thighs.

  11. none Says:

    Used to be my fave pie growing up…yummy!

  12. cat Says:

    oh really – well you can come over for dinner then.

  13. none Says:

    Hmmm whats the main course?

  14. Waterbaby Says:

    perhaps next time a carrot cake? {picturing carrots on thighs}

  15. Waterbaby Says:

    Elizabeth – line feed / manual line break


Leave a Reply

