another aimless blog

yes, another blog to add to the millions out there already – but why not.

Dairy is the Devils Food May 21, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — panthergirl @ 5:14 am
Tags: , , ,

It all started with the yoghurt.

I don't eat yoghurt – don't like dairy much at all. But I felt myself slouching, and I could feel that dowagers hump growing between my shoulder blades and the osteoporosis eating away my bones. Must eat calcium I thought. And even though I knew it would make the wierd throat thing worse, at that moment my fear of brittle bones was greater than my fear of phlegm.

So because I can't face a glass of milk, I thought –  yoghurt. And I was right, it was awful. It leaves a taste in your throat like you've just had a vomit. But they say you need three serves a day so I added cheese to the daily diet. And how else to have cheese but on a toasted sandwich. Even though I know bread makes me feel like an unsettled doughball. And before you know it you're washing it all down with an extra cup of coffee and then surely a couple of glasses of wine while you cook dinner can't do any harm, and surely you don't need to exercise every day. And before you know it you've got a family block of chocolate hidden in the vegetable crisper.

Then one night I was home alone, with no car and I had to pick up Lizzie from work. So I jogged. I could have walked, but I was watching CSI and I didn't want to miss too much. And it was while I was jogging, in the howling winds and light rain  that I felt, not fat, but sluggish. Heavy.  I didn't feel that my blood was zipping around my body. It felt more like a sludge trying to make it's way through my hardening arteries.

Ok then, I did feel a little bit fat. But that was only because I'd seen Madonnas new film clip. And even though they may have used soft filters on her, there is no denying her overall fitness and flexibility. This does not look like a woman who groans when she stands up after squatting on the floor for a while.

And my throat feels awful. Constantly throat clearing. So the yoghurt and cheese are gone. I'll just have to buy calcium tablets.

And don't forget to keep those shoulders back ladies – SQUEEZE them. Several times a day.

SQUEEZE.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

11 Responses to “Dairy is the Devils Food”

  1. Connie Says:

    I don't like milk either, especially fresh milk but I love fruity yoghurt. I've been forcing myself to drink milk since few months ago since they say it's important for my health and it can keep me young longer 😀 From what I heard, milk doesn't make us fat.

  2. cat Says:

    Milk makes me feel like I'm choking – makes me feel like I'm full of phlegm.
    My doctor told me dairy is over rated – he said vegetables and exercise are way more important.

  3. Lizzie Says:

    I want to be good and have diary as I too am aware of the lack of calcium in your diet being a bad thing (my nan broker her hip by tripping on a tiny pebble when she was in her 50's). I want to eat yogurt but I can't. It leaves me claggy and feeling sick for hours after. I am not a great fan of milk, but I will use the skimmed version of Cravendale, so filtered it hardly tastes of milk, if I have an urge for Shredded Wheat bite sized.
    KT stays away from milk as it gives him a sore throat and bungs him up like he has a cold. He's unbelievably hard to sort when he's had milk – it's man flu all over again.
    I have a whole range of exercises I do at the computer to keep my joints moving. I used to be incredibly flexible but over the past few years I've gotten as stiff as I was bendy. I have joints that pop out of place when I move them, but the doc doesn't think there's owt to worry about and he's done tests for all kinds of things and I am clear – so I guess I am just going to be a stiff old dear.

  4. cat Says:

    I know how he feels – after a week on dairy I now feel like I have a cold or throat infection. I'm up all night drinking water. I'm going to start running again so my knees will be stuffed soon I guess. It's the hump on the back that worries me.

  5. Emjay Says:

    That was fun to read. I love yogurt. I hate running. Nan had a dowager's hump and a crooked hip – she didn't like dairy.

  6. Raymond Says:

    I too loved the writing. Sweet style. Did you notice that hurt is the lasting part of yoghurt? 🙂

  7. cat Says:

    lol – no I hadn't noticed that, but it sure hurts me to eat it.

  8. cat Says:

    Maybe she didn't like running either. I don't like running, 40 minutes on a treadmill seems to last for hours – probably because to keep my balance I have to look at the clock so I see every second pass by. I think Papa must have had a dairy problem as well, he was always throat clearing.

  9. Emjay Says:

    Maybe you are lactose intolerant. Have you tried taking special tablets before you have any dairy? I can't think what they are called but they break down the lactose I think – you can buy them here a LOT cheaper than you can in Australia.

  10. cat Says:

    you gave me some once but my problem with tablets and vitamins is that I never remember to take them. Even when I leave them on the bench I forget about them.


Leave a Reply

